We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing wrong but not great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inter-Hotel Manche Ocean

Save Saved
You added Inter-Hotel Manche Ocean to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Inter-Hotel Manche Ocean
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 rue du Lieutenant-Colonel-Maury, 56000 Vannes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 30 hotels in Vannes
Wrexham, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nothing wrong but not great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

In its favour are central location, clean accommodation and (limited) parking available.
However access to the underground car parking spaces has low headroom under beams (estimate 1.8m) and tight turns.
The cost is higher than equivalent accommodation used in Brittany on the same trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    50
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
43
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My friend and I flew to Vannes, France for a friend’s wedding. We booked this hotel because of the good reviews I found in Tripadvisor and it was the closest to Frank Provost where we booked our hair appointment for the wedding. This hotel is way better than some of the 3-star hotels that I've stayed on before.

I gave this hotel a 4.5/5 overall rating for the follow reasons:

Location/Accessibility (4/5)

As for the location, it was very ideal for us. For the primary purpose of our travel, which is to attend a friend’s wedding, the hotel is conveniently located close to the church. It is also walking distance to the Old Town, Port, a wonderful small market, shopping area, etc.

Rooms and Facilities (4/5)

For a two star hotel, our room (including our bathroom) was pretty impressive: simple, clean, and spacious. The bathroom is separated from the WC. They have the basic needs: hair dryer, you can borrow an iron and ironing board, , mini fridge, phone, etc. The bed I had was comfortable enough. They also have an elevator but really small to fit 2 people with big luggage’s.

The reception is even open 24/7 – for a 2 start hotel in a small town in Europe, this is not quite usual. The hotel also offers breakfast for an additional cost. I can’t comment on their breakfast though since we preferred to have our breakfast in the Old Town – which I would recommend. Lastly, what I really like about this hotel is that they have their own parking garage.

Staff and Services (5/5)

Security (4.5/5)

Price (5/5)

See my full review of the hotel at https://writtenbyicar.wordpress.com/

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed for one night in Hotel Manche-Ocean i Vannes. The hotel is situated in the centre of Vannes and it is very easy to reach the old parts and the harbour by foot. The staff of the hotel was very service minded, although we arrived two hours early there was no problem to get our prebooked parking place and our room as well. The room and the bathroom were very clean and the bed was comfortable. The toilet which was separated from the bathroom was very small! Vannes is a very pleasant town with beautiful old houses, lovely flower arrangements in the public places and if you want to visit it, this hotel is a very good choice with a quite moderate price as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

I only stayed one night and didn't arrive until 11pm and left by 7.30 the next day, but once the got past the 70's corridors the rooms were all modern fitted, comfortable beds, but the shower was tiny and the shower head was rubbish.
Otherwise breakfast was a good continental selection was OK coffee and juice

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Basic centrally located hotel, close to town centre. A lift is provided although a bit of a tight squeeze was better than taking luggage up the stairs. Room was good although the toilet was small. Breakfast at 9 euros per person was good value as it was replenished regularly. Parking was 6.50 euros per night in an underground space which was very tight and difficult to reverse out from. Street parking is available but not secure and is by paying for a ticket

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The personnel was very friendly and gladly gave us recommendations. Although we had rented a place in the garage, we found a place to park right in front of the hotel and we were able to cancel our garage reservation without any cost. The room was quite big and the beds were quite comfortable. The toilet was in a room of its own and the bath/shower in another room, all connected to what I could call a suite. The hotel also is a few steps from the Old City. A great location as well as a great room for a great price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We booked this thru booking.com. Gave just under 48 hours notice before canceling. The front desk person, who said he was the manager, refused to discuss rebating our costs, even though the policy was free cancelation up to 24 hours. When I tried to discuss, he hung on me. So, we paid €100 for nothing and got rudeness from the hotel. I would suggest that you do not trust the front end of this hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inter-Hotel Manche Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inter-Hotel Manche Ocean

Also Known As:
Inter Hotel Manche Ocean
Address: 31 rue du Lieutenant-Colonel-Maury, 56000 Vannes, France
Location: France > Brittany > Morbihan > Vannes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 hotels in Vannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Inter-Hotel Manche Ocean 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HostelBookers, Venere and Otel so you can book your Inter-Hotel Manche Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inter-Hotel Manche Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.