We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would not recommend the Hotel George Sand” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel George Sand

Save Saved
You added Hotel George Sand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel George Sand
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Avenue Marceau, 92400 Courbevoie, La Defense, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 hotels in Courbevoie
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“I would not recommend the Hotel George Sand”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The travel agency assured us that we were booking the more central hotel in Paris of the same name so we did not deliberately book this hotel. It is too far away from Paris itself...in fact we were really surprised how far out of Paris the hotel was. All the staff where very friendly and helpful but the rooms are not cleen and very small. The view was nothing special.... just the main road which was very noisy. We did not like the area'. All in all I would not recommend the Hotel George Sand.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    19
    24
    9
    12
See reviews for
7
28
4
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Split, Croatia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My girlfriend and I were there four nights in September. Old lady from the reception charge us 8 Eur (tourist fee) as we checked in. (they did not mention it earlier)
After four nights we still had the same towels, even after throwing the towels in the bath third night. (maid would always put them back in place-dirty as they were)
I decided to ask for clean towels on the reception, but before that i've asked for transfer my pictures from my photo to USB. I was surprised with the reception lady (the old one) and her cheeky response.
She told me that she won't do that because of the computer viruses. Although I explained to her that her colleague let me do that two days earlier and that would she certainly have had a problem if I have a virus on my USB. She was very rude and did not allow further discussion.
after that I no longer had the will to ask for clean towels.
I must say that young girl and young men who are also worked on the reception was very helpful and nice.
Rooms are really small but clean and quiet, even we slept on the first floor.
quantities of food at breakfast was much lower on weekend than on weekdays.
I bet in Paris you have better places to stay then in this hotel.
Metro/RER (La defanse) is more than 5 min away walking. Best way for downtown is using train to St. Lazzare. (10 min really)
Remember, I wrote this after two weeks that I came back home so i've been objective as I can.
Enyoy Paris/France...is really something.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

We didn't have a choice in our hotel as we bought a package deal with AA Getaways. We were a little surprised at how far out of Paris the hotel was, although it was only a 10min walk to the metro (La Defense) and then another 10mins from there back into the centre of Paris.
The room was much smaller then it looked in photos and we had asked for a twin room which was just a double bed but with two single mattresses. The decor was hideous. Very dated, overly busy wallpaper and curtains.
The bathroom was tiny no room to get changed it was literally step in and turned around, saying that the shower was nice and hot :) the view was nothing special just looked down onto the main road which was very noisy at night but luckily the doors blocked out all sound. Breakfast was good bit of a selection, ham, cheese, cereal, bread, croissant, tea & coffee.
The staff were very helpful for directions and they spoke English which was nice.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east yorkshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The hotel is spotlessly clean, in a lovely safe and quiet suburb of Paris. All the staff where very friendly and extremly helful with question (in English), and directions. The decor is a bit dated but in a very retro French style that we liked. Transport links are excellent for the centre of Paris.
Turn left outside the hotel, and the mainline train station is a two minute walk. The platform for Paris is clearly marked, the train will take you to Gare St Lazare in 15 mins, and from there you can get the Metro to anywhere in Paris

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We had been recommended to stay at George Sand as we had a budget and city centre hotels were too expensive at the time of booking.

GS has a 3-day package for €205 which is great!
It is located a bit off La Defense, but the walk to the hotel took maximum 10 minutes, and even late at night the area felt very safe. And the metro trip from La Defense to all the sites in Paris would be 10-20 minutes.

Hotel rooms are quite small, but bathrooms a good size and nice. the bed could have used a top mattress, but we slept comfortably. If you are sensitive to noise, bring earplugs, but it didn't bother us even though we had the room (201) right next to the elevator.

The area is a bit quiet, so not much to do - a few restaurants, a good bakery etc. On a Sunday night we couldn't find anything decent open, even though we wanted to try to eat in the area, so plan to spend most time in Paris Centre.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We spent 3 nights there and the rooms are small. The employees were very helpful but the interior of the hotel and rooms was outdated. The main plus was the 2 min. walk to the Courbevoi station and 15 min walk to La Defense station.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

I spent 2 nights in this 3* hotel, in room 407 (back side) which was small but clean, good for a quiet sleep and a good shower...
Of course you can hear the elevator (not a disturbing sound) and of course you hear the floor squeeking a little, but that is normal for a small hotel of this age, it didn't really bother me. The frequency of the foreign sounds is very low.

The breakfast was OK, the variety of the food was limited and the bread not so fresh, but the croissants were OK and so was the thee/coffee. You are staying at a 3* hotel, remember !?
The breakfast room is charming, but soon overcrowded, when all guests come down for breakfast at the same time...

The personnel is quite friendly and they do their best, nothing to complaint for !
The access to Paris from here is a positive thing: either by train or by car to the nearest metro station ( La Défense ), with lots of paying parking facilities.
Visiting the La Défense area is a thrill !! Few people know about this "State of the Art" part of Paris, with an impressive Esplanade !

For me, this hotel constitutes a good alternative for spending a weekend in Paris, at a reasonable cost , in a fairly quiet atmosphere.
.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel George Sand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel George Sand

Address: 18 Avenue Marceau, 92400 Courbevoie, La Defense, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense > Courbevoie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 hotels in Courbevoie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel George Sand 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming family manor house was entirely refurbished in 2007 and much care was taken to preserve its fine mosaic façade. A quaint 19th century Romantic museum awaits you through the wrought iron gates. Chopin’s music welcomes you to this luxurious yet homely location, only 3 minutes walk from the CNIT and the Grande Arche of La Defense and a mere 10 minutes travel time from both Paris Saint Lazare train station and Versailles Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Hotel George Sand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Paris
Best Western Courbevoie
Courbevoie Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel George Sand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;