We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French Prices with Third World Quality” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Paris Porte de Pantin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ibis Budget Paris Porte de Pantin to your Saves list
Ibis Budget Paris Porte de Pantin
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   96 - 98, Avenue du General Leclerc, 93500 Pantin, France (Formerly Etap Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Pantin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    172
    116
    38
    25
See reviews for
183
71
45
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Booked at less than a week's notice for a stay to see the final stage of the Tour de France, We arrived 2 hours early for our stay but were allowed to check in anyway, and we were told we would only be charged for one 24h parking charge despite us being in car park for 32 hours, car park is secured, gated with access code and reasonably priced at 8 euros per 24h, Staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

Recent refit has happened with update to Ibis Budget Branding so decor and carpet in communal areas is fresh and clean, room (family room) was simple, but light and airy and clean with aircon and big walk in shower in bathroom, nice touch was a multi way adapter for the power socket so we could all charge our phones at once, breakfast was usual Etap standard, good for price with cereals, bread, pastries, yoghurts, coffee and fruit juices.

Location is very handy for the Pantin RER (5 mins walk) and Hoche Metro (10 mins walk) stations giving you a couple of options for getting into Paris proper, it only takes about 30 mins total from hotel to Louvre/Champs Elysees for 2 euro metro fare.

All in for 3 of us including car parking and Breakfast it was under 85 Euros (£70) for a Saturday night on a weekend in July, bargain!

Room Tip: Family rooms seem to all be on top floor, nice view (genuinely!) of red brick deco swimming pool ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Myself and two friends stayed at the hotel for three nights in early June. Having read some comments on here, I was a little wary of the location and the hotel but I couldn't have been more surprised. It was a very short walk from two Metro stops with a large, nearby supermarket (E.Leclerc) and several boulangeries practically on the doorstep. The area was no worse than some areas of central Paris and we attracted no attention as a group of three women in their early 20s, wandering around the environs of the hotel. As applies to most places, as long as you act confident, try to look as though you know where you're going and don't speak English too loudly, you won't run into any problems. There were a number of (usually American) tourists who were guilty of the latter especially and that will grab people's attention, marking you out as a target.

As for the hotel itself, the staff we met were friendly. We always received a 'bonjour' and 'bonsoir' upon leaving and returning to the hotel, and check-in was simple. Although we spoke in French, the gentleman behind the desk had been willingly talking in perfectly acceptable English to someone on the phone whilst we waited. The rooms were cleaned daily: the towels replaced (there were three: one per person), the toilet paper replenished, beds made and the bin emptied. We were on the ground floor at the front of the building but heard no noise from traffic or pedestrians at any point, and very little from the surrounding rooms. Although we did not have breakfast at the hotel, I thought it was fairly priced and plentiful when we left the hotel. There are - as I mentioned above - a number of small bakeries nearby for those who decline breakfast.

All in all, I was very pleasantly surprised by the hotel and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

What I didn't appreciate about this hotel, firstly, is its location. I found this hotel too far away from the city-center of Paris. There were times in the mornings when I would experience inertia to even explore Paris when I thought about how time-consuming it is to travel to the city-center of Paris and then back to the hotel at the end of the day.

Secondly, I didn't feel safe in the neighbourhood--especially at night--where this hotel is located in as the people in the neighbourhood came across as rough. I would strongly advise female travellers against staying in this hotel because even a tall guy like me felt uneasy and unsafe in the neighbourhood. And because the neighbourhood doesn't feel safe, you would find yourself wanting to return to the hotel before the sun sets. That, as a result, prevents you from exploring Paris at night when it is the most beautiful.

Thirdly, I didn't appreciate the quality of service offered by one of the hotel's male staff who couldn't speak English well. He can come across as rude, condescending, and impatient when you try asking him questions in English. There was also this one time I saw him exhibiting a certain lewd gesture while bantering with his 2 other colleagues in the hotel lobby--hardly the thing a staff should do in plain view of a hotel guest and in a public area.

Overall, my advice to travellers is that you would be better off choosing a hotel that is in or near to the city-center of Paris. The money that you save from choosing this budget hotel doesn't outweigh the perks (safety, better service, shorter travelling time, availability of amenities, and proximity to key sights) of living in or near to the city-center of Paris. My travel experience at this hotel has taught me that I would, in future, spend a bit more money to stay in or near to the city-center of any city I visit in exchange for peace of mind, safety, and convenience. Cheers.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rybnik, Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed there for five days in 2 family rooms (there were 8 of us) and we were quite satisfied with the rooms and service. We ordered it online and had no problem with the reservation. The staff was really nice and helpful, the rooms were cleaned daily and, despite the fact that the rooms were getting stuffy in the morning, we could easily take down the blockade from the window and open it fully to let some air in. The hotel is not far from the RER station, which is a great way to get to the city centre, and there are bakeries, pizzerias and grocery stores around, so we chose to buy food nstead of ordering breakfast. After reading some of the reviews I thought that the area would be terrible, but it wasn't that bad, twice we came back to the hotel late at night and we didn't notice anything unsafe in the neighbourhood. The only problem we had was with one of the ladies at the RER station -she didn't speak English well (and we don't speak French) and was rude- she printed wrong number of the tickets and made us pay for the ticket we didn't order, but the next day there was a much nicer lady. All in all it's a perfect place for people travelling on a tight budget like ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Budget Paris Porte de Pantin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Paris Porte de Pantin

Address: 96 - 98, Avenue du General Leclerc, 93500 Pantin, France (Formerly Etap Hotel)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-Saint-Denis > Pantin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Pantin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Paris Porte de Pantin 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis budget, the smart choice for a budget hotel offering the best quality-price ratio! Ideal for business trips or tourism, offering modern and pleasant rooms. Our rooms can accommodate 1, 2, 3 or 4 people and are equipped with a shower, toilets, as wellas satellite TV and free WIFI. Enjoy the benefits of a tasty breakfast at a great price! Our cheerful and dynamic team is available round-the-clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis Budget Paris Porte de Pantin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Paris Porte de Pantin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.