We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in general” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vivaldi Hotel

Save Saved
You added Vivaldi Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Vivaldi Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 rue Roque de Fillol, 92800 Puteaux, La Defense, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Puteaux
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good hotel in general”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Pros: Very clean hotel which is really rare to have in Paris area, professional customer service, helpful staff, nice breakfast, safe area in a clean neighborhood.
Cons: Very slow and inefficient internet connection. Tiny rooms but that how Paris is. Bed is not comfortable. Parking is about 5 minutes with walking distance from the hotel and this parking does not belong to the hotel. Hard to park in front of the hotel because of one-way street.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    256
    128
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
64
158
13
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel should not be confused with the Vivaldi Opera Hotel, which is near Opera Garnier. This hotel sits in Puteaux, a pleasant neighborhood just south of the big La Defense business park.

Even though this hotel was several miles northwest of the Eiffel Tower (requiring two crossing of the looping Seine River) we and another couple gambled on it due to its high Tripadvisor ratings. We concluded it should have an even higher rating. It’s a gem in many respects. The number one thing was the front desk staff; they are truly awesome. We found most French people quite pleasant (unlike the American stereotype). But the hotel must screen for desk employees who are over-the-top helpful and cheerful. We stayed for five days; we dealt with several staff, about many questions and needs. They went so far beyond the minimum, in such a sincere and happy way. They really took care of us.

The hotel is big enough to have an interesting mix of clientele, but it’s small enough to feel intimate. The reception desk is just a few, convenient steps inside the front door. The small lobby doubles as the breakfast dining room. And there is a very pleasant, small courtyard just a few steps past the front desk. We usually had a drink out there, before heading off to dinner. And we ate breakfast there, as well. (The chairs could have a little more comfortable padding) The entire first floor area is very compact, efficient and welcoming. And if you’re a non-smoker, the hotel seems very vigilant in that respect.

The guest rooms are gaily decorated but not terribly large. Our room was very clean and quiet. There was a small refrigerator, with reasonably-priced items. One astounding perk was that the hotel offers free long distance! We wondered if there was a catch. But we made several calls to the U.S., and it was all free. Overall, you just didn’t feel the hotel was trying to charge you for every little thing. Other than perhaps laundry service (which seemed pricey everywhere), the Vivaldi does a very nice job of keeping your bill down, while tossing in a few treats, like free peanuts when you order drinks. They’re not trying to be a ritzy, 5-star place; they’re shooting to really please a middle class audience. The reason they can keep their prices down is probably because of very high occupancy rates.

The only hassle was that another family had a loud conversation at the front desk, claiming they were being charged much more than their reservation price. In our case, we made a total of three reservations based on quite reasonable Internet prices. Our final bills exactly reflected those prices. But it never hurts to bring along your printed price confirmation.

Our biggest Vivaldi concern was transportation, but that proved only a minor issue. The hotel sits on a side street; taxis can pull right up to the door. Most transportation involves the metro (subway). A six block walk north, thru an apartment district, takes you to the Esplanade (eastern) end of La Defense. There you catch metro Line 1. Five stops (ten minutes) later, you’ll reach the Arc de Triumph (De Gaulle Etoile). This is the northwestern end of Champs Elysees; here you can board the red (and likely yellow), open-top tour buses. Or you can go six more stops, to the Louvre, plus two more stops to Chatelet, the metro hub. Or you can transfer at Etoile to Line 6 and quickly reach the Eiffel Tower.

The faster and plusher RER Line A also runs thru the La Defense, but you have to walk way up to the Grande Arche (western) end of the office park – not worth it. However, a small branch line of the national SNCF train system has a (poorly marked) Puteaux station six blocks uphill, to the west of the hotel. This is a great connection to within twelve blocks of the Versailles Palace, altho possibly requiring a simple transfer. (The Puteaux ticket office was closed Saturday morning, so we took a cab. But we caught a train back, along a scenic route, for a modest price. Versailles train connections are very confusing; allow planning time.) You can also catch one of the few Paris tram lines at Puteaux station.

There are many local (non-touristy) stores south and west of the hotel, including nice grocery stores. It’s a thriving, middle class neighborhood – altho pleasantly low key. There are several great dining options nearby. These restaurants serve local residents. They’re more authentic and low-priced than the tourist restaurants downtown. The places we tried gave us huge quantities of tasty food, with super service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Cant recommend this hotel enough! Despite the location being a bit far from Paris attractions, the train station is within walking distance.

All of the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful particularly Olivier who is by far the best customer service representative I've ever met. He was quick to give us tips on things to do, booking us tickets to the Moulin Rouge, having great chats and nothing was too much for him. We absolutely loved him!

Breakfast was brought up to our room and was really good! Croissants, bread, yoghurt, cheese, hot beverage definitely gave us energy for our busy travels of the day. The room itself was very nice, very clean and modern and I loved the map of Europe as the wall paper. The courtyard is quite nice also. Free international phone calls a definite bonus!

Fantastic place to stay, highly recommended and like most place in Paris it is pricey for the backpacker but its well worth it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The hotel is about 10 minute walk from esplanade la defense metro station and 7 minutes from Puteaux tram and sncf stations. Nice clean and warm hotel room was typically european small but had all amenities. we were on the 3rd floor with a view on to the side road that rue Roque de Fillol. a number of people were staying for Hippodrome Longchamp for the major Horse race of Europe. so the hotel was propably full. Good breakfast with meats. cheese, cereals, jams, fruit juices, various teas, usual french coffee, scarmbled eggs, frankfurter sausage a variety of breads, in the reception area. that also has drinks on an evening. There were a number of cafes eateries in the area. nice wine bar near the town hall 4 minutes from hotel and also lots of shops within the same distance. a number of food shops from butchers, fromagery, florists as well. Olivier was very helpful as were all the staff we came across. a good bus ride is from gare du nord on the 43 to ponte neilly or vise versa. for some this may be a little outside the main areas of the centre of Paris. it takes about 25 minutes from leaving the hotel walking and metro to get the Arc de Triumphe as a guide. having stayed at many hotels over the last 50 years this was one of the better hotels. would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed here with 5 friends in October for 2 nights having stayed at Disneyland the previous night. We were greeted by Oliver, he was a very friendly and helpful man who helped us check in and advised us on where was good to go and how to get to places. Having arrived late we hadn't eaten and were all starving so Oliver kindly organised some bread and cheese for us along with wine! It was about 15 minutes walk to the Metro which was in the business area of Paris and very quiet. The rooms were all clean and modern, they were small but this didn't matter as we only wanted somewhere to sleep and shower. Breakfast was typically continental, there were meats and cheeses, lots of bread and pastries, cereal and yoghurts, all fresh and really tasty. The area to seat is quite small but I actually liked that, the whole hotel has a real good feel about it, it's not trying to be something it's not and great value. Oh and the terrace is so cute, great to sit and have a coffee outside with the sun shining! I would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Busted my boyfriend for a weekend in Paris whilst he was staying here on business.

Really lovely decoration in rooms giving the hotel a boutique feel which is enhanced by the exterior of the property and area which really is very pretty. Our room was quite small as was mainly for the boyf on his business stay, staff offered to change our room but we were not that fussed as only needed a bed to crash in after sight seeing. Breakfast brought to the room each morning was good, croissants and pastries with juice and coffee.

We found the location of the hotel to be more than adequate, 10 minute walk to the metro through a residential then business area very similar to Canary Wharf in London so found this quite safe. 3/4 metro stops to all the main sights so you really can't go wrong!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We booked our trip to France 12 hours before needing to be there, and very very luckily stumbled upon this hotel during one of our hectic searches for accommodation. It was however THE best stumble we have ever made! This quaint boutique hotel is On the outskirts if the city, so it makes for an ideal location when it comes to getting away from the loud hustle bustle, for a restful nights sleep, yet only a 10 minute walk away from the metro, making it extremely easy to tour round the city in the day time! The hotel itself is extremely clean, and tidy. The rooms were beautifully decorated and made great use of the available space. It also had free WiFi and international calling, which was very useful. The staff were all so lovely, helpful and approachable. We had mentioned to one of the staff members, Olivia, that we had Mauritian heritage, and he went out of his way to find us local Mauritian cafes! They also had 24 hour room service, which was extremely useful, as we would usually get in very late after the day of sight seeing.
In and around the hotel, there were a fair few halal cafes which were also open till midnight, and served great food.
All in all a fantastic hotel, in a great location, with amazing staff! Will definitely be planning a visit back soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vivaldi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivaldi Hotel

Also Known As:
Vivaldi Hotel Puteaux
Address: 5 rue Roque de Fillol, 92800 Puteaux, La Defense, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense > Puteaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Puteaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Vivaldi Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a stone's throw from "Paris la Défense", the business center of Paris, close to the Puteaux town center and its numerous restaurants and boutiques, the Hotel Vivaldi offers you, in contrast to the modern and futuristic architecture of neighbouring skyscrapers, the charm and the warmth of a traditional French hotel.The salon, which opens onto a private summer terrasse, has a relaxing bar area with complimentary newspapers and also an Internet hotspot.Completely and caringly renovated and air conditioned, all our bedrooms - which are strictly non-smoking - are fitted with either a bathroom or shower room, water closet, hairdryer, a direct dial telephone line from which you can call free of charge to all land phones in France and 104 countries around the world ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Venere so you can book your Vivaldi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivaldi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.