We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Historic Hotel with Great Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Bellecroix

Save Saved
You added Chateau de Bellecroix to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau de Bellecroix
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route Nationale 6, 71150 Chagny, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Chagny
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Very Nice Historic Hotel with Great Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The hotel is very nice, located in the historic building in the lovely countryside. The rooms are very spacious with all the necessary amenities. The hotel also has an outdoor swimming pool and a lovely garden, where we even spotted a squirrel. The restaurant deserves separate praises - the dishes are absolutely delicious, the choice of wines & drinks is very satisfying either.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    44
    16
    8
    6
See reviews for
12
54
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
somerset
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

..Hotel was difficult to find even with sat nav ..We booked through the Relais silence site and therefore we did not expect to be staying so close to a busy main road..Our.room was adequate but very hot..the air conditioning unit made an alarming noise when we switched it on so was unusable and we had to sleep with window open..We passed a nightmare night with both of us bitten to death by mosquitoes and the noise from the road was awful. O arrival we were informed that our evening meal was being offered as part of the room deal, so no choice...3 courses, foie gras, salmon with creamy potatoes and then creme brulee..individual courses were quite good but as a menu the meal lacked balance and was clearly pre-prepared. I have complained to the Relais Silence people as this place really lets them down

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Beautiful building, perfect for romantic trips.The main problem is that made my experience not that enjoyable is that our GPS stopped working, we couldn't find the hotel and we rang the reception to ask when they would close, they were a bit rude to say that they could not wait later than 9 pm. We did manage to arrive on time, but the kitchen was already closed and we had to drive to town and find something to eat. The bed weren't that comfortable either, but I would definitely go back for the experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We only stayed in night but it was lovely. We thought that there would be 'new' parts but the whole place was original and huge. We had 2 children in our room and we had dinner in the restaurant which was really very good food and service. Breakfast was a bit simple, so don't expect to much, but overall it was great. Kids loved the swimming pool.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This property clearly demonstrates the difficulty that private owners have in maintaining such a large historic building with limited funds. The owners here are trying very hard but I feel that without additional funding, the hotel will continue to deteriorate. Our room was pretty if a little dated, the bathroom wasn't modern and showed lots of wear with cracked tiles etc but was clean and functioned. I could not help but overhear however that other guests were much more disappointed with their accommodation and the feeling seemed to be that refurbishment was overdue. We felt we were lucky therefore to have a fairly nice bedroom but thought it was overpriced as we have stayed in other hotels in the area which offer far better accommodation for similar prices.

The restaurant is really run on a table d'hote basis for the hotel guests with a limited menu - we had agreed to the offer for demi-pension but might have considered upgrading to a la carte if it had been offered (it wasn't). The menu appears to be fairly consistent with that mentioned in other reviews - foie gras terrine, home-smoked salmon on creamy potatoes, a selection of cheeses and creme brulee. We were a bit taken aback by the insistence on pre-ordering of wine but complied. To be fair, at the table we ordered a further half bottle of wine which was promptly served so the pre-ordering is probably to ensure a smooth service. The staff without exception were charming and helpful.

I am not sure I would return here as the accommodation appears to be a bit pot luck and overall it did not represent value for money. A shame, as the building itself and surroundings are lovely. I wish the owners well in their efforts to make a go of this and hope that they are successful in their endeavours although I suspect that funding will be needed to keep apace of customer expectations.

Room Tip: It would appear the main building may offer better accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We chose to stop here on our way from Brussels to Provence. The quality and service is very consistent from the reservation to the bill at the end. I phoned for the reservation and ordered a small room with twin beds. I was worried that this might be a little pokey, but the lady assured me that it would be fine, especially for one night. She also told me about their special arrangement – a double room with breakfast and a dinner menu for 210 euros, which I thought was very reasonable. When we got there we found the room very nice, and quite spacious. It was very hot that day, and there was no air conditioning I that room. However the walls were exceedingly thick and we slept very well indeed. The beds were quite big for twin beds and incredibly comfortable. We had help with our luggage as our room was on the first floor, and the staircase was right next to the entry to the restaurant, so very convenient. We had to give our wine order for the meal before 7pm, and the restaurant opened at 7:30, although we could order drinks beforehand on the terrace, or in the small lounge. Unfortunately it decided to rain that day, so our terrace please was somewhat short lived. I have to say the service was amazingly good. There was a reason that everyone had to choose their wine in advance as it was already available on the table, and I suspect that everyone had already chosen their meal as well. This meant that the service could be carried out with military precision, which lead to a very relaxing dining experience. The food was really very good – we had some homemade fois gras (which in general we don’t eat any more for animal welfare reasons – but oh well). Then we had home smoked salmon on creamy potatoes. After an interesting plate of local cheese, we had a really tasty crème brule – although way too big to eat all of it. The only thing is the wine list is rather limited and quite expensive (considering we were in the middle of the Burgundy wine region) – so there was not a lot of choice in reasonably priced wine, although what we had was excellent. We are looking forward to the return journey.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apach
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Nice setting, lovely grounds, impressive room but very uncomfortable bed, but definately not worth the €240 we paid for the room for the night. The swimming pool heating was also broken, and the pool was not clean, but this was being done as we left. The restaurant was very nice, breakfast was a disappointment though especially as it was a lovely day but all of the terrace tables had been reserved for a coporate coffee thing, also the least choice of any breakfast buffet on our trip. There was nothing in particular wrong with the hotel, the staff were very welcoming, just that in our opinion, it was not worth the price we paid for the room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau de Bellecroix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Bellecroix

Address: Route Nationale 6, 71150 Chagny, France
Location: France > Burgundy > Saone-et-Loire > Chagny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Chagny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de Bellecroix 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Chateau de Bellecroix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Bellecroix Chagny

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Bellecroix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.