We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for business stays” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Paris La Defense 5

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Paris La Defense 5 to your Saves list
Mercure Paris La Defense 5
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18-30 rue Baudin | Place Charras, 92400 Courbevoie, La Defense, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Courbevoie
Oldenzaal, Overijssel, Netherlands
Level Contributor
147 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good for business stays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is located within 15 minutes walking distance from the Paris La Defense business district which makes it suitable for business stays. The hotel offers a free shuttle once every 15 minutes between the hotel and the La Defense bus station from where you can take the metro.

The rooms are not too big, but clean and nicely decorated. I found the room to be very hot in temperature though, even with the airconditioning set to +5 degrees Celcius (the lowest) at maximum speed.

Accross the hotel is a shopping street with quite a lot of restaurants, shops, a supermarket and a bakery. Ideal to go out for breakfast or dinner. Because of this ease, I haven't tried the hotel restaurant and/or breakfast. I would recommend Pizza King for dinner. It's located accross the street from the hotel within 5 minutes of walking (check Bing\Google maps for the exact location). They offer really good pizza for little money. It's just a pickup or delivery service though, so plan on getting the pizza and eating it in your room.

Do check out the night before you're planning on leaving since there can be immense queues at the reception in the morning. Also calculate 10 minutes extra time when wanting to take the elevator during rush hours in the morning and evening as it can take a long time before an elevator will finally stop at your floor.

From the Paris Du Nord train station and Paris airport the hotel is reachable by metro by going to the Paris La Defense metro stop. You will need to change metro lines at least once for it though. From the La Defense metro stop, you need to head for the bus stops underneath the offices where you will find one platform where the Mercure shuttle will stop. Its quite well hidden though, so you might be better of taking a taxi for the last part. It's only a 5 minute drive, so watch out for fake taxi drivers wanting to make a price agreement with you in advance (which is always way too high) and not using their taxi meters.

For tourists, this hotel might be a little less attractive since it's a bit further away from the majour touristic sites, although they are all reachable by taking the hotel shuttle to the metro and traveling onwards with the metro. Instead I would personally rather take a hotel closer to the city center.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense 5, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us, as you have a lot of useful information,

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon,
Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    366
    241
    67
    24
See reviews for
131
188
65
321
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stop at the Mercure la defense 5 hotel for 1 night during our tour of Europe, the room was clean and modern, the beds were confortable, we have no complaints. We would go back. And i recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense 5, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us,
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us,
Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Like many leisure travelers, I booked through my 3 nights stay at Hotel Mercure - Paris La Defense 5 and pre-paid all my room expenses via agoda.com. On the date I checked out at 11:00am on October 22, 2012, I couldn't believe the staff at the reception desk required me to pay extra (~70 euro) room rate and said that she had to charge me because my rate from last night raised.

I was so surprised, as nowhere in the world I travelled, a hotel can charge you extra for the room rate after everything has been agreed on during check-in. I asked her to explain why and she simply couldn't and wouldn't want to find out why and just kept on saying "you have to extra". I found such experience to be outrageous and stood my ground. The argument continued until her manager, Anne Ebelin, saw us arguing and finally asked her staff to clarify with the team at the office.

Upon the staff returned from the office, she simply said "You don't need to pay. Just leave". I found such reply to be utterly unprofessional and she offered no explanation. I saw her name tag is "Emmanuelle", who is supposed to be proficient in English and French. When I asked her last name for reference. She simply said "No, I don't want to give it to you". After a few more minutes, the manager, Anne Ebelin, finally asked me to move over to explain the situation, saying that the hotel only exchanged about two transactions every year with agoda.com, unlike the volume they do with expedia.com. The increase in room rate should be recharged to agoda.com, not me, the customer.

With this experience at this hotel, there are two things that I found to be extremely unprofessional:
1. They attempted very hard to charge people extra cost on the room rate, after the customer had pre-paid everything online.
2. The reason of doing little transaction with a particular online agency does not offer sufficient reason for offering the worst type of customer service. If they prefer to do business via expedia.com, then Mercure, or Accords, should delist themselves from all other online agencies.

It's just the type of customer service at least at this location is simply not acceptable. I would NOT RECOMMEND such place to any travallers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Assistante de Direction at Mercure Paris La Defense 5, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for taking the time to explain your experience with us, and we are very sorry for what happened at your check-out. This should not happen and of course, the problem of the room rate is not your problem as far as you have already paid the whole package with your agency.

Please accept our sincere apologies and be sure that we will do our best to make you have a wonderful memory of Paris next time,

Sincerely yours,

The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The good news: modern hotel, great restaurant (breakfast was amazing!), friendly service, clean. The bad news: private parking too far and hard to get to and from (the elevator was so small that I had to stand over my bag), no working A/C on a 22C/75F degree day, no shower curtain and no wash cloth (that is somewhat typical for EU). I would expect a bit more for the price...

Room Tip: Don't bring your rental car into Paris!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Assistante de Direction at Mercure Paris La Defense 5, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for sharing your comments with us

We will do our best next time to make your stay much enjoyable,

Sincerely yours,

The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We had a great time to stay there, got upgraded the room with the views (we could see the Eiffel Tower from our room). The best value with best quality! Free mini bar, coffee maker, shuttle bus from the hotel to La Defense station (or you can walk, it's not that far).

We absolutely come back to the hotel again for next time!!!!!!

Room Tip: If you travel by yourself or a couple & aren't fassy with the huge space, the room is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Assistante de Direction at Mercure Paris La Defense 5, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guests,

We thank you very much for sharing your comments with us

It is a pleasure for us to read your appreciation,

Looking forward to welcoming you again

Sincerely yours,

The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is a very comfortable hotel. The bed was comfortable and the layout was roomy. My only quible is with the shower. With all the showers in Europe really. All the showers I saw in Europe seem to only have a shower door that covers half the tub...which means the water goes on the floor if you're not hovering in the corner to avoid that...which means it's uncomfortable. Other than that, the hotel is great! Breakfast was ok. The bar and restauruant are very cute and modern. The restaurant does not serve food all day, which was a bummer for us. The room overlooked the street and there is a lot going on. Overall, I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Assistante de Direction at Mercure Paris La Defense 5, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing your comments with us about your last stay at the Mercure Paris La Défense 5.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon,
Sincerely yours

The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The hotel looks fairly far from central Paris on a map, but it's a quick metro ride to the La Defense metro stop. If you follow directions on the hotel website, you will figure out where to go in the metro for the shuttle-call-phone. The shuttle will come pick you up and drop you off at the metro stop free of charge. There are limited hours that the shuttle runs, but it is a nice service. It takes 15 minutes to walk, or a 10 Euro cab ride to get to the hotel from the metro if you cannot get the shuttle. The hotel lobby is nicely decorated, and it seems that some rooms are undergoing a redecoration, although our room had not yet been remodeled. We really didn't stay in the room at all except to sleep and to shower and the room was very clean (my main concern when traveling). Wifi worked well and was free, and there is parking available for a fee. We did not try any of the food, so I cannot comment on that. The best part of the hotel was the price. We paid under $100 a night for two people at the beginning of September. I would stay again if I could get a similar price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Assistante de Direction at Mercure Paris La Defense 5, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing your comments with us about your last stay at the Mercure Paris La Défense 5.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon,
Sincerely yours

The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courbevoie
0.5 mi away
Novotel Paris La Defense
Novotel Paris La Defense
#7 of 41 in La Defense
4.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Paris La Defense
Melia Paris La Defense
#1 of 17 in Courbevoie
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel & Residence Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residhome Parc du Millenaire
Residhome Parc du Millenaire
#6 of 17 in Courbevoie
3.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Paris La Defense
Pullman Paris La Defense
#4 of 41 in La Defense
4.0 of 5 stars 823 reviews
7.8 mi away
Novotel Paris Est
Novotel Paris Est
#2 of 6 in Bagnolet
3.5 of 5 stars 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Paris La Defense 5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris La Defense 5

Address: 18-30 rue Baudin | Place Charras, 92400 Courbevoie, La Defense, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense > Courbevoie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Courbevoie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris La Defense 5 4*
Number of rooms: 507
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Mercure Paris La Defense 5 se situe dans le quartier des affaires de La Defense, a seulement 10 minutes en metro du centre de Paris. Les chambres disposent de la climatisation, d'une television par satellite a ecran plat et d'un plateau de bienvenue. Certaines sont dotees d'une machine a expresso et d'un minibar avec des boissons gratuites. L'etablissement propose une connexion Wi-Fi illimitee gratuite ainsi qu'un service de navette entre l'hotel et la station de metro Grande Arche de la Defense. Vous pourrez profiter du centre de remise en forme ou du hammam puis vous detendre dans le bar de l'hotel. Le restaurant Le Bistrot de L'Echanson sert une cuisine francaise traditionnelle. Le Mercure Paris La Defense 5 possede des salles de reunions et un centre d'affaires. Il se trouve a seulement 10 minutes du Centre des nouvelles industries et technologies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Mercure Paris La Defense 5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris La Defense 5 Hotel Courbevoie
Mercure Hotel Courbevoie
Paris La Defense 5 Mercure

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Paris La Defense 5, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.