We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint with very friendly staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kyriad Paris La Defense

Save Saved
You added Kyriad Paris La Defense to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kyriad Paris La Defense
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85 Boulevard Saint-Denis, 92400 Courbevoie, La Defense, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 hotels in Courbevoie
Dallas, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quaint with very friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

I stayed at Kyriad La Defense for a week during business travel and meetings in the area. The room was small, but I had a nice quiet room overlooking the courtyard. A co-worker opened his curtains with a perfect view of the Eiffel Tower. Staff was very friendly and helpful, including room service. Breakfast was a pleasure with a selection of meats, cheeses, croissants. I enjoyed the cafe au lait! Good restaurants within walking distance and a 15-20 minute walk to the Metro to catch the train to Paris. A pleasant stay and I would stay again for the price.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    52
    16
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
23
6
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

we stayed in the Kyriad for 3 nights on the first weekend in february, we recieved a very warm welcome upon arrival.

we arrived at the hotel at approx 11.30am on friday 3rd feb, check in time starts at 14.00, we were told that the rooms were not ready and would have to come back which was not a problem to us becasue we were all humgry and wanted something to eat. we went back to the hotel at 12.40 and they checked us in with no problem at all.

the rooms were very clean and modern but were quite small again this was not too much of a problem to us as we were only staying for 3 nights, The only other thing i could fault it for was that there was no mirror above the dressing table for my partner to do her make-up, we did find a solution as we took the mirror off of the shower room wall and placed it on the dressing table.

the mini bar in the rooms i thought were very good value for money at 3 euros per item this included, 1664, coca cola, orange juice, and bottled water (sparkling and still).

breakfast in the hotel is 10euros per person per day (eat all you can) it was very fresh just out of the oven.

taxi the the eifel tower was about 15 - 20 Euros (DO NOT ORDER TAXI'S FROM RECEPTION THEY COST MORE FOR SOME REASON) it was much Quicker, cheaper and easier to flag a taxi down on the main road into paris oposite the hotel. taxi to and from the hotel is about 50 euros each way.

eating out - saint michelle is well worth the 20euro taxi ride to as there is lots of bars and resturants that are well priced, it also fells very lively there too.

drinking in paris is very expensive so if you are going there to get drunk take a lot of money with you we paid 14.50 euros for a pint of beer and a vodka and coke.

hope this helps

Liam Murnaghan

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

Excellent value for the money. The rooms are nice and clean but small, bathroom was quite nice but could be cleaner. Breakfast at 8€ is decent, some 4 types of good hams, lots of pastries, jams, fruit, cheese, yoghurt, coffee/tea.

The negative is that Courbevoie, where it is located is actually not in Paris so taxis have a higher rate. The hotel is actually is quite far from la defense, certainly not a walking distance with your luggage. The bus stop from the hotel is 5 mins by foot, and 10mins by bus). Therefore if you're in a rush, and need to go by taxi, a trip from the hotel to la defense is about 10€ and a trip from la defence to the hotel is around 8€ (they charge for coming to the hotel to pick you up). A taxi from Mercure hotel (near bus stop) is about 5€. If you are planning to be in a rush all the time, and anticipate travelling by taxi to the metro you could be looking to spend some 10-20€ daily on taxis, which could turn out to be cheaper to take the Pullman or sth very close to la Defense. Its sort of a pity to lose like 1 hour on buses to la defense every day (wait time + travel). I would recommedn writing down bus arrival times at the bus stop, bot to la defense and from la defense.

But the hotel itself is very pleasant - you actually want to come back and lie on your bed after a whole day of walking which is important.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow, scotland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

My husband and i stayed at this hotel recently when we went to Paris for the weekend for our anniversary. The rooms arent huge but ample and very clean. We were lucky enough to have a room with a great view of the Eiffel Tower, beautiful at night all lit up. The staff at this hotel could not have been more friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a quiet area a little bit off the beaten track but all the main sites and attractions are only a short bus ride away and the bus stop is 2 minutes from the hotel. We will no doubt stay there again the next time we visit Paris, its a great city and we had the best time.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2008

Stayed at Kyriad La Defense Hotel for 2 nights from Friday to Sunday and payed 124€ (excl. BF), what's a pretty reasonable price for a 3***-hotel in Paris.

Rooms are not large, but ok. Clean shower and toilet, bed was really good as well. Flat-TV (only french channels). Optional breakfast offers the common continental breakfast program and various coffees. Tasty.

Hotel staff was VERY friendly and was also speaking english pretty well.

The only "con" regarding the hotel is the location itself, because La Defense is pretty far out. Walking to the city centre? - No way (you can see the Tour Eiffel from your window...looks quite near). You gotta take a bus or a taxi in order to get to the next Metro-station and then it's roughly a 15min-ride to the centre. Not very convenient, but ok. When returning to the hotel in the night, you gotta take taxi to the hotel what is about 5-7€. Also ok. (Last Bus leaves at 9.15pm)

In total: Not taking the location into account, the hotel is a CLEAR recommendation.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2007

A pleasant hotel with friendly, helpful staff, but not very accessible by public transport and not very cheap. I took a taxi to get there (I came from the station) and took a taxi back out the next morning. Didn't have time to try the breakfast or dinner. My room was clean, small but functional, comfortable, with a nice view of the Paris skyline and Eiffel Tower in the distance. There were complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits.
In short - if you have to be in the Courbevoie area (note that the hotel is nowhere near La Defense) or you have your own transport (the hotel has a small parking lot opposite) then this is a good place to stay.

  • Liked — Nice room
  • Disliked — Too far from metro
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2006

We stayed in Kyriad La Defense in April 2006 when my husband took part in the Paris marathon. I spent a good deal of time reading reviews to find something dirty cheap (we were on a very tight budget) but decent (as we were traveling with our 1 year old son). I decided for Kyriad considering the price (we paid 46 Euro for a double without breakfast), the location on Metro 1 line (connecting to the marathon start and finish), reviews and pictures.

All in all, we were not disappointed. The goof (but partly on my part) was that we extended our stay and before the arrival I booked online one extra night. I hoped they would let us stay in the same room, but the administrator was very persistent and made us move after the first night into another room... So we got a chance to experience two rooms in this hotel...

Both rooms were definitely clean; there were complementary tea and coffee, minibar, toiletries. But on the whole, you could help noticing that the rooms and overall building badly needed a profound renovation - the owners desperately keep "patching" but before long it would be futile.
When you book, better opt for rooms facing inner yard - the windows frames are wooden and let the street noise in reaching you even if you are on the off-street side, on the front side the noise must be even greater (Blvd St Denis does have traffic day and night). And yes, the rooms are small, but even with a baby cot we managed to navigate.

Be advised that the nearest metro station is a long walk - it took us app.30 min to get to Esplanade de La Defense station, the area is safe, though the stone jungle of La Defense pretty deserted evenings. In fact, the hotel is NOT in La Defense - it is beyond its boundaries, in the adjacent township of Courbevoie.
Breakfast - nothing special, we could not run around in the morning with the baby and paid 7,5 EUR/person for conventional cold cuts, warmed pasties and mediocre coffee.
BUT - that is the perfect value for the money! You do feel neither overcharged nor humiliated by the cheesy hotel.
Would stay there again if on a budget.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kyriad Paris La Defense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyriad Paris La Defense

Address: 85 Boulevard Saint-Denis, 92400 Courbevoie, La Defense, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense > Courbevoie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 hotels in Courbevoie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kyriad Paris La Defense 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kyriad Paris La Defense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyriad Paris La Defense Hotel Courbevoie
Kyriad Paris La Defense Courbevoie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kyriad Paris La Defense, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.