We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect choice for us” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel La Marebaudiere Vannes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Hotel La Marebaudiere Vannes to your Saves list
Quality Hotel La Marebaudiere Vannes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4, rue Aristide Briand, 56 000 Vannes, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Vannes
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Perfect choice for us”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here in April 2013, having come over to Brittany from Plymouth on Brittany Ferries' Armorique. We drove from Roscoff to Vannes, and chose this hotel because it has a car park. We had warm sunny weather in Vannes, although the nights were cold.

Service: All the staff were friendly and helpful. The ladies on reception were very pleasant and happily gave us a map of the town with restaurants listed. We tried several of these. Le Gavroche was the best we tried (none were bad).

Location: About 10 / 15 minutes' walk to the old town / harbour. Plenty of choice of cafes, bars, restaurants on the way. Although close to the town, we found the location to be quiet and peaceful. We particularly enjoyed the garden, with a big cherry tree in full pink blossom (see photos). The lady at reception kindly brought our order of 2 glasses of kir out to us so we could enjoy the warm weather.

Room: comfortable bed, lovely en-suite with a super shower, nice and clean, a bit short of wardrobe/drawer space but OK for 3 nights. We're not great tea/coffee drinkers so didn't bother with the room tray - the coffee at breakfast was good.

Breakfast:- we thought the breakfast was very good. served ourselves to juices, tea, coffee (excellent), cold meats, cheese, bread, croissants, fresh fruit. There is even a machine with boiling water so you can boil yourself an egg (don't forget to turn it up to boiling & look at your watch when you put the egg on). The lady attending the breakfast buffet was friendly, too.

(Note - if you are going on a boat trip round the gulf it is at least a further 15 mins walk from the town end of the harbour to the boat station where the trip boats depart. There are loos there but in April there was only a caravan selling drinks and snacks - no choice of bars/restaurants etc. You can book tickets for the boat trips from the tourist information centre, near the town end of the harbour.)

Travel: We left Plymouth at 22:00 and had an inside cabin with bunks. We slept OK and docked in Roskoff at 08:00. The drive across Brittany was easy - the roads are good and in April they were not busy. Signposting was good, although we had prepared by bringing maps with us. We explored Carnac (lovely) and Quiberon (beware one way system and appalling lack of signposts) before heading for Vannes to check in. We found the hotel quite easily in Vannes. We also had a day out by car exploring the Presqu'île de Rhuys, well signposted but they had several road closures and diversions due to roadworks. The drive back up to Roskoff (this time via Pontivy) was easy too, and we stopped off at the wine shop with a big red bus outside it near Roskoff (on the Roskoff-Morlaix road) to stock up before we caught the ferry home. Very helpful owner offered us loos, coffee and wine tasting before we bought. An afternoon/evening crossing on Armorique this time, chance to sample the buffet restaurant. This was adequate, but it is disappointing that Armorique has no proper restaurant - it would have made the journey so much more pleasant. The bar staff on Armorique were polite but don't appear to be happy or really welcoming. Perhaps they were weary of the childrens entertainment that seems to take over in the bar area for much of the trip. There is a quiet room for reading off to one side.

All in all we had a wonderful stay in Brittany, and would happily do it again. We can recommend the hotel, La Marebaudiere, particularly if you have a car.

Room Tip: We had room 112, on the first floor at the rear of the hotel, overlooking the gardens of neighbourin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    54
    27
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
64
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leominster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just spent 5 nights at La Marebaudiere and thought it was very good. Staff were very friendly and helpful, rooms were clean, breakfast was adequate and parking was a real bonus. It's about a 10 to 15 minute walk into the port area where you will find lots of restaurants.
However, we found the bedrooms very small for a 5 night stay with only 1 small wardrobe and no drawers at all. The compliments tray was a joke. Two paper cups ( not replaiced the next day)
2 sugar cubes, 2 milk cartons and only enough tea and coffee for one drink each.
We had lots of problems with WIFI connections but the staff were always on hand to help.
Hair dryer was a bit of a mystery until a staff member showed us the on/off switch which was hidden around the back but it only stayed on a very short time and then went off ( not much good for a lady trying to blow dry her hair )
Very small niggles really. It's a lovely town and we had a great holiday

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We chose this hotel in Vannes because we wanted free guaranteed parking in the centre of town. The hotel was really nice and the staff were helpful, we had a room on the ground floor with doors onto the garden. The rooms had been recently redecorated and were very clean. We had the breakfast on one morning and the choice was really good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We made the mistake of booking 3 basic rooms-11,12and 105 being a party of golfers staying for a week.These rooms were very small;hanging space was tiny;there were no drawers and almost no shelf space.Drying wet clothes was nearly impossible.The tea trays in all rooms had cardboard cups..There were no glasses provided just 2 flimsy plastic tumblers in the bathroom.The hotel lacked a pleasant public area and had just a minimal bar served by the receptionist.
This hotel is central and has free parking but is better suited to short stay clients as it is rather spartan

Room Tip: Choose the superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Very good stay at this hotel. As per other reviews, we chose this hotel due to its central location and free car parking. The rooms were small but modern and clean. Excellent choice at the buffet breakfast too. Staff very helpful and friendly although one small gripe is that glasses/china cups should be provided in rooms, not the plastic/cardboard ones although when I requested these, it was not a problem for them to be supplied with extra packets of tea and coffee. Plenty of good restaurants and bars within walking distance (even in the rain!)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Stayed 4 nights with my wife in May 2012. We were finishing a French motoring trip and the secure car park at this hotel was a feature we wanted as we had a soft top sports car and didnt want street or public car parks. The hotel is a good one. It was International Quality hotel of the year 2008 and was fully refurbished in 2010. Vannes is an interesting historic walled town with a bustling street market on Wednesdays. You can stroll into the Old Town for dinner or walk nearby to the eating areas around Saint Patern church. We might suggest the upstairs rooms as the floors are not well insulated against the sound of feet. Avoid room 15 as it shares a wall with the main staircase and you will hear the late arrivers and the early departers. The hotel has three meeting rooms used by local businesses. The 42 car park spaces can be under pressure when these meetings are on. You may go on a sightseeing drive in the morning and find all the parking spaces taken in the afternoon until the meetings end. In retrospect we should have stayed at a smaller town or village out in the beautiful Gulf of Morbihan and visited Vannes for a day. This hotel is well suited for an interesting stopover. Happy to recommend it for that purpose. Bonnes Vacances !

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

very central to Vannes with free secure parking - essential in Vannes. The hotel was extremely clean and the staff attentive to our requirements all of whom spoke excellent English. No restaurant except for the provision of a good continental breakfast. The bar is small and limited, however, within 100 mtres there are several bars and an excellent restaurant. With so many other restaurants within easy walking distance the limitations of hotel's bar and restaurnt are no problem. Coffee and tea making facilites and a safe are in each room. Overall and superb place to saty inj picturesque Vannes.

Room Tip: Ask for the ground floor rooms overlooking the small garden in the front of the hotel. These have ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Hotel La Marebaudiere Vannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel La Marebaudiere Vannes

Address: 4, rue Aristide Briand, 56 000 Vannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Brittany > Morbihan > Vannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel La Marebaudiere Vannes 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the city, our hotel is at 5min walk from the remparts. Located 10 min away from the marina by foot, our property, entirely refurbished in 2010, will welcome you in a nice and friendly atmosphere. Surrounded by a garden, this hotel also provides a private car park that enables you to park up easily and safely. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Hotel La Marebaudiere Vannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Vannes
Comfort Hotel Vannes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel La Marebaudiere Vannes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.