We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, good menu and excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Pierre

Restaurant Pierre
7-9 rue Dufour, 71000 Macon, France
03 85 38 14 23
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 130 Restaurants in Macon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $36 - $142
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value, good menu and excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Seasonal menu - with high quality ingredients and tasted and looked great. Food arrived promptly and the service is attentive but not intrusive. Great value for money and worth a second or third visit.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    31
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Silver City, New Mexico
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Food inviting-service rude!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

It was hard for me to even give them an average rating simply because Isabelle, the chef/owner's wife and hostess, server, & supposed sommelier, was not at all friendly nor helpful with the meal or wine pairing. Since they have an English website and we'd read some reviews that indicated menus were available in English (none were offered to us) we assumed they welcomed non-French speakers. Hardly. We've dined in France many years and always were able, with a bit of effort on both our parts, to communicate our menu choices to our hosts but she made absolutely no attempt to even slow down her French nor make us feel comfortable or wanted. Too bad because the food was creative, presentation lovely, building and fire in the fireplace charming and the small treats in between courses delightful. But to top off her rude dinner service, the cheese course is not a selection brought to your table like most French restaurants but a machine gun verbal list that not 10% of her French customers would likely understand so we asked her to choose for us and she brought 2 servings of goat cheese so we did not even get to taste 2 different cheeses. There were 4 other couples there and it seemed they were trying to hurry us out so they could give all their attention to a table of 12 that showed up mid dinner. We even ran out of water and had to ask which does not satisfy my idea of a 1 star Michelin. Our recommendation would be to take your business elsewhere or speak fast, fluent French and don't take too much time enjoying your meal!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sand Springs, Oklahoma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful last evening meal of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Based on reviews, we selected this restaurant for our last evening meal of a ten day trip. Several multi-course meal options are available as well as ala carte. However, they serve many extras throughout the meal. Perhaps some would say they were nothing special, but for those who have never experienced such a meal, it was exceptional. I have travelled extensively and certainly have never experienced anything like it. Inside - very pleasant setting, but a bit warm. Outside seating is available, however, being on a side street it is not very attractive. Excellent service, some English. The menu had just changed so it was not available in English, but usually is. $US350 for 5, Coke/water only. An excellent place after a stroll through Macon.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Amazing good experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

I visit Macon every year with 2 of my 'grown-up' sons to collect wine from a couple of vineyards in the region. The first year we happened upon Pierre walking back from the square to our hotel and booked a table for later that evening. Since then we have returned each year and it has become a highlight off our trip. The food has always been exceptionally good. The service is perfect and the atmosphere always in keeping with a fine restaurant. We have tried various menus and dishes but for me their specilaity soufflé stands out. We will be returning once again in Sept for our usual treat and cannot recommend this restaurant too highly. It is not cheap but excellent value for money.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A lucky find! - first-class food with value to match.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

We arrived in Mâcon on a cold, grey, miserable day and were wending our way to the Tourist Office to get a list of restaurants. Unfortunately the office turned ot to be closed for lunch. Looking around to ask someone for advice we spotted an elderly gentleman with a shopping bag. From experience, elderly gentlemen are usually knowledgeable people in local matters (as opposed to under 30s who gape at you with blank eyes when asked for the simplest piece of information) and our faith was fully justified. He directed us to 'Restaurant Pierre' up a side street just a few steps away. And what a revelation! Food, service, ambiance and value were unbeatable. We had the three course 'Menu d'affaires' which included wine and coffee for Euros30 per head. The entrée consisted of three tasty small dishes; the main dish was three different pieces of fish accompanied little heaps of mashed potato (including sweet potato) in a lovely sauce; the dessert was Tiramisu with tasty sweetmeats on the side. Yet more sweetmeats;accompanied the coffee and everything was beautifully presented. And the ambiance was excellent - a pleasant low key buzz of converation from the various tables with none of the tiresome, echoing acoustics which mar so many places. Mâcon is not the most exciting of towns but 'Restaurant Pierre' is worth the journey.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Pierre also viewed

Macon, Saone-et-Loire
 
Macon, Saone-et-Loire
Macon, Saone-et-Loire
 

Been to Restaurant Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Pierre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.