We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Livio

Chez Livio
6, rue de Longchamp, Neuilly-sur-Seine, France
01 46 24 81 32
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Nicosia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“amazing restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

excellent food, great service and value for money!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    113
    59
    35
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue
Top Contributor
374 reviews 374 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“You're eating good Italian in Neuilly but it feels like NYC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

French people love good Italian food, and when visiting the upscale Neuilly area, it doesn't get much better than Livio. Besides, it has that distinctly un-French feeling of being in a classic New York Italian eatery, with above average "buzz" of a big place and multiple semi-loud conversations. There's even signed pictures of local celebrities on the walls, just like in New York.

My group of 3 persons were seated at, perhaps, the quietest table in the place, and we enjoyed thorough service and good food. Mind you, it isn't the best Italian I've ever had, but, after all, this is Paris, not Alba. Although there's a nice selection of Italian wines, we stuck with a French bordeaux, moderately priced at 38 Euros, and enjoyed it with both the starters and main course.

For a first course, we ordered and shared a tasty bruschetta topped with very thinly shaved parma ham, and some mild soft French chevre. It was substantial enough for 3 persons. For main course, one person ordered a steak which was juicy and properly prepared. My spouse and I had vegetarian pastas, both steaming hot, cooked perfectly al dente and tasty. We shared a dessert of vanilla ice cream bathing in a mild liquor, and topped with fresh espresso. Delicious but for the price, they should have served 2 - 3 scoops of ice cream. Unfortunately the espresso ordered after dessert was bitter, compared with others I've tasted in Paris.

Overall, I feel that the value is okay, given the neighborhood. For three persons, our total (including tax/tip and a large Evian water) came to 158 Euros -- a moderate price in this upscale Paris suburb.

Valet parking is offered at a reasonable 8 Euros.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“I Thought I'd Be More Impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

And I wasn't. Everyone raves how good the Italian is here, and while it is a cute restaurant (we ate outside), I felt the food was average, and the prices much too high. The sauce had broken on the Pasta Carbonara (and they still served it), and the pizza we got was overloaded with cheese making the crust soggy. My husband did like his lasagna though, and didn't leave a drop. We will probably not be back as we've found two other Italian Restaurants we prefer in Neuilly.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“overstated place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

I live nearby and my friends love this place for some reasons: they are very carefull with the clients, know their name if they are frequent customers, but the food is not great or creative at all. Pizzas: tasteless, desserts: it's likr the icecream was bought at the local market... And it is not cheap.
I think it is overrated.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
299 helpful votes 299 helpful votes
“Pathetic”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011 via mobile

'Everyone' in Neuily comes here. Porsche Cayenne and Mercedes SL adorn this narrrow street. But why? To hang out with each-ther? Probably. Not because theu know italian food or because they can telll the difference between a good pizza and a hub-cap, that's for sure. There are plenty of bad restaurants in the world but that's ok, because noone ever said they were good. But this is different. This place clais to be good, and some people believe it is. It must honestly be the worst Italian I have ever eaten in, anywhere in the world. Ok, Livio is working in unchartered waters. There has never been a history of good italian restaurants in Paris. Those that the French thought were good were actually mediocre, but the poor souls didn't know better. Gosh, I've forgotten their names now. But there are now some decent itlians in Paris, like Enrico Bernardo's wonderful place. Go to the others. Avoid this one.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Livio also viewed

Neuilly-sur-Seine, Hauts-de-Seine
Neuilly-sur-Seine, Hauts-de-Seine
 
Neuilly-sur-Seine, Hauts-de-Seine
Neuilly-sur-Seine, Hauts-de-Seine
 

Been to Chez Livio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Livio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.