We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is a joke” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Select Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Select Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Select Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   66 Avenue Du General Leclerc, 92100 Boulogne-Billancourt, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up To -30% Off Room Rate
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“This hotel is a joke”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Paying this price for a jail cell… I’m used to the Parisian hotel format, but this one was probably the worst I’ve seen so far…

Hotel is noisy, my neighbour’s alarm clock was always there to wake me up in the morning, it can be convenient if you don’t have one, but can also be annoying when it starts ringing a few hours before you planned to wake-up…

Rooms were probably last refurbished in the 70’s/80’s. The carpet doesn’t look welcoming and you can’t envisage walking barefoot on it except if you want to catch some mushrooms.

Breakfast is poor; very limited choice, people are not really nice.

If you can, avoid this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    18
    21
    4
See reviews for
4
15
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed here for four nights and we will never be going back, the hotel is inherently unsafe. It has a single staircase, which is the only means of escape, running straight through the centre of the building from top to bottom with no fire or smoke doors. We found bed linen and towels left on our landing, constituting a fire hazard, and the smoke detector in our room was bound round with masking tape. In the event of a fire and the staircase becoming unusable the only way out is to call for help from the bedroom window and wait for the fire brigade.

Apart from all of the above the hotel is extremely over-priced. Our room faced onto the street so it was very noisy, the room was always hot (the air condition can be made to work but is very poor and the housekeepers switch it off if you leave it running during the day). The Metro runs under the street outside and we could feel the vibration of the trains passing.

The only upside to the whole holiday was that there is an excellent little FranPrix supermarket opposite where you can buy things for lunch etc. as well as drinks to put in the mini-bar fridge (no-one in their right mind would pay the prices that the hotel was asking for their drinks).

Room Tip: There are some rooms on the ground floor to the back of the hotel in an annex, these may be better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed for two nights to attend the Roland Garros. The hotel is conveniently located near the Billancourt metro and provide very easy access to the Roland Garros. The bed in the room was very comfortable. The receptionists speak good English and are friendly. I am happy to report that the renovation that people complained about have been completed. The hallways still smell like fresh paint, but the rooms do not. However, sound insulation in this hotel is non-existence. You can hear everything. No kidding: I actually got woken up one morning by people snoring next door. The room was clean, but there does not seem to be any shower curtains?! The housekeeping people did not leave me clean towels after taking away the dirty ones.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed for one night (Sunday/Monday). Will start with all the positives.
On arrival (by car) finding the hotel was easy and secure parking very good. The staff are all very polite and helpful. Checking in process was very quick.
Our room was on the fifth floor overlooking the main road, room was very clean and bathroom very clean as well. Bed was comfortable and street noise was barely heard with window closed.
The negatives, windows have more sound proofing than the walls, you can hear your neighbours talking (luckily they stopped talking early). Also squeaky floorboards and finally a shower curtain for shower would be handy, but not a real problem.

Yes would stay here again for a short trip as it was ideal for Roland Garros. Also metro station is 50m away and your only 20 min from Central Paris.

Room Tip: Had room 55 on the fifth floor overlooking main road. Can't hear road noise with window shut.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

When I read a review from February 2014 that the hotel was being renovated, I kept my reservation, assuming that the renovations would be complete 2 months later. I was wrong. On every floor, the carpets were torn up and "fresh paint" signs up. This coupled with the dated decor, lack of air conditioning, and non-functioning fridge leads me to recommend to anyone to stay elsewhere. There is a nice Ibis only 1/2 block away that was recommended by friends that live in that neighborhood. If you must stay in Boulogne, do not stay at the Best Western.

Room Tip: Some of the double rooms have a shower while other have VERY SMALL BATHTUBS with a hand held shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

where can i start? with the fact that decorating was taking place on this floor so there is a strong smell? the shabby room furniture? barely functional shower? nasty reception and poor welcome? useless aircon?my ONLY positive is free wifi. Mean bathroom soaps and lotions? noisy?
Paris hotels are generally poor value for money, but this is a small suburb representing a major chain, it should be a a lot better for the money. I travel for business every week and this is a terrible hotel. service is unfriendly and suspicious,

Room Tip: go to the Radisson Blu down the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

In a nutshell: I booked a room, but instead I found myself sleeping in a construction site, having my worst hotel experience ever.

This hotel is under complete renovation, all the floors are under refurbishment and they indeed are closer to a building site than a hospitality facility: dust everywehere, cables and wires hanging from the ceiling, dirt, bad smell. The smell of paint coming from the corridors into the rooms was simply sickening and made my stay a torture. All the basic "comfort requisites" of any hotel were simply missing, so it is really impossible to give to this hotel a positive review.

I think it is simply unfair to keep this hotel open while refurbishment works are under way in the whole building, and it is even more unethical not to inform the customer during the booking process. I would have chosen a different one if I was aware of what I would have found there.

The worst part is they charged a ridiculously high price for this: 300 euros for two nights (breakfast not included) to sleep in that mess. Simply out of this world.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Select Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Select Hotel

Address: 66 Avenue Du General Leclerc, 92100 Boulogne-Billancourt, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > Boulogne-Billancourt
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Boulogne-Billancourt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Select Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Select Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Boulogne Billancourt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Select Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.