We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit dated, but overall not bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Paris La Defense 5

Save Saved
You added Mercure Paris La Defense 5 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mercure Paris La Defense 5
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18-30 rue Baudin | Place Charras, 92400 Courbevoie, La Defense, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 hotels in Courbevoie
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A bit dated, but overall not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The hotel is not very new and it shows. The rooms and beds are comfortable. The bathroom had some broken equipment. Nothing to important, but still something you notice.
On the first evening I had dinner in the brasserie and this was not an experience I would recommend. I had shrimp for starters and salmon as the main dish. Suffice to say that it was edible, but very dry and tasteless. The tarte tartin as desert was ok.
In the morning the breakfast was very crowded, so eat early when you are in a hurry. The scrambled eggs were bad.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense 5, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us,
Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    269
    166
    43
    21
See reviews for
67
124
58
229
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

OK room, OK breakfast, good wifi, way out of centre location. Nothing to get excited about. Nice bistro across the road and hotel backs onto a small suburban shopping centre. Very long walk to metro connection.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Assistante de Direction at Mercure Paris La Defense 5, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.
We have a shuttle inbetween the hotel and the metro station of LA DEFENSE, which can help you next time. (Ask for the schedules at the reception)

Looking forward to welcoming you soon again,
Sincerely yours,

The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iligan City, Philippines
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just like in Mercure Paris Parc Nanterre, our room in this hotel is very adequate with comfortable beds & all amenities. This time,breakfast was not included because it was too expensive. Anyway, McDonald's was just nearby, so no problem. The good thing about this hotel is their free shuttle
service to the nearest metro station & they even pick us up from there back to the hotel. It's really very helpful especially when we checked out & have to go to the airport.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense 5, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us,
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us,
Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldenzaal, Overijssel, Netherlands
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is located within 15 minutes walking distance from the Paris La Defense business district which makes it suitable for business stays. The hotel offers a free shuttle once every 15 minutes between the hotel and the La Defense bus station from where you can take the metro.

The rooms are not too big, but clean and nicely decorated. I found the room to be very hot in temperature though, even with the airconditioning set to +5 degrees Celcius (the lowest) at maximum speed.

Accross the hotel is a shopping street with quite a lot of restaurants, shops, a supermarket and a bakery. Ideal to go out for breakfast or dinner. Because of this ease, I haven't tried the hotel restaurant and/or breakfast. I would recommend Pizza King for dinner. It's located accross the street from the hotel within 5 minutes of walking (check Bing\Google maps for the exact location). They offer really good pizza for little money. It's just a pickup or delivery service though, so plan on getting the pizza and eating it in your room.

Do check out the night before you're planning on leaving since there can be immense queues at the reception in the morning. Also calculate 10 minutes extra time when wanting to take the elevator during rush hours in the morning and evening as it can take a long time before an elevator will finally stop at your floor.

From the Paris Du Nord train station and Paris airport the hotel is reachable by metro by going to the Paris La Defense metro stop. You will need to change metro lines at least once for it though. From the La Defense metro stop, you need to head for the bus stops underneath the offices where you will find one platform where the Mercure shuttle will stop. Its quite well hidden though, so you might be better of taking a taxi for the last part. It's only a 5 minute drive, so watch out for fake taxi drivers wanting to make a price agreement with you in advance (which is always way too high) and not using their taxi meters.

For tourists, this hotel might be a little less attractive since it's a bit further away from the majour touristic sites, although they are all reachable by taking the hotel shuttle to the metro and traveling onwards with the metro. Instead I would personally rather take a hotel closer to the city center.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense 5, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us, as you have a lot of useful information,

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon,
Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stop at the Mercure la defense 5 hotel for 1 night during our tour of Europe, the room was clean and modern, the beds were confortable, we have no complaints. We would go back. And i recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense 5, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us,
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us,
Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Like many leisure travelers, I booked through my 3 nights stay at Hotel Mercure - Paris La Defense 5 and pre-paid all my room expenses via agoda.com. On the date I checked out at 11:00am on October 22, 2012, I couldn't believe the staff at the reception desk required me to pay extra (~70 euro) room rate and said that she had to charge me because my rate from last night raised.

I was so surprised, as nowhere in the world I travelled, a hotel can charge you extra for the room rate after everything has been agreed on during check-in. I asked her to explain why and she simply couldn't and wouldn't want to find out why and just kept on saying "you have to extra". I found such experience to be outrageous and stood my ground. The argument continued until her manager, Anne Ebelin, saw us arguing and finally asked her staff to clarify with the team at the office.

Upon the staff returned from the office, she simply said "You don't need to pay. Just leave". I found such reply to be utterly unprofessional and she offered no explanation. I saw her name tag is "Emmanuelle", who is supposed to be proficient in English and French. When I asked her last name for reference. She simply said "No, I don't want to give it to you". After a few more minutes, the manager, Anne Ebelin, finally asked me to move over to explain the situation, saying that the hotel only exchanged about two transactions every year with agoda.com, unlike the volume they do with expedia.com. The increase in room rate should be recharged to agoda.com, not me, the customer.

With this experience at this hotel, there are two things that I found to be extremely unprofessional:
1. They attempted very hard to charge people extra cost on the room rate, after the customer had pre-paid everything online.
2. The reason of doing little transaction with a particular online agency does not offer sufficient reason for offering the worst type of customer service. If they prefer to do business via expedia.com, then Mercure, or Accords, should delist themselves from all other online agencies.

It's just the type of customer service at least at this location is simply not acceptable. I would NOT RECOMMEND such place to any travallers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Assistante de Direction at Mercure Paris La Defense 5, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for taking the time to explain your experience with us, and we are very sorry for what happened at your check-out. This should not happen and of course, the problem of the room rate is not your problem as far as you have already paid the whole package with your agency.

Please accept our sincere apologies and be sure that we will do our best to make you have a wonderful memory of Paris next time,

Sincerely yours,

The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The good news: modern hotel, great restaurant (breakfast was amazing!), friendly service, clean. The bad news: private parking too far and hard to get to and from (the elevator was so small that I had to stand over my bag), no working A/C on a 22C/75F degree day, no shower curtain and no wash cloth (that is somewhat typical for EU). I would expect a bit more for the price...

Room Tip: Don't bring your rental car into Paris!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Assistante de Direction at Mercure Paris La Defense 5, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for sharing your comments with us

We will do our best next time to make your stay much enjoyable,

Sincerely yours,

The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Paris La Defense 5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris La Defense 5

Also Known As:
Mercure Paris La Defense 5 Hotel Courbevoie
Mercure Paris La Defense 5 Hotel
Mercure Hotel Courbevoie
Paris La Defense 5 Mercure
Address: 18-30 rue Baudin | Place Charras, 92400 Courbevoie, La Defense, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense > Courbevoie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 hotels in Courbevoie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris La Defense 5 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Mercure Paris La Defense 5 se situe dans le quartier des affaires de La Defense, a seulement 10 minutes en metro du centre de Paris. Les chambres disposent de la climatisation, d'une television par satellite a ecran plat et d'un plateau de bienvenue. Certaines sont dotees d'une machine a expresso et d'un minibar avec des boissons gratuites. L'etablissement propose une connexion Wi-Fi illimitee gratuite ainsi qu'un service de navette entre l'hotel et la station de metro Grande Arche de la Defense. Vous pourrez profiter du centre de remise en forme ou du hammam puis vous detendre dans le bar de l'hotel. Le restaurant Le Bistrot de L'Echanson sert une cuisine francaise traditionnelle. Le Mercure Paris La Defense 5 possede des salles de reunions et un centre d'affaires. Il se trouve a seulement 10 minutes du Centre des nouvelles industries et technologies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, ACCOR and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Mercure Paris La Defense 5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Paris La Defense 5, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.