We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Suprise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Saint Regis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Saint Regis to your Saves list
Saint Regis
22 Bd De La Republique, FR-71100 Chalon-sur-Saone, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Saint Regis)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Chalon-sur-Saone
Kildare
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice Suprise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

stopped ober on a business trip, found the hotel to be ver old traditional french style, rooms very dated but large, comfortable and clean, the best suprise was the restaurant, excellent quality dinner and wine selection, Hotel Manager and restaurant staff superb, will stay again

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    20
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
3
17
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed one night on business trip. Not much to say really, I didn't find too many good 4 or 5 stars hotel in the area so this is probably as good as it gets.

I slept well so no complains there, toilet and shower was fine too.

The room is a little dated for a 4 star hotel but for an overnight stay it's fine. There is an Irish pub and a pizza place (with English menu) within 2 minutes walk so that was handy too.

The staff was friendly. Wifi was fine too so overall I would come back here if I need to visit this area on business again.

PS: the lift was great! It's quite small and fits 1 person + very small bag so if you are slightly on the larger side then be prepared to walk up the stairs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Despite being a "chain" hotel, the St. Regis retains its French querkiness! The small lift encircled by the spiral staircase, the imaginative lighting in the bedrooms and the layers of window shutters meant that the stay here was a brief delight. Secure parking was easily accessible, although in a back street a little distance from the hotel. My sat. nav. was unsure about the one way system so the hotel took a bit of getting to, even though we knew where it was! As your contributor, Sue W, we also ate out on the island in the river which is an experience not to be missed

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrochar, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Lovely spacious room, clean, nicely decorated and very comfortable. Excellent value for money and was a great stop-over on our journey to the south of France. Did not eat in the hotel (although the dining room looked very nice) but ventured out onto the island where there was an abundance of little restaurants. Great place to visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

I know that hotels in France are often a wee bit outdated, but this one really needs some improvement. The rooms have old carpets, floral deco everywhere, old shower curtains, ... please let someone breathe some new life into it! The staff is very helpfull and professional, the breakfast is good and everything is very clean. So a splash of paint, a new floor and some new furniture can really turn this hotel into the best hotel in Chalon.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had just travelled over 6 hours from Italy to get here for the night.We just wanted a comfortable room and bed.I could not believe our room,which was the last one that they had.It was tiny and so dark,it seemed to me that it hadn't been decorated for 20 years or more.
The Company that runs the Best Western chain should be ashamed that this hotel is part of their group.I suggest that someone from their head office pays a visit so that they can see exactly what they are offering their guests.Our 1 night stay cost us over 100 euros to boot,how this hotel can be described as 4 star I will never know.
One thing that I will say in its favour is that the 2 young ladies on reception were charming and I would suggest that they are worthy of working at a far better establishment.

Room Tip: Do not stay here if you can possibly avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stopped off here on way home from San Remo
The Receptionist was lovley very helpful.
The room & bathroom OMG in need of a refurb !! but as we were so tired after a long journey it did the job.
We never had a chance to try the Restrant but looked very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saint Regis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Regis

Address: 22 Bd De La Republique, FR-71100 Chalon-sur-Saone, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Saint Regis)
Location: France > Burgundy > Saone-et-Loire > Chalon-sur-Saone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Chalon-sur-Saone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Saint Regis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chalon-Sur-Saone
Chalon-Sur-Saone Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint Regis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.