We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and dated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Campanile Saint-Dizier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Campanile Saint-Dizier to your Saves list
Campanile Saint-Dizier
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Mail Roland Garros | Avenue Raoul Laurent, 52100 St-Dizier, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
ADDITIONAL 10€ DISCOUNT
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in St-Dizier
North West UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Tired and dated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

Stayed here when cycling solo from Lancashire to Sicily in May 2014.
Located out of town, this Campanile was tired and dated and not particularly clean. Worse, the walls were paper thin resting in a poor night's sleep due to noisy neighbours.
The good, standard Campanile buffet dinner and breakfast stopped the review being worse!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathieu B, Gérant at Campanile Saint-Dizier, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
Google Translation
Cher client,

Nous vous remercions de nous avoir fait partager votre vision de notre établissement.Nous avons le souci de la satisfaction du bien-être de nos clients et prenons note de vos commentaires. En effet nos chambres sont quelques peu vieillissantes mais fonctionnelles et nous mettons tout en œuvre pour assurer la propreté de celles-ci.

Sachez que je vais alerter mes équipes sur ce point et nous allons mettre en place un contrôle plus rigoureux pour éviter que je genre de situation reviennent à nouveau.

En espérant vous revoir dans notre établissement,

Cordialement,
Mathieu B
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    24
    20
    14
    2
See reviews for
9
34
4
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
reading
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

Our first stay in a Campanile - this one is not the usual modern block, but more attractive on the outside. Small but adequate accommodation but ultra modern 'LeRestaurant' has great service and surprisingly good food.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

Sorry but those who have given this hotel a good review must have been staying some where else.

Check in was friendly but we were given a double room when a twin was booked by internet. We were told no twin available but when showed the booking it suddenly was available.

The room was very small with 2 beds of different heights, and very lumpy pillows, it smelt of cigarette smoke although it was a non-smoking room. The decoration could do with a lick of paint, not sure if the paint was meant to be nicotine coloured or not. The towels in the bathroom were damp and grey.

All that said it was clean and the bed linen was fine.

We had booked dinner, there was a choice of starter or desert plus a main course and drink. The starters and deserts were buffet and were fine although slow to be replenished. Omelette and chips were OK, as was the chicken, swordfish was very dry.

Breakfast again was very slow to be replenished and the server was quite grumpy. Not a good start to the day.

Rooms out the back fairly quiet but some road noise if in front facing rooms.

We only stayed one night, and that was enough. OK if you can get a really cheap deal, but otherwise I would steer clear.

Room Tip: Keep a copy of your internet booking to prove the room type you have booked. Rooms outy the back hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

stopped off on second night stop from south of france to Eurotunnel. clean and warm rooms with a convenient and good restaurant. Good selection, good quality at reasonable price. Staff very pleasant and helpful,. It is in a built up area so expect some traffic noise. parking is good and right outside the room. The hair drier in our room wasn't working. I would return, but would prefer a more rural location.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms best if you have mobility problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier B, Directeur général at Campanile Saint-Dizier, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks to have taken the time to post your comments.
Hope to see you again in the CAMPANILE of Saint Dizier or in another Hotel of our Group LOUVRE HOTELS (CAMPANILE, KYRIAD or PREMIERE CLASSE).

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We arrived here in the rain after 14 hours on a coach. Although the hotel seemed ill prepared for the arrival of 50 guests they pulled out all the stops. Kitchen staff helped with our luggage. The room was small but clean with a bath! initially the restaurant was packed with another coach party so we had to wait 30 mins or so for dinner. By now it was well after ten so I wasn't expecting much. I did mention I was a veggie thinking it is probably too late. I was given an enormous egg salad with lots of rocket, lettuce and carrots, it was delicious. The rest had a huge slice of quiche with salad we thought that was our main. Next was chicken and jacket potato for most so I just had the spud followed by a gorgeous chocolate desert. It was so delicious. Breakfast. next day was at 6am and was equally. as good. After a week of eating packet croissants ,hard rolls and drinking tepid coffee from a machine in Italy, it was a delight to have fresh coffee and croissants. The staff were helpful and friendly and a big thankyou to them all.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier B, Directeur général at Campanile Saint-Dizier, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Google Translation
Cher Client,
Un grand merci pour vos compliments que je ne manquerais pas de transmettre à toute mon équipe.
C'est avec plaisir que nous vous recevrons à nouveau dans notre établissement.

Olivier B.
Directeur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We arrived on one of the hottest days of the year (the car's thermometer read 43 degrees!). Our room had no air conditioning and was stifling. It was very dated and much smaller to the family rooms we usually stay in in the UK. We had to go and ask for extra pillows and even towels. Despite the room being a let-down the restaurant was very pleasant. It was clean and airy and our food was very nice both in the evening and next morning at breakfast. However because of the state of the room we will not be choosing Campanile again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier B, Directeur général at Campanile Saint-Dizier, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Google Translation
Cher client,

Je vous remercie pour votre commentaire et pour vos compliments sur notre restaurant, j'en ferais part à mon équipe.
Vous avez raison, nos chambres ne sont pas des chambres familiales mais pour bien pour deux personnes et je vous l'accorde, cette année le mois d'aout a été particulièrement très chaud.
Vous auriez du nous en faire part immédiatement, nous aurions pu vous donner une chambre à l'arrière non exposée au soleil, où il faisait plus frais.

A propos des serviettes et oreillers, nos normes de mise en place comme dans la majorité des hôtels en France sont deux draps de bains et deux oreillers, plus un troisième oreiller dans le placard, mais c'est avec plaisir que nous vous avons donné un quatrième oreiller et deux autres draps de bain à votre demande.

J'espère en tout cas que ces désagréments ne vous empêcheront pas de revenir à nouveau nous visiter ou d'autres hôtels de notre Groupe.

Bien cordialement.

Olivier B.
Directeur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhaven, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

A typical Campanile with usual standards but rooms are poorly ventilated and, with half the rooms exposed to the full sun during the day, air conditioning should be a necessity.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel that will have been in the shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Campanile Saint-Dizier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Saint-Dizier

Address: 31 Mail Roland Garros | Avenue Raoul Laurent, 52100 St-Dizier, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Champagne-Ardenne > Haute-Marne > St-Dizier
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in St-Dizier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Saint-Dizier 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Campanile Saint-Dizier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campanile Saint-Dizier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.