We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why did I bother.....” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Dudsbury Pub

The Dudsbury Pub
218 Christchurch Rd, West Parley BH22 8SS, England
+44 1202 578911
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $27
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Good quality british pub food in a relaxed and informal atmosphere.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Why did I bother.....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I booked a table at the Dudsbury for 6.30pm on Tuesday 4 Feb 2014. On arrival a nice young lady showed us to a table in a rather empty looking restaurant. Starting to get a bit worried as the sign outside the pub said 2 main meals for £12.00. Why was only one table other than us occupied. The restaurant was cold , so much so that the waiter gave us a fan heater to keep us warm. When the food arrived the pasta was cold , over cooked and a sauce very bland.

The fish cakes, we asked to have the white wine sauce in a jug to one side. It arrived with cold sauce all over it. The waiter did offer to replace it but, this would mean that we would not all be eating as a family. Over the time we were at the Dudsbury only one other table for two was taken. Just shows you no matter the price people will stay away if the food is not good. Much better pubs near by. Try the Angel or Fox & Hounds. Don't even bother going to the Dudsbury.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    19
    16
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our roast beef lunch, good portion size, hot and very tasty. Service very good and nothing to much trouble. Looking forward to returning in the near future, would recommend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lunch time fixed price menu FANTASTIC value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Home made food& great staff what more could you ask for, love the lunchtime fixed price menu, it was a Monday lunch and couldn't understand why they weren't busier with food on offer like this , I had the smoked haddock risotto ,both courses were cooked to absolute perfection I can't wait for next Monday (it's the only day off I get or I'd visit more often) I'm going to eat my way through the whole menu!!! Love it !

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent meal out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Recently visited The Dudsbury for dinner one evening and firstly I was very impressed with the range of food they have on the menu. I ordered a sirloin steak rare and my other half had the Shepard's Pie and both meals were delicious, the meat was cooked to perfection. The staff were also friendly and the general atmosphere was enjoyable. Definitely one to visit!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“food bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Tried revisiting this restaurant after a 6 month break, love the warmth and cosyness but were very unhappy with the food, we ordered garlic brad for starters which was fine 2 ribeye steaks medium to well, both came totally different sizes one was cooked, they other seeping blood, sent this one back to be cooked as requested and it came back much the same with blood again. these ribeyes were £20.00 each so expect to get them cooked as requested, and both same size. We then ordered desert one of our party had the cheeseboard which was so disappointing a few crackers no grapes or fruit and the tiniest bits of cheddar and blue vein cheese. £7.50 for this and it was an insult. Dont know whats going on here used to be very good but total disappointment. Same management. It was a Saturday night and the restaurant and pub was virtually empty. The restaurant was also very cold.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dudsbury Pub also viewed

 
Ferndown, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to The Dudsbury Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dudsbury Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.