We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miles from anything and dont take your kids!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Princesse Isabelle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Princesse Isabelle to your Saves list
Hotel Princesse Isabelle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   72 rue Jean-Jaures | La Défense 11, 92800 Puteaux, La Defense, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Puteaux
Atherstone, Warwickshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Miles from anything and dont take your kids!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

We went to this hotel for a weekend honeymoon break in June. When we arrived the night manager demanded a 50 euro deposit. The lift was tiny could just about fit 2 people in it. The corridors were very dark even when the lights came on. We thought the room was ok, a reasonable size for paris, the bed was comfortable and everythng was clean. There was a mini bar in the room but some drinks had been used and the top put back on, check carefully and report to reception to avoid the charges. you are not allowed to bring food or drinks into your room but we went to the shop a few doors down and got some no problem. As it was 11pm when we arrived we went out to try and get some food, we walked for ages because everywhere was closed, eventually found a Mc Donalds up the road (big mac how french is that?). When we arrived back to the hotel the night manager was watching PORN!!!!!! on the big tv in the lounge/bar, very embarrasing. The following day found breakfast was ok, pleanty of food constantly filled up. the dining room was tiny and i saw lots of people waiting around for tables but luckily i did not have to. you can have it brought to your room for extra money.
We tried to find the metro, it is a good 15-20 min walk and there are alot of steps (unless the escalators are working (hardly ever).
By the time you get to the metro you feel worn out. and when you have spent all day walking around paris it is a real long drag back to the hotel. We were so fed up with the that on the last day we packed up and went to the airport. we got there 9hrs before the flight. We just could not face the long walk back to collect our cases at the end of the day. Another thing is that once when we were sitting in the longe/bar because that is the only place the wifi would work (dont even try to use it in the room, waste of time) there was a man with his wife and kids who was asking for a different room because they gave him a double or something by mistake. when he was out of the room the not so lovely girl in reception was slagging him off to us!!!!, can you believe this. To sum up my weekend the hotel is good for paris standards but be prepared to walk lots before you get to anything interesting.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie2812, propriétaire at Hotel Princesse Isabelle, responded to this review, August 14, 2008
Dear Sir,
I understand very well that our staff behaviour is to be unaccepted. Please be sure that everyone will be reminded what he has to do or not.
For instance, the receptionist should have explain you how to get to the metro station in less than 10 minutes walk. And she should not share any other guest complaint with you.
We hope that we have, after all, spent a good time in Paris, you seemed to enjoy your room and some services.
We wish you all the best for the future with your wife,
Best regards
The Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    19
    17
    18
    19
See reviews for
13
16
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

Nice hotel, big rooms (compare to Paris!) beautifull garden and very nice front desk manager- Sophie !

  • Liked — The garden
  • Disliked — Far from the metro(10 min walking)
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2007

very very basic - ok if you don't mind a damp smelly room!

staff were very welcoming pity about the room - location is OK but I wouldn't stay here again and wouldn't reccomend to anyone

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2007

I stayed here the second time for a congress with some colleagues and found it very nice again. The hotel is close enough to Paris (o.k. you have to walk 15 min to the Metro) but in the expensive city of Paris here you get value for money. Its a hotel with the flair of Paris. Do not expect a international chain hotel but a nice small convenient hotel. Some people like this others not. I like it. Sophie at reception is very friendly and helpful as are all others. The rooms are not large but acceptable, have airco and Wifi Internet access. I booked via Internet for all of us and there were now problem at all. We booked parking spots for a small truck and a car in advance and that was available for us as well. In the area you find quite some restaurants where you can eat very well without loosing an arm and a leg in Paris. When I come back to Paris next time I will stay there again; definitively.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2007

We stayed at the Hotel Princesse Isabelle for three nights in January 2007. We very much enjoyed our stay there. The staff were at all times very welcoming and helpful. They were very happy to give advice on places to go and things to do and will book tours etc for you if you wish. The rooms are clean, well appointed and comfortable - perhaps a little on the small side, but that is not unusual in Paris. The bathroom was clean and everything worked well -the shower always had plenty of hot water. The breakfast was good - plenty to choose from and replenished, as needed, for those who came later. We took advantage of the hotel pick up and return to the airport, which was very efficient. Princese Isabelle is well situated - only five Metro stops from Charles de Gaulle/Etoile and only 5 - 10 minutes walk to the nearest Metro station The hotel was happy for us to leave our luggage there all day on the day we were leaving as we had a night time departure. We would certainly be very happy to stay there next time we return to Paris and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no views
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2007

This hotel is nothing it portrays to be. It is a good 15 minute walk from the nearest metro station which is itself probably 15 minute metro ride. The room we stayed in was tiny, in fact we couldnt get in and out of the bathroom without hitting the 3-legged safe which had the TV on. The walls are paper thin and we could hear both sets of neighbours which meant not being able to go to sleep until early hours of the morning. In addition, although we asked for non-smoking room, the smell of cigarettes came through strongly enough to make it appear as if someone had been smoking in our room whilst we were out. Don't get too excited by the log fire in reception-it's an electric one. In the five days we stayed in the hotel, we never heard anyone play the piano in the bar. The prices in the hotel by the way were very expensive. The description on the hotel webite says there would be generous breakfast. We were unable to get a table in the dining room the whole time we stayed in the hotel and instead had to take our breakfast to the hotel lobby. The selection was extremely poor, a bowl of canned fruit salad, a few slices of salami and cheese. We didn't even get a croissant until the third day and it was only because we asked for it. Every day we had to ask for a glass to pour our orange juice into and clean cups for coffee.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2006

I stayed in this hotel in February 2006. I booked through an English tour operator and, having read reviews on this website, I telephoned to confirm my reservation the day before I left. There was no problem with the reservation at all.

The hotel is nice, if a little run down, and comfortable. I found the staff polite and helpful. The lady at reception during the day was comfortable with English and French and courteously asked which language we preferred.

The hotel is close to a large financial district in Paris and so there are services like a shuttle bus to meetings for those who are staying for that reason. We ate at a local restaurant one night and it was filled with locals. It was well priced, lively, authentic and served good food.

Stayed February 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Princesse Isabelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Princesse Isabelle

Address: 72 rue Jean-Jaures | La Défense 11, 92800 Puteaux, La Defense, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense > Puteaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Puteaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Princesse Isabelle 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Princesse Isabelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princesse Isabelle Hotel
Princesse Isabelle Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Princesse Isabelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.