We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel ibis budget Macon sud

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel ibis budget Macon sud to your Saves list
Hotel ibis budget Macon sud
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   509 Rue Jacquard | RN 6, 71000 Macon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Macon
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We chose this based on the reviews for a cheap stop off in Macon on the drive up through France.

I assumed that Ibis would have a basic level, that even their budget range would meet. That is not the case.

The rooms were dirty, the beds were foam on ply-wood and unbelievably uncomfortable.
It was a terrible night's sleep, and actually given the quality of the place , it is over priced.
This is the worst hotel I have stayed in, and I have stayed in many much better and cheaper hostels.
Avoid it if you can!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    150
    43
    9
    2
See reviews for
90
96
20
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The Ibis is situated in the semi industrial area, and easy to find only a few minutes from the Highway.
The accommodation is basic and clean with a small TV and plugs to charge once cell phone and Table. The free WiFi allows one to cash up with home in the comfort of once room.
Ibis also provided its own WiFi music with the iPhone App. This gave us some background music.
The breakfast was basic and to the point with real fresh coffee beans been grounded as you wait.
It was easy to book and we paid with Credit Card. The fact that they require you to use electronic
payment prevents to a great extent the room been used for short term sex workers. There is a restaurant attached as well as vending machines. If you are traveling and a require a clean bed, clean Bathroom Shower, clean building, good service and a quick breakfast, then this is it The low price also helps.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Clean comfortable rooms, easy check in and check out, free Wifi in the bedrooms. Couldn't eat there as it was a Sunday but there is a place over the road. Good stopover on the way to the Alpes or the South coast.

Room Tip: Front rooms face road. Very quiet at the back until 7am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cormatin, France
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Ever since the first time I heard the expression "you get what you pay for" it rubbed me the wrong way. And this hotel is living proof that it's wrong. From the moment I arrived, I was astounded by how outstanding and unusual this hotel was in terms of service. Angélique, the very friendly young woman at the reception desk, greeted me with a genuine smile and concern for my stay. She was so helpful and kind I was completely astounded. I have stayed in numerous 4 and 5-star hotels in France and have NEVER had anyone at reception be as welcoming and efficient as Angélique (except at the Georges V in Paris). But, yeah, the Georges V costs more than 5x than this Ibis Budget... I needed a cheap hotel for one night in Macon that had secure parking, WiFi, and accepted dogs. This place completely delivered, EXCEPT the WiFi. It took me over half an hour to get the WiFi to work (but again, Angélique was stellar and even waited on hold for ages with customer service at their internet service provider) and this was not the hotel's fault (except for their poor choice of Orange as ISP, Orange is the worst in France, but that's another story). Angélique was extremely apologetic about the problem and offered me a complimentary hot beverage to ease the pain of the hassle. Once I was connected, it was the slowest connection I have ever experienced, which made my work difficult, but again, this was not the fault of Ibis, but Orange. Otherwise, the room was small but perfectly clean, had everything I needed, and my dog felt at ease immediately. The breakfast was very inexpensive and more than adequate for the price, and the coffee was particularly tasty. I wouldn't recommend having a holiday here, but for my needs, it was almost perfect (a faster internet connection would have made it absolutely perfect).

Room Tip: I asked to be on the ground floor so it would make it easier to take my dog out, and Angélique happi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Gloucestershire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here for one night en route to Provence. We wanted a budget hotel that allowed us to break the journey and get a night's sleep without incurring a high cost. This Ibis was inexpensive, though - strangely - more expensive than the higher rated Ibis Style we stayed in the previous night in northern France.

The room reminded me of a youth hostel, so don't expect any frills. However, it was clean and the beds were reasonably comfortable. Having a third bed in the form of a bunk at right angles to the other beds saved space and pleased our son.

The air conditioning was barely adequate but we had no complaints about the bathroom.

We can't comment about the standard of the restaurant because we didn't stop for breakfast, preferring a croissant and coffee at the roadside.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
expat The Hague
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Check address and GPS input carefully otherwise you could arrive at the more up-market Ibis (sic) with piscine down the road!

We were en route from Costa Blanca.

No longer Etap this Ibis Budget version has hotel rooms like cabins on a DFDS/Stena ferry but they are clean and have novel showers with blue/red LED lights. Cool!

Room included a right angled bunk bed over a double, so slept three for EUR51.00. Plus breakfast at EUR5.56 pp.

Plenty of parking with CCTV.

Outside terrace dining with lovely sunset views over warehouses across the adjacent N6.

Salmon salad, entrecôte, creme brûlée, tarte au citron and a cheese plate washed down with Pays d'Oc rose was a relaxing way to finish heavy day's driving.

Free WiFi - well done Ibis!

All-in-all excellent value for money but please would Ibis improve signage from motorway and/or add Lat/Long coordinates for GPS as navigation round the industrial estates is not easy on first visit or at night.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel ibis budget Macon sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Macon sud

Address: 509 Rue Jacquard | RN 6, 71000 Macon, France
Location: France > Burgundy > Saone-et-Loire > Macon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Macon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Macon sud 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Macon sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel ibis budget Macon sud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.