We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel le Dauphin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel le Dauphin to your Saves list
Hotel le Dauphin
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 rue Jean Jaures, 92800 Puteaux, La Defense, France (Formerly Hotel le Dauphin by Elegancia)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Puteaux
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gjovik, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This hotel offers the best if you want to stay at a small and cosy hotel not far from the city centre of Paris, or at the le defense business area. The rooms are not very large, but they are very nice and intimate. The staff were very helpful, and the back garden was nice. 5 minutes to the Metro 1, appx. one hour by train and metro to CDG airport. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    102
    23
    5
    7
See reviews for
31
105
14
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pegmat
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My daughter and I stayed just for 2 nights so I did'nt complain about being put in a double room . The room was very small and compact. Good shower/bathroom. Clean. Complimentary Coffee/tea/hot chocolate available 24/7 in the small Reception/ breakfast area just inside the Lobby. Narrow steps to negotiate into our room not recommended for disabled people with access issues.Receptionist very nice and friendly. For european standards I suppose this hotel is quaint and provincial. Not up to my standards . The 3 star rating would not stand up in the UK.

It is much too far from Charles De Gaulle airport if you don't know your way around Paris. However if you have plenty of time it is relatively easy to get into the centre of Paris via the Metro or RER. and very cheap tickets.

Room Tip: Ask to be put in the main building , not the one that you have to go out side the back door and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamland, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We purchased this trip from a voucher saving webiste- it was part of an AA trip including eurostar and a three night break. It is a little out of the city of paris, but conveniently the metro is 10 mins out from the hotel, and like the london tube, very convenient to use. They also have the RER which too can be used.

Breakfast was included with the price, and no complaints can be made - cereal, croissants, egg, fresh fruit, spreads, meats, cheese, jams, etc.

The service provided was second to none, with staff being extremely helpful and speaking english. There are nearby restaurants, and a dominoes! Theres also a shopping centre not too far out.

Room Tip: Theres no swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dauphinteam, Responsable réception at Hotel le Dauphin, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Mira57,

Our team would like to thank you for your nice comment.

The fact that our hotel is a bit outside of Paris avoid our customers to be in a noisy area and we are happy that you could find your way easily from and to Paris.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, especially the breakfast and our help. We will be glad to welcome you anytime if you plan to come again in Paris.

Best Regards,

Claire
Co-Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I chose this hotel because it is near my company's office in La Défense. (Walking time to Tour Altantique was about 10 minutes.) My associate listed Hotel le Dauphin with several others, and I chose le Dauphin due to the generally good reviews and the special attention reviewers paid to breakfast, which leads me to my only complaint...

The room was booked through the Egencia arm of expedia.com. Egencia/Expedia list the room cost identically for either 1 or 2 adults. I checked this carefully! When I emailed reception on the day before to my arrival, I was informed by return email that since I had booked for only one adult, additional charges might apply. Hmmm! When I arrived, this was again mentioned (without my prompting), and the additional charge (supposedly to cover the cost of breakfast for an additional adult) was about 20 USD. I then pointed out that the price would have been identical through Egencia. While this fact definitely change the tone of the conversation, reception still seemed to be dug in. I refused to pay the additional charge, and stated that if necessary my wife or I would instead manage breakfast each day without using the hotel's facilities. At this point, we seemed to come to an accommodation that if we were to eat modestly, all would be well. And so it was, as there were no additional charges at checkout. The entire conversation was done politely with no hint of disrespect from the receptionist.

The hotel is situated on the edge of a shopping area in Puteaux, We arrived late on a Saturday afternoon from London via Eurostar, then RER to La Défense, then taxi to the hotel. Reception directed us to local shopping to the southwest of the hotel along and about Rue Jean-Jaures. We had had enough of restaurant food that day, and were able to buy food at the nearby Monoprix and a nearby boulangerie/patisserie to supplement a (yes, it is true!) Dominos pizza. So, despite some other reviews to the contrary, one will not starve if you are staying in this hotel on a weekend.

Our room was small, and the shower claustrophobic, but we managed. The hotel web site advertises its changing color LED lights in the shower heads, and this light changing theme is carried through the hotel public areas. (By the way, one can purchase such shower heads for as little as 8 USD on Amazon.) The bed was comfortable and in general our room, which faced the back courtyard, was quiet without any street noise.

The room was cleaned and fresh towels were supplied each day.

The Esplanade de La Défense Metro station is a very short walk from the hotel, though you really should get directions from the staff if you intend to walk to the hotel from the station upon your arrival. (It involves taking the correct exit - the northwest end - from the station so that you can take the bridge to the elevator down to Rue Bellini and Rue Arago.)

Getting into Paris from this hotel is quite easy.

Room Tip: Everything is about equally small. Quiet rooms face the back courtyard. A business associate has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dauphinteam, Responsable réception at Hotel le Dauphin, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear k5tm,

Thank you very much for your helpful comments that you left for us on TripAdvisor.

We are glad that you had a nice stay with us.

We are sorry that we had to tell you that the reservation was made for a single room and not a double room. Unfortunately, we receive the reservations as they are and if only one person is booked, we have to apply a supplement for the extra person and the extra breakfast. Fortunately, you didn't have to pay any extras and the situation was solved without any problem.

We will be glad to welcome you again in our hotel, for a professional or a personal trip.

Best Regards,

Claire
Co-Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This hotel is a little way out of the city centre, close to the business district of la defense. You can easily travel to all the main sites on the metro, the station is about a ten minute walk from the hotel, get directions from the staff as it can be a little confusing. The metro in Paris is really convenient to use and very reliable, getting you to all the main sites in a matter of minutes. We preferred it to the London Underground. Get a Paris visite pass and you can go anywhere you want at a reasonable price. Paris is amazing! I would recommend visiting the artists square!
The hotel itself is very clean and well kept. It has lots of modern facilities including the amazing power shower. Coffee, hot chocolate etc is available in the reception free of charge at any time, we found this brilliant, especially after spending all day exploring Paris, it was nice to have a seat and warm up! The staff at the hotel are excellent and very helpful. The room was small, but big enough for the two of us, we didn't spend much time in there anyway. Clean towels were put out every day.
The only thing I would say is the beds were very uncomfortable, I could have done with an extra pillow, we both had bad backs the entire time! I absolutely loved the scent infusing lamp, the room smelt amazing, we were tempted to buy one to the home! Everything in the hotel was colour changing, the shower head changed colour, the coffee machine, the lights on the patio, it created a lovely atmosphere.
Over all we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would Deffinatly return again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dauphinteam, Responsable réception at Hotel le Dauphin, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear EI1Yorshire,

All the staff want to thank you warmly about this nice comment. We are lucky to have guests like you that are sensitive to our efforts.

We want you to feel at home, from your arrival until your departure.

We are very sorry to hear that the matress and the pillows were the cons of your stay. Extra pillows are available on demand at the reception : it would have been a pleasure to give you two extra pillows. Next time, please do not hesitate to come to see us.

We will try to do our best to meet all your expectations during your next stay with us.

We are waiting to welcoming you soon,

Best Regards,

Claire
Co-Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a real find. Not only is it very comfortable and clean, the staff are friendly and helpful. The location is great and the centre of Paris is only 20 minutes away. The surrounding area is also well worth exploring, with some very good restaurants close by and a wonderful food market twice a week.
We will certainly be staying here again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dauphinteam, Responsable réception at Hotel le Dauphin, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Essex Colin,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comment with us.

We are glad if we have been helpfull during to stay. It is our aim to help and please our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards,

Claire
Co-Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel is a little bit away from the city center on the west side of Paris. It is close to the business zone La Defense and thus caters first and foremost to business travellers during the week. When the hotel is not fully booked through business people, holiday makers are made welcome too. The rooms are the size that Paris is infamous for - if you want spacious rooms then chose a different city ! Our bathroom was rather "stylish", black tiles all around. The staff were very friendly and those that we spoke to had very good command of English. Do not even ask for a view towards the Eiffel tower, because the hotel is not a very tall building and even the top floors are not high enough for you to look OVER other buildings blocking your view. The nearest attraction is the modern Grand Arch in the business zone with a shopping mall close to it. You could walk from the hotel all the way to Arc de Triomphe if you opt against high heels, and we have even walked all the way to the Eiffel tower straight from the hotel. But for other sights you might want to take the Metro (line 1).
The breakfast is served downstairs in the lobby. Most of it is good, except for the horrible pseudo juice, which tastes more like coloured tap water than anything else. On the other hand you can help yourself to free coffee all day.

Room Tip: As already said - no Eiffel tower view nowhere !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dauphinteam, Responsable réception at Hotel le Dauphin, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Sabrina2828,

Thank you very much for your nice comment about us.

You are right, walking in Paris in high heels is not recommended. But walking in Paris is worth it!

We took good notice about the juices, we usually have success with them and we are really sorry to hear that it was a disappointment for you. Your opinion is very important to us and we will work on making it better.

We really hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again.

We wish you all the best until your next visit in Paris !

Best Regards,

Claire
Co-Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel le Dauphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Dauphin

Address: 45 rue Jean Jaures, 92800 Puteaux, La Defense, France (Formerly Hotel le Dauphin by Elegancia)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense > Puteaux
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Puteaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel le Dauphin 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Le Dauphin, a convivial and charming hotel, welcomes you all year long for your touristic and business trips. It is located next to the business center La Defense and about 10 minutes from Paris by metro.Each of its 37 rooms is lightly personalized with its diffusing perfume lamp. You can choose one of the five fragrances when you make your reservation: the natural touch, the tonic one, the relaxing one, the gourmand touch and the sensual touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel le Dauphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Dauphin Hotel
Le Dauphin Puteaux

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel le Dauphin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.