We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, close to the La Defense Business Area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Paris La Defense 5

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Paris La Defense 5 to your Saves list
Mercure Paris La Defense 5
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18-30 rue Baudin | Place Charras, 92400 Courbevoie, La Defense, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Courbevoie
Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, close to the La Defense Business Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Good hotel in relative quite area, which some shop / restaurants around. Taxi connection very good; but if you need to pay by AMEX call G7 Taxi. If you don't like taxi, you can use hotel bus to nearest RER (La Defense) for free. Sometimes you need to take more time, because bus quite busy.

9th floor: rooms are small, but clean; bathroom is very small - you play the game with door every time when you need to go to toilet; mini-bar is for free (juice; cola; 2x mineral water); room equipment is in general fine, except the TV which is not connected to hotel information system.

Other benefits: WiFi internet for free (via Orange)

Seem that interior of this hotel is under reconstruction (middle of January 2013); they are quite loud from early morning. Real nightmare are the elevators; during a busy morning you need several minutes to go from room to restaurant (breakfast) or lobby because the elevators are stopping on every floor. Parking place: 2 minutes walk from hotel; protected area in bigger garage complex.

Room Tip: Everything above 5th floor is fine and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense 5, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Sir,

We thank you for sharing your comments with us.

We have a plan of renovation of the elevators, they will be brand new in a few months (and faster as well!). The works should start very soon and we are looking forward to provide our guests a better service very quickly.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon,
Sincerely yours

The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    359
    234
    66
    24
See reviews for
126
186
65
316
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I have stayed a couple of times at Mercure. Slam bang in the business district with cosy rooms (in Europe, cosy means small :)) and an excellent buffet breakfast. Reasonable and good restaurants nearby. The room was well maintained and kept clean at all times. If i have to nitpick then it would be good to have a shower curtain so as to not mess up the floor with water while bathing. The shuttle service is a thoughtful addition and very regular. All in all, good value for money especially in a city like Paris.

Room Tip: Select a room that overlooks the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense 5, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us,
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay wihusuLooking forward to welcoming you again,

Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of our Trafalgar tour of Europe. The hotel was very clean and modern. The rooms were nice and the beds were comfortable.

It is not located in the heart of Paris, but is in la Defense, but with our guided tour, this did not matter to us. The area of la Defense is very safe, and we like that.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense 5, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us,
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us,
Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed n this hotel on our last 2 nights of our awesome trip. Thank goodness that the hotel didn't disappoint us and ruin our trip. The room was perfectly alright beside being a little small as we shared the room with 3 beds. The room was well cleaned thou and the room service was good. Breakfast was good when there's a long queue, the staff will serve us with good smile.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Responsable commercial at Mercure Paris La Defense 5, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us,
Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed here w/c 10th December for a 2 day business trip. The hotel is in a great location for La Defense, just 5 - 10 mins walk away. Inside the hotel the lobby and bar are average at best, modern but with a cold plastic feel. Strangely the corridor carpet on the room floors is absolutely horrendous, so bad it's worth mentioning - I can only imagine the hotel chose a selection of off cuts to keep costs down. My room was poor. Quite small and dingy and In desperate need of modernisation. The bathroom seemed clean but very old fashioned. The bed and the furniture were very 80's. Probably won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here unless you have to or unless you can get a really good rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Assistante de Direction at Mercure Paris La Defense 5, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time for sharing your comments with us. We are sorry that the decoration of the architecte did not suit you in all parts of the hotel. The hotel was totally refurbished from 2005 until last year. For the next decoration, we will keep your purpose in mind,

Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stay in the hotel from 28 Nov - 7 Dec. Was disappointed to find out that cash of SGD$250 dollar was remove from my wallet kept in my luggage. Understand that it is my responsibility to keep luggage lock, but feel disappointed, especially in such reputable hotel.

Bus service from Metro to Hotel after dark is unacceptable. Metro station waiting area is poorly lighted. Standing there in the dark is uneasy and dangerous. When the transport arrive, you can sense unhappiness of the driver. The short trip was rocky and hard braking was done throughout. Upon arrival at hotel, driver got down and slam the door shut, walking to hotel without even checking on us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Assistante de Direction at Mercure Paris La Defense 5, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Sir,

We would like to make an inquiry about your comments. Why did not you say anything at the hotel ? When did you notice that something was missing in your room ? Why did not you go to the Police station ? There is a safety deposit box in each bedroom. Please give us an answer as soon as possible ... Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mercure Paris La Defense 5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris La Defense 5

Address: 18-30 rue Baudin | Place Charras, 92400 Courbevoie, La Defense, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense > Courbevoie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Courbevoie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris La Defense 5 4*
Number of rooms: 507
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Mercure Paris La Defense 5 se situe dans le quartier des affaires de La Defense, a seulement 10 minutes en metro du centre de Paris. Les chambres disposent de la climatisation, d'une television par satellite a ecran plat et d'un plateau de bienvenue. Certaines sont dotees d'une machine a expresso et d'un minibar avec des boissons gratuites. L'etablissement propose une connexion Wi-Fi illimitee gratuite ainsi qu'un service de navette entre l'hotel et la station de metro Grande Arche de la Defense. Vous pourrez profiter du centre de remise en forme ou du hammam puis vous detendre dans le bar de l'hotel. Le restaurant Le Bistrot de L'Echanson sert une cuisine francaise traditionnelle. Le Mercure Paris La Defense 5 possede des salles de reunions et un centre d'affaires. Il se trouve a seulement 10 minutes du Centre des nouvelles industries et technologies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mercure Paris La Defense 5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris La Defense 5 Hotel Courbevoie
Mercure Hotel Courbevoie
Paris La Defense 5 Mercure

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Paris La Defense 5, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.