We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOTEL DE FRANCE IN VANNES” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citotel Hotel de France

Save Saved
You added Citotel Hotel de France to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Citotel Hotel de France
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   57, avenue Victor Hugo, 56000 Vannes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Vannes
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“HOTEL DE FRANCE IN VANNES”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We visited Vannes while travelling by car and had a parking reservation which cost us 5 Euro. The parking was safe and right next door to the hotel. The hotel was clean, warm and had a friendly atmosphere that said "welcome home" as we walked in. The room and bathroom was clean and we had a good nights rest. (the elevator is a bonus!). Such value for money at 65 Euro! The hotel is a casual 10 minute walk away from the Old Town. Vannes is a beautiful place! Well worth a visit! Make sure to eat Galettes at Creperie La Place while in Vannes. Gardens at Porte Calmont so beautiful! Port Au Vaeux, Jardins de la Garenne well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    47
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
42
7
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Just a mere two minute walk from the Train Station. On arrival at the hotel I thought we were too far out of town, but this was not the case, just a 5 minute walk to the Old Town, another 5 minutes to the Harbour and Information Centre, but, there is a bus stop right outside the hotel! in both directions. As we were here for 3 nights we paid for a deluxe room, it was adequate, not flash but comfortable and good value. Good breakfast. Staff very helpful and friendly, with good English. Wifi in rooms and a computer on the first floor where there is also a sun deck. Good lift! Staff on reception gave excellent advice on sightseeing, as it is quite a walk to the information centre every time you want some small details. Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont-Ferrand, France
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed 3 nights here and do not have a single complaint from our stay. Staff and service were great! Wonderful value and spacious enough in both rooms for 3 people in each room. Limited parking available on site for 5 euro per night and prior reservation is recommended. Elevator for access to top levels of rooms and a simple but good breakfast buffet for an extra charge. The free WiFi worked great and the beds were very comfortable. Gladly stay there again while touring the area!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawler, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Loved my stay at this hotel in Vannes, it a short walk from the train station and I was greeted by the friendly and helpful staff - I was immediately provided with a map of the town and given lots of advice on things to see and where to walk.

The hotel is about a ten minute walk to the old town, and about 2 minutes from the train station. It is really quiet and peaceful, and the room size was quite good by European standards. I also had breakfast at the hotel and the items to chose from were plentiful and quickly refreshed by the attentive staff.

Easy to find, well located, great staff, I can certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed in this hotel overnight en route to La Rochelle. Manager Frederic could not have been more helpful or accommodating and made us feel very welcome - not an easy task when you see a family arrive with 4 children instead of 3. We found the hotel quiet, very clean and well located. It is a very short walk from the historic centre, port and a bustling market. We arrived home to find a phone message from Frederic to let us know that we had left behind some small items of jewelry. From our experience Vannes is an incredibly beautiful town with a friendly welcome for a large family. We would love to explore more of Vannes and the Golf de Morbihan than one day would allow. We will happily return both to Vannes and to the Hotel de France.

Room Tip: Family rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

You will not find more helpful and courteous managers/owners anywhere! clean, convenient and easy to find in Vannes.

Room Tip: The elevator was rapid so any floor is probably fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The staff here are great. Incredibly friendly and welcoming. The hotel is about a ten minute walk from the historic town centre. Our room was on the first floor and overlooked a rooftop courtyard and corridor. It was basic but nice and clean although there was a slight musty smell that quickly disappeared on opening the window.

Due to the location of the room there was some noise until about midnight as people wew sat out on the rooftop courtyard chatting and drinking. it also meant you couldn't keep the window open as it was a security risk and everyone walking down the corridor could see in the room.

There is a small car park that you can use for 5 euros a day but you will need to call ahead to book it.

There is a small bar and the prices are great value.

All in all a reasonalbe hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citotel Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citotel Hotel de France

Address: 57, avenue Victor Hugo, 56000 Vannes, France
Location: France > Brittany > Morbihan > Vannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Vannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Citotel Hotel de France 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Citotel Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citotel Hotel Vannes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citotel Hotel de France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.