We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but should have more non-smoking rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Classics Hotel Porte de Versailles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Classics Hotel Porte de Versailles to your Saves list
Classics Hotel Porte de Versailles
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 rue Georges Marie, 92130 Issy-les-Moulineaux, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel but should have more non-smoking rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for 4 nights in the end of May. The hotel is in a nice area, not central, but easy to reach by metro. Rooms are small, but clean and we had everything what we could expect for the price we paid.

The biggest problem was that we got a smoking room in the 3rd floor. It was NOT mentioned that we may be given a smoking room during the booking process. I asked several times to change the room but each receptionist told that the hotel was fully booked. (It probably was indeed as a large tourist group arrived next evening and they were queuing for a good half an hour to use the single lift just to get into their rooms). I threw away the bed cover from the room which was soaked with the cigarette smell. The receptionist seemed surprised when I complained about the bad smell, but probably they are so used to that smell as people smoke a lot in Paris.

Would not book this hotel again purely because they cannot guarantee the availability of the non-smoking rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClassicsHotel, Responsable réception at Classics Hotel Porte de Versailles, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest

we thanks you to take the time to leave a comment on our hotel.

we are sorry not to satisfy your request but as you can see our hotel were full during your stay.

but please note that we will make some refurbishment in our hotel during the summer and our hotel will become totally non smoking.

we hope to see you for your future stay in France

have a nice day


regards

Lucie Zampèse
Assistante de direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    73
    37
    10
    4
See reviews for
12
69
14
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Spent just one night here. It was very clean, the guy on the desk when I arrived was very helpful but it's nothing special. The rooms are tiny (the door nearly opened into the bed) and there's very little noise insulation from the corridor or the guests in the neighbouring rooms. Breakfast was fairly basic, usual croissants, cereal, yoghurts, with some cooked meats and some very overcooked scrambled eggs.
It's not central, but it's close to the metro and it only takes about 15 minutes into the centre of town.

Room Tip: One of the rooms - think it's 101, 201 etc - is so close to the lift that you only need to walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClassicsHotel, Responsable réception at Classics Hotel Porte de Versailles, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest

We thanks you for taking time to leave a comment on our hotel.

we note that your appreciate your location but you regret that our room are too small..

it's the main problem is Paris, most of the hotel have small room..

we hope to see you next time

regards

Lucie Zampèse
Assistante de direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel was perfect for our needs. It is well situated as it is not in the busy city centre but only a 5 minute walk to the nearest Metro station which then takes another 15 or so minutes to get to some main sites. The room was clean and well equipped for our needs with a tv, kettle, tea bags, safe, hair dryer etc. We were never disturbed during the night, hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was very impressive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClassicsHotel, Responsable réception at Classics Hotel Porte de Versailles, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks you very much for taking time to leave a comment on our hotel.

we wera enjoyed to learn hat you were completely satisfied by your stay.

we will be very happy to welcome you for your next stay in Paris

We wish you a nice day

kind regards

Lucie Zampèse
Assistante de direction

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We really didn't know quite what to expect, with neither my wife nor myself having been to Paris. This hotel, although fairly basic, impressed us, with helpful staff who are always ready to "walk the extra mile" and that is impressive, in our estimation. Despite it's location being a fair distance from all the attractions Paris has to offer, combined with our "Paris Visite" card for use on public transport we actually found that it worked to our advantage, because there was less of the hustle & bustle we encountered closer to the centre of Paris. However the only drawback is the size of our room - if we had stayed there any more than the 3 days I really think it would have been a major drawback, but all things considered the overall rating for this hotel is "very good"

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClassicsHotel, Responsable réception at Classics Hotel Porte de Versailles, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks for taking time to leave a comment on our hotel.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.

we hope to see you again for your future stay in Paris

Best regards

Lucie Zampèse
Assistante de direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed 6 nights for New Years Holiday. A very basic hotel, but clean and with friendly staff. The room was small as all Parisian hotel rooms, but we managed to fit in to large suitcases. Breakfast was simple with baguettes, croissants etc. When staying here you must accept that it is not in the city center, however, it was so easy and quick to get around with the metro (Either station Porte de Versailles or Corentin Celton located close by) that it really didn’t matter. And the neighbourhood was nice with plenty of good restaurants – check out L Atelier Du Parc for a great dinner. I would definitely stay here again; it was simple and not luxurious but good value for a week in Paris.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClassicsHotel, Responsable réception at Classics Hotel Porte de Versailles, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest

We thanks you for leaving a comment on our hotel.

we note that you appreciate your stay with us.

we hope to see you again for your next stay in Paris

kind regards

Lucie Zampese
Assistante de direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I was here for 4 days while i was in Paris for the Whose Next trade show. The hotel is in a great location but the rooms are depressing. The tea cups in the room were plastic and exploded when i poured in my hot water in. The room heater is directly over your head and really is the worst place to be....blowing hot air onto my face the entire night wasnt pleasant. Breakfast is just simply POOR...I would not be staying here again as its not the cheapest on the block either . For what it is really ....it should def be less expensive!! The staff are friendly and the place is clean however.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClassicsHotel, Responsable réception at Classics Hotel Porte de Versailles, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Madam

We thanks you for taking time to leave your opinion on our hotel.

we are really sorry to learn that you didn't like your stay..

I am very disappointed by your comments...

For us we served a full breasfast, with "french and fresh viennoiserie" each morning(croissants, pains au chocolat, pain), yogourts, cereales, marmelade, orange and multivitamine,scrampled eggs, bacon, sausages..we are sorry to do no respond to your expectation..

For your future stay , please do not hesitate to come to see the reception staff in case of problem in your room we have always the possibiliies to change room after check out it is unofrtunately too late for us and for you..

For your information all our room will be refresh next summer, as soon as the refurbishment will be done we will post on our website new photos, so do not hesitate to visite it at the end of the year..

Regards

Lucie Zampese
Assistante de direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llantwit Major, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel is easy to walk to from either Porte de Versailles or Corentin Celton Metro station.
We had to change rooms as sink plug wasn't working in the first room we stayed in - no issues over doing this.
Rooms are not that big, but bed comfortable and tea/coffee making facilities and free WiFi were a plus.
Breakfast was more than adequate, but tables were a bit cramped and you need to get there early if you want hot food....
Staff friendly and helpful. Can recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClassicsHotel, Responsable réception at Classics Hotel Porte de Versailles, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Mr Tandy,

We thanks you for taking time to leave a comment on our hotel.

We are sorry for the disagrement that you meet in your "first room" during your stay.

we hope to see you in the future


regards

Lucie Zampèse
Assistante de direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Classics Hotel Porte de Versailles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classics Hotel Porte de Versailles

Address: 3 rue Georges Marie, 92130 Issy-les-Moulineaux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > Issy-les-Moulineaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Issy-les-Moulineaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Classics Hotel Porte de Versailles 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classics Hotel Porte de Versailles is a 3 stars hotel with 52 contemporary-styled rooms. It is located next to Exhibition Centre of Porte de Versailles (2 minutes by foot). By metro line 12 you can reach directly the main touristic places of Paris like Montparnasse, Saint-Germain-des-Pres, Concorde, Department Stores and Montmartre. A direct tram will drive you to Issy les Moulineaux and La Defense Business Areas. All our rooms have been renovated and offer the modern comfort of a 3 stars hotel (free internet wireless, LCD TV 82 cm, hair drier). Three rooms are equipped for guests with reduced mobility. Buffet breakfast is served under the veranda in front of the garden. A private and paying garage is available. All the staff will make a pleasure to help you during your stay. Just ask us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Classics Hotel Porte de Versailles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classics Hotel Issy Les Moulineaux

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Classics Hotel Porte de Versailles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.