We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small & poorly equipped” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Princesse Isabelle

Save Saved
You added Hotel Princesse Isabelle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Princesse Isabelle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   72 rue Jean-Jaures | La Défense 11, 92800 Puteaux, La Defense, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Puteaux
1 review
“Small & poorly equipped”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

Small, dark, cramped. Had to move the bedside table to open the wardrobe. Half the lights didn't work & the shower was cold. Avoid!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    19
    17
    16
    15
See reviews for
12
16
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

This place needs a complete makeover. The ground floor rooms smell damp and are damp. The rooms are dingy and very, very tired. In my room one of the power sockets didn't work, there were no hangers in the closet, the curtains didn't close properly, the heating/air-con didn't work. This is an example of Paris hotels at their worst. I shall be telling my company not to use it any more.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

I stayed here for 4 nights with the school in February, and it was a hotel of a decent standard.

The hotel is in the West of the city, but it is quite a way from the Gare Du Nord Station if you are coming from the Eurostar. The nearest underground station is on the yellow route and it is called "Esplanade de la défense". It is within a 10 minute walk from the hotel (turn left at the entrance of the hotel and just keep walking until you see an outdoor escalator- take the escalator and keep walking), and it is a few stops away from key areas of Paris such as the Louvre and Musée D'Orsay etc (The majority of places can be accessed by the yellow route).

To get here from Gare Du Nord, the best and quickest way is to take the underground from Gare Du Nord. Firstly, you take the orange route towards Bastille which is a 20 minute journey with seven stops between the two. You must then change at Bastille to get your connection. (NOTE: The Gare Du Nord underground station could be hard for first time visitors to find, especially if this is the first time you have taken the metro to/from here, as it is several sets of escalators down from the Eurostar and mainline train services.) You then take the Yellow route from Bastille to Esplanade de la Défense, which is the metro nearest the hotel. It is about 15-20 minutes on this route, and it is the last stop before the terminus. The great thing about the French underground is that if you miss a train, you needn't panic as the wait for the next train is approximately 4 minutes, and the trains are always punctual. The cost of the underground is also a lot cheaper than other destinations

The hotel itself was a great base. Lots of good restaurants opposite which are open until very late, which is quite handy, considering we didn't arrive for check-in until 9pm! The cuisine is very affordable, at a very cheap price. There are lots of good restaurants, I would particularly recommend Chez Patrick, as the people who own that place are so friendly, and so welcoming we ended up eating there for 2 nights. The food was faultless and the restaurant was very pretty.

The hotel restaurant, we only really used for breakfast. It was very small, so I would get up early if you wish to get a seat! However, saying that the food was of a good quality, so it is understandable why people want to get there so early. Breakfast starts at 6.30am and ends at 9am (later timings at weekends)

We ended up staying in the outdoor apartments, which were very spacious, if the groups were small. The bigger groups had an upstairs in their apartment, which is only meant for 3 people. CNN Europe was the only English language television channel, however the music channels broadcast more videos in English as there are more available, although they do play recent French music too.

The reception staff were very helpful, and it was good that they were bilingual too. Other guests from all over Europe and other parts of the world were there and the staff had a good knowledge of languages as well as French and English. They were friendly and always had a smile too, and sometimes even had a conversation with you, which i found was really nice.

Considering how nearby landmarks such as the Eiffel Tower are, it is a very quiet area at night which meant sleep was no problem at all. I would recommend a visit to the shopping centre, you can get the metro there from Esplanade de la Défense on the yellow line (Esplanade de la Défense is the penultimate stop on the yellow route) and it is easily reachable from La Défense (the terminus on the yellow route), however it is still easily reachable by foot on a 15 minute walk from the hotel. The shopping centre has some brands from the UK such as GAME and even C&A (which no longer operates in the UK, but continues to do well across Europe) as well as some very good shops and restaurants.

This hotel is clearly not given enough credit and it deserves a better reputation than what it has.

When I next go to Paris, I definetely intend on returning to this hotel for all the reasons listed above. It is a great deal for money and you would miss out on quality and value for your money, if you choose not to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

My friend and I were told by the travel agents that the hotel was right next to a metro station which wasn't true and made it quite difficult to find. It was quite a long walk from the station to the hotel which was cramped on a little back street.. or so it seemed.
The receptionist was very warm and welcoming however and the hotel lobby and garden were beautiful. The stairs up were narrow and dark however and quite 'tight' to move round when you couldn't see esp. in the mornings. The corridors were also dark and you had to fiddle around for a switch to put the light back on.
The room itself, twin room, was nice and clean as was the bathroom. The safe in the wardrobe wasn't working correctly and we reported the fault but it was never dealt with during our stay. The first night we didn't get a good nights sleep as you could clearly hear lets say... unwanted noises... from next door (!) loud through the wall. Last few nights though we enjoyed a pleasant comfortable sleep.
Breakfast was nice but a bit cramped to move around to get your meal if other guests were there with it being in such a small room.
The different reception staff were always very helpful however in helping with any queries we had during our stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

recently visited paris on a three day trip with my partner.
The hotel is clean and the staff are really freindly however in my opinion it is not a three star but a TWO STAR!!! the rooms are very small, we could only watch CNN on tv, the breakfast was so horrible as the glasses smelt of fish!!!!

the lift is very tiny, the rooms are not sound proofed that we could hear the couple next door making l....v !!!!
i wouldnt stay there again as it is very basic and really far from all paris attractions!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2009

We visited Paris for a four day break in February. We chose Princesse Isabelle as it was quite small and slightly off the beaten track. We found the hotel was clean and the welcome very friendly. Two grown ups in the 3 person? lift gave us great amusement as we rose to the top floor.

Our room was clean and a good size for Paris and as it was on the front of the hotel we had a view of the Eiffel Tower across the rooftops which made it special. Despite overlooking the street the area was quiet at night and we slept undisturbed. The beds were clean and comfortable and the servicing of the rooms was good. Arrive early for the Continental breakfast buffet as after 9am certain foods tend not to be replenished.

Overall the hotel is well situated for the Metro, with Esplanade de La Defense about a 10 minute walk away. There is a small bakery and shop along the street making it easy to pick up necessities. Restaurants in the area offer a selection of cuisines from North African to Lebanese to Italian, although at the time of travelling many were closed.

We would use this hotel again and confidently recommend it to friends.

  • Liked — Personal Service
  • Disliked — Breakfast could have been better
  • Stayed February 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st leoanards on sea
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

we had a lovely stay at the hotel the staff were friendly and polite.
Also the room was very clean and tidy. The staff gave us lots of info for places to eat and how to get around as we were unsure.
The breakfast was surpising as there was plenty of choice and lots of it. the hotel was not hard to find or far from the metro about 5 minutes walk would definetly stay there again.
And recomend to anyone wanting to stay in Paris.

  • Liked — Freindly atmasphere
  • Disliked — cant think of anything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Princesse Isabelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Princesse Isabelle

Address: 72 rue Jean-Jaures | La Défense 11, 92800 Puteaux, La Defense, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense > Puteaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Puteaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Princesse Isabelle 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Princesse Isabelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princesse Isabelle Hotel
Princesse Isabelle Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Princesse Isabelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.