We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel. Great Location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Paris La Defense 5

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Paris La Defense 5 to your Saves list
Mercure Paris La Defense 5
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18-30 rue Baudin | Place Charras, 92400 Courbevoie, La Defense, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Courbevoie
Toronto Ontario
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Good hotel. Great Location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I was recently on a bus tour to Paris with family members. We stayed at this hotel for three nights. It had an inviting lobby and a welcoming helpful staff. The room was bright and clean albeit small. The rooftop provided an excellent view of the city. Breakfast was outstanding with champagne, freshly baked goods, and many hot and cold choices. I found it a bit odd that we were expected to drink our coffee and tea out of large cereal bowls, but, "when in Rome", or in this case France, do as they do n'est-ce pas? The hotel had air conditioning and fast elevators. We had daily wake-up service, free wifi, in room coffee and tea, a safe, and a nice selection of toiletries.

My issues were as follows. We were in a room on the third floor with a broken door lock bar. I'm not certain whether the security lock worked at all. Some of the lower floors appeared to be under renovation, or so a sign said. The brochure stated that ice was available on the 2nd floor. It wasn't. After circling the hotel (it's round) several times, I went to the bar to ask. I was then directed to the 5th floor where the ice was in a hallway for employees. Odd I thought. The worst part of the stay was on Saturday, my third night. There was sawing and metallic clunking well into the post midnight hours. I'm not clear on what it was because I didn't think there could be construction happening that late. This prevented me from having a good sleep.

Nonetheless, I enjoyed my stay and would recommend this hotel. It is close to the city and walking distance to a lovely large shopping centre. Behind the hotel, there is also a small indoor shopping area, good for essentials.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a view of the Eiffel tower. Also, higher rooms are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense 5, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us,
We are pleased to read that you mostly enjoyed your stay with us, except that noise one night. If this happens again, you can call the Duty manager who stays at your disposal at any time to ensure that you have a good sleep at the hotel; he would have helped you to find a solution : wether tell your neighbor to keep quiet or he could have changed your room ...
Looking forward to welcoming you again, We will do our best to make your stay a pleasure with us,

Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    316
    209
    58
    23
See reviews for
108
158
61
281
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marseille, France
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Standard Mercure Hotel - no more, no less, with totally spiritless rooms and lobby, and acomplete lack of an atmosphere - but given the location close to Paris business district, you don't stay there for romance or for visiting Paris I guess. Good point: food is excellent (which is frequent with the Mercure brand), and the Croze Hermitage we had was just stunning. Staff was great (either at the desk, smiling and joking; or the restaurant) and full WIFi access is complimentary. The only bad point I experienced is the plumbery - when the guest next door (or was it next floor?) takes a shower at 6 a.m., well the plumbery is so noisy that basically you take your shower too. I just can't understand why the architects and builders don't spend some more bucks to properly insulate pipes in the walls. Apart from that, 10 min walk from l'Arche de la Défense and/or the RER A station for a decent price - you can't beat The Mercure!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense 5, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us,
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us,
We will do our best to give you a quiet room next time
Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

This hotel was nothing special. The breakfast was fine, the staff were helpful, the small lobby was often packed with people from bus tours, and the rooms were on the small side, but clean. The bathroom is a bit dated. All in all, nothing special. Not particularly close to La Defense transit hub but there is a shuttle. Room price was reasonable. Decent choice of restaurants in the area within walking distance.

Room Tip: Wifi strength was higher nearer to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense 5, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us,
It is true that you can reach the very center of Paris, with the metro, very fast.... and visit Paris easily from La Defense,

We would be pleased to welcome you again very soon,
Sincerely yours,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Its very noisy outside the room at the courtyard since we need to open the window for the ventilation, didn't have a good sleep although we just arrived Paris after 13 hours of flying and 12 hours of city tours.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense 5, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us,
Looking forward to welcoming you again and to make your stay fantastic,

Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niteroi, RJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

A good hotel, in a wonderful place. Courbevoie is very beautiful and has good restaurants. There is a small shopping near the hotel. The room is a little small, but with good facilities.
The breakfast is correct, it isn't spetacular. The distance from the center of Paris is 8 km. The cost of the taxi from the hotel for the Tour Eiffel is around 18 euros. In general I recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: The room I stayed in had a tub and I requested a cot for my daughter. Good room for those traveling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense 5, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us,
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us,
Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Typical traveller typical hotel, so nothing too fancy and is a bit out of the way, but is clean and convenient. Our room was a bit tight but toilet was surprising big with a real bathtub. Free in room wifi, free magazines and breakfast. Only thing is could be very busy in the morning, so many have to wait a while for the elevator and breakfast.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense 5, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us,
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us,
Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
345 reviews 345 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This hotel location is good.Rooms are small but clean.Hotel provides free transport to the ladefence train station from here you can go anywhere the shuttle is frequent.Breakfast is ok.Watch out for your valuables inside the hotel there seems to be a security problem as they are unable to check or know people coming in and out of the hotel.Two people knocked my door and opened my door the chain was on when i got up and opened the door both of them were knocking on a room about 5rooms from mine i asked them to come back but refused.Called the reception the guy refused to send the security and he didnot want to know about it and didnot know who they were.When asked who they were he told me they must be staff then i asked why they opened my door and now they dont want to come back he acted as if he didnot understand English.Attached is a copy if the security warning given by the hotel.There is a shopping mall next door with a super market bar and foodoutlets.There are a choice of restaurants within walking distance and a park next door.Good hotel except the security concerns.
.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense 5, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us,
We are sorry for this situation, it might be the housekeeping who was filling your minibar who knocked at your door. Do not hesitate to call the housekeeping our the reception if you wish to be sure.

We will do our best to make your stay a pleasure with us,
Looking forward to welcoming you again,
Sincerely yours
The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Paris La Defense 5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris La Defense 5

Address: 18-30 rue Baudin | Place Charras, 92400 Courbevoie, La Defense, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense > Courbevoie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Courbevoie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris La Defense 5 4*
Number of rooms: 507
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Mercure Paris La Defense 5 se situe dans le quartier des affaires de La Defense, a seulement 10 minutes en metro du centre de Paris. Les chambres disposent de la climatisation, d'une television par satellite a ecran plat et d'un plateau de bienvenue. Certaines sont dotees d'une machine a expresso et d'un minibar avec des boissons gratuites. L'etablissement propose une connexion Wi-Fi illimitee gratuite ainsi qu'un service de navette entre l'hotel et la station de metro Grande Arche de la Defense. Vous pourrez profiter du centre de remise en forme ou du hammam puis vous detendre dans le bar de l'hotel. Le restaurant Le Bistrot de L'Echanson sert une cuisine francaise traditionnelle. Le Mercure Paris La Defense 5 possede des salles de reunions et un centre d'affaires. Il se trouve a seulement 10 minutes du Centre des nouvelles industries et technologies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Paris La Defense 5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris La Defense 5 Hotel Courbevoie
Mercure Hotel Courbevoie
Paris La Defense 5 Mercure

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Paris La Defense 5, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.