We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All in the dark” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel George Sand

Save Saved
You added Hotel George Sand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel George Sand
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Avenue Marceau, 92400 Courbevoie, La Defense, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 hotels in Courbevoie
South Bucks
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“All in the dark”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Hotel manager very helpful and welcoming , 3 stars no way

Entered room turned on light switch it did not work, door closed and then left groping around

finally found bathroom light and there was relief
mentioned to hotel staff but nothing happened during my one day sojourn

The expresso machine in the breakfast room was a nice plus

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 101 next to large very noisy airconditionner
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    18
    24
    11
    12
See reviews for
6
28
4
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Good choice for a good price, though not in Paris Center. It's a 10 minute walk from metro/RER station La Defense. Nice and safe neighbourhood. The beds are very confortable and the bathroom has been renovated. Some bathrooms have a bath, others only have a shower. The room decor is a bit retro, but the room was very clean. The breakfast is expensive, so we decided to go to the bakery across the street. The hotel has free wifi, a flat TV and the staff is nice. There are many grocery stores and restaurants nearby. There is also a big shopping center at La Defense. I would go back for the price, but I would prefer a hotel in Paris if I can find one for the same price. The hotel was not noisy. There is a hotel with the same name in Paris 9e. This one is in Courbevoie.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

George sand is a quaint little french hotel that is tucked away in a residential neighborhood of Paris.Its about 10 minutes walk from La Defense station where there is a plethora of trains to pretty much any where you want to go in Paris. We got a great internet deal of 3 nights for 60 euros a night!
The room itself is a little on the smaller side so if you have a lot of luggage might be a little hard to walk around the room. The room is sufficient to sleep in after a long day of sight seeing paris.The front desk is helpful.The breakfast is a good spread but 12 euros per person is a little expensive.I wish the front desk had mentioned that it was not free when they mentioned the morning breakfast.We also had free wifi which is always a good thing. Overall loved it and we will definitely be back if and when we go back to Paris

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

We travelled to Paris to celebrate my 4oth birthday. We were on a budget - so had to shop around for a decent hotel. Given our budget - there would always be a compromise. The hotel itself was lovely - a traditional French building with period features. The rooms were furnished with antique beds and period wallpaper. The down side being that the rooms were very small - but then it didn't matter for the amount of time spent there.
The location was a fair way from the centre of Paris. However, is was a 10 minute walk to the metro station of the Grand Arch at La Defense. (You could be lazy and catch the RER over-land train - 2 mins from the hotel - and then change to the metro). It was roughly 6 stops to the L'Arc de Triomphe and a few more down to the Louvre - all on the yellow line - so very easy to navigate.
Breakfast at the hotel was substantial. Although there was a good patisserie across the road as well as a few cafes if you wanted to get breakfast a bit cheaper.
The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and also allowed us to stow our luggage after we had checked out (11am) The only downside perhaps is that there are no tea/coffee facilities in the room (and a bit steep at 4.5 Euros downstairs).
The bathroom was very small - but well equipped (and surprisingly modern compared to the rest of the deco)
All in all - I would definately recommend the Hotel George Sand.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

Cute building and "film-set " like interior.
We stayed for 2 nights and were fortunate to have properly the best room in the whole hotel ( the room with the largest balcony fronting the street). Room decor over-the-top frenchie and furnishing a bit old and dated. Bathroom facilites is good.
Ok for a 3-stars hotel,but it is just a bit too far away from Paris central.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schouweiler
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

This hotel and the location is terrible!
The rooms are not cleen and very small!
This hotel is not to recommend!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

I was very satisfied by this hotel, and its location.

I don't understand why other travellers complained about the location because it's absolutely fine. It's a 10 minute walk to the metro station, (the train station is around the corner, so when you arrive from airports/large train stations, you just arrive at that one with your luggage). The walk to the metro is really not that bad, we went for three days so we walked there in the morning and back in the evening, and that was fine. Perhaps if you would go for a week you could opt to stay in Paris, but for a short stay it's fine because you're out all day.

The area is nice, the metro station is in La Defense, which is a great thing to see in itself, amazing architecture, and from there you can actually see the Arc de Triomphe, so you don't even realise you're slightly outside the ring. (By the way the hotel is only 7 kms from the Eiffel Tower if you look it up). So all in all in half an hour you've travelled from the hotel to the Eiffel Tower.

The hotel is very cute, I love the Victorian style, the rooms are small but I think that's the way it should be in a hotel like that. It's clean, the bathroom is modern and well kept. Some of the staff speak English, others not, some friendly, others not, didn't bother me.

I would definitely recommend this hotel especially for those coming by car because you avoid the Peripherique madness.

Stayed November 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel George Sand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel George Sand

Address: 18 Avenue Marceau, 92400 Courbevoie, La Defense, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense > Courbevoie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 hotels in Courbevoie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel George Sand 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming family manor house was entirely refurbished in 2007 and much care was taken to preserve its fine mosaic façade. A quaint 19th century Romantic museum awaits you through the wrought iron gates. Chopin’s music welcomes you to this luxurious yet homely location, only 3 minutes walk from the CNIT and the Grande Arche of La Defense and a mere 10 minutes travel time from both Paris Saint Lazare train station and Versailles Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel George Sand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Paris
Best Western Courbevoie
Courbevoie Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel George Sand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.