We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant near the airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Place

The Place
58 Avenue Charles de Gaulle, 95700 Roissy-en-France, France
33-134298980
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Book Online and Save Up to 30% *
The Place is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
*Some exclusions may apply.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Place restaurant in Roissy, near Charles-de-Gaulle airport in the hotel area, is a smart, trendy spot, dedicated to your well-being. The colourful, modern decor features white leather seating, wenge parquet, cool table settings and everything possible to create a stress-free atmosphere, where luminotherapy have been cunningly employed to promote your relaxation.The menu includes snails, 400 gr roasted beef, duck fillet, lamb shank, fresh sea bass, creme brulee.... The international wine list certainly assists in the anti-stress programme, as does the excellent service and warm welcome of Nathalie and his team.
Bowmanville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Restaurant near the airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We returned to Roissy to wrap up our vacation in France to stay in an airport hotel for flight out the next day. We were pleasantly surprised to find that there was a restaurant within walking distance through a park across from the airport Marriott hotel. The Place was recommended by the front hotel staff. As we had every evening of our vacation we chose a table on the terrace but it was a cool evening and the wind picked up and I got cold. My husband gave me his jacket which our waiter William noticed and promptly brought me a blanket. It soon became too cold even with a blanket and we moved to a table inside( as did everyone else) this is a tiny restaurant and space was tight so we were seated at a table in front of the bar at the bottom of a staircase. There was a private noisy function upstairs - World Cup Football and France was playing- need I say more! William was concerned that it was too loud for us so he moved us again after our 1st course. He was very attentive throughout the whole evening checking back with each course, attentive with our wine. The food was good but what really stood out to us was the exceptional service!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    69
    28
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Grove, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice food a little pricy - but ended with a bad stomach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

On business I decided to walk across to the local village, it was a holiday so there were only limited option.
I chose The Place as the menu although a bit pricy seemed varied and I liked the idea of their risotto.
I ordered chicken risotto 22.90 euro and a draft Heineken 8.90.
The risotto was a bit to salty but still tasted ok.
Service was good with the waiter speaking English was attentive and service was prompt.
The only down side was a few hours later when my stomach started to rumble and you can guess the rest. I can only assume something was off, could be the draft beer.
Shame.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Excellent Food in an Odd Ambiance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

If you're staying at CDG and have a car, this is a good place to dine. The restaurant offers excellent French cuisine at a reasonable price. The atmosphere is rather loud with bizarrely colored room decorations. The clientele is decidedly French which is a big plus.

The restaurant is easy to find and parking is adequate and free.

TIP: The escargot are divine as it the Foie Gras Burger.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

With preferred restaurants closed (Saturday 28 June) we opted for The Place. In the event, a poor choice.

First impressions were good but disappointment quickly set in on presentation of the menu and wine list. A la carte only, no house wine. Upper echelon prices unfortunately not matched by the food. Snails good as was the cod with pan-fried vegetables but my wife's duck was simply unacceptable for a quality restaurant, poor quality (frozen?) and overcooked (pink requested) served simply on a bed of mashed potatoes.

One English-speaking waiter did his best to provide an acceptable level of service but the young waitress who served us was out of her depth. Water was ordered but never delivered (fortunately not charged).

Two modest courses, a Pernod (€7.50) and a bottle of a middling Côtes de Bourge, €102.10 total. And for the first time in memory I left just that. Enough said.

PS - The gist of the above was passed in person to the manager.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gross-Gerau, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food in a nice village near Paris”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Well when you expect a huge variety to choose from this is the wrong place.
But when you’re looking for a real good food with friendly service you should continue reading.

As stated you will have about 5-8 starters, 5-8 main courses and 5 desserts to choose from.

There is a saying don’t try doing everything focus on the things you can and do them outstanding…well they are doing so. Food is really god service as well.
Price is a bit above the average in Paris but surly worth it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Place also viewed

Roissy-en-France, Val-d'Oise
Roissy-en-France, Val-d'Oise
 
Roissy-en-France, Val-d'Oise
Roissy-en-France, Val-d'Oise
 

Been to The Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.