We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Paris La Defense 5

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Paris La Defense 5 to your Saves list
Mercure Paris La Defense 5
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18-30 rue Baudin | Place Charras, 92400 Courbevoie, La Defense, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Courbevoie
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights here. The room was good, with a safe and kettle, albeit a bit small. Free WiFi was available. There's a shuttle service to the La Defense train station. The hotel is quite big and the elevators can get crowded in the morning. Breakfast was quite good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense 5, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us,
We are sorry for the disconnection of internet : normally it should last at least for 6 hours for free before asking you to connect again. Everything is fixed and should be better now.

Breakfast is a buffet, with 3 differents stands : one hot stand with eggs, sausages, pancakes, ... one cold stand with fruits salads, cheeses, hams, yogourts... one satnd with all kinds of breads and croissants, ... cereals... also a bio Buffet... with a large choice of food; you can help youself and eat as much as you want...

If you have any question during your stay, you may contact our Duty Manager which is at your disposal 24/24 hours and 7/7 days, dailing 1010. He will do his best to give you satisfaction anytime,

Looking forward to welcoming you again,
Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    316
    210
    58
    23
See reviews for
108
158
61
282
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Australia
Top Contributor
896 reviews 896 reviews
131 hotel reviews
Reviews in 309 cities Reviews in 309 cities
1,915 helpful votes 1,915 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Unlike some of the other reviews, our stay here for two nights was actually good. Comfortable beds, clean rooms, good service and the food was not bad either. Good location with the shops, a few restaurants and supermarket right next door. We were on the 5th floor and heard no traffic noise through the double glazed windows. Our group would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense 5, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us,
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon,
Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Rooms are very small, bathroom you can hardly fit inside & an Internet that keeps cutting & asking for information & password every 2-3 minutes. Very frustrating indeed.
Paid € 205 per night for something worth less than € 60-80 at most.
Staff uncooperative & inattentive to concerns & requests.
After paying € 205 & get nervous breakdown from disconnecting Internet, next morning no breakfast as part of room fare. For a very simple breakfast that wouldn't quench any hunger you have to pay € 8!!!!!!!
The beauty of Paris simply spoiled by this stay.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense 5, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us,
We are sorry that you did not get what you have expected in the price, it seems that we need to better inform our guests about services provided in the prices.
Looking forward to welcome you again, we will do our best to make your stay a success,
Sincerely yours

La Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Now don't get me wrong - this is a perfectly serviceable hotel - and conveniently located for La Defense business locations. But it could be so much more!

Let's deal with the good things:
Room, whilst compact, was comfortable - the new bedding, especially the pillows - excellent. I had a privilege room - which really only means a few free soft drinks in the in-room fridge - a big deal is made of providing dressing gown, iPod base station, etc. - the sort of thing you'd expect anyway. But perfectly serviceable - and a big plus - in room safe - good piece of mind.

What detracts from this may seem fussy but when travelling for business (as I do a lot) I need somewhere to sit and work - the desk space was non-existent, with the desk area full of TV, iPod base and coffee facilities. The chair and table in the room too low and too 'uncomfortable' to use for long periods. No in room ironing equipment - had to go 7 floors down and use a communal room - no impossible, but not expected.

Restaurant provided a nice but limited menu - but didn't compel me to eat there again after the first night (I ate out second night).

And apart from 2 very helpful individuals, not much in the way of helping the non-French speaker - so struggled with certain services and requirements.

Like I said, this may sound picky - but for 2 nights it was "OK". Will stay here again soon and see if things change. We'll see.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense 5, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us,
We will do our best to give you better satisfaction next time,
We will reopen the restaurant soon with full dishes ...
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon,

Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoeselt, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I needed a room one day before departure, and although my first preference Pullmann was already fully booked, the Pullmann staff, being part of the Accor group, got me a room at the nearby Mercure hotel at a reasonable rate for such a short notice.

Upon arrival, the parking was not obviously located, and although fully secured the access to the hotel did feel uncomfortable and not well signed. Once in the hotel, it's interior felt a bit outdated or at least not Pullmann-class, but then again I was not paying Pullmann-prices. Check-in went quick and I was assigned a room on the top floor.

The room did not feel outdated and was very comfortable. The air conditioning allowed extreme temperatures, so my room was comfortably cooler than the hot outdoor city heat. There were enough power outlets, but I wish I had brought a small ethernet cable because the free internet had a bad reception in my room. Once aligned, speeds were acceptable though and I managed to get the last versions of my presentations set up.

In the room there was a free bottle of water. There was no minibar, but next to the check-in desk there was a 24h little shop set up with cooled drinks and snacks. I bought a can of pop and cooled it together in the little fridge in the room.

The bathroom with bathtub was clean and water pressure was good and warm. Soap and conditioner was available, although the twist-caps were a bit hard to open with wet hands.

Check-out was quick during morning traffic. I mentioned the parking was full secured, but noticed that I could open the main gate easily with pushing a button, and access to the parking lot by foot was not secured, so in essence anyone with enough time and curiosity could gain access to the parking and leave with any vehicle. He/she would need to pay to leave the parking, but both paying gates were open and therefore parking was free.

Room Tip: The fitness is on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense 5, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us, as they are very useful.
We are lokking forward to welcoming you again soon,
Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

First impression is always the most important. So when a terribly rude lady attended to us at check-in, I am sure that the stay would be our very first and probably the last as well. We reserved a suite for our family of four, with a double bed and a sofa bed. Objectively, the room is alright, except for the shower area. There is no curtain or screen at the bath and the toilet gets really wet and sticky after a shower. Breakfast at the restaurant was nice though. But the hotel is not at the most convenient location and we had to rely on the shuttle service to get to the nearest train station. Not recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense 5, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us
Be sure that we will do our best to make your next stay enjoyable,
Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Paris La Defense 5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris La Defense 5

Address: 18-30 rue Baudin | Place Charras, 92400 Courbevoie, La Defense, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense > Courbevoie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Courbevoie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris La Defense 5 4*
Number of rooms: 507
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Mercure Paris La Defense 5 se situe dans le quartier des affaires de La Defense, a seulement 10 minutes en metro du centre de Paris. Les chambres disposent de la climatisation, d'une television par satellite a ecran plat et d'un plateau de bienvenue. Certaines sont dotees d'une machine a expresso et d'un minibar avec des boissons gratuites. L'etablissement propose une connexion Wi-Fi illimitee gratuite ainsi qu'un service de navette entre l'hotel et la station de metro Grande Arche de la Defense. Vous pourrez profiter du centre de remise en forme ou du hammam puis vous detendre dans le bar de l'hotel. Le restaurant Le Bistrot de L'Echanson sert une cuisine francaise traditionnelle. Le Mercure Paris La Defense 5 possede des salles de reunions et un centre d'affaires. Il se trouve a seulement 10 minutes du Centre des nouvelles industries et technologies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Paris La Defense 5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris La Defense 5 Hotel Courbevoie
Mercure Hotel Courbevoie
Paris La Defense 5 Mercure

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Paris La Defense 5, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.