We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient hotel of value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Residence des Artistes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Residence des Artistes to your Saves list
Hotel La Residence des Artistes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 rue des Johnies, 29680 Roscoff, France (Formerly Hotel La Residence)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Roscoff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Convenient hotel of value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The hotel is centrally situated with free nearby public parking. The room was nice and the bed comfortable. The staff were very friendly and the continental breakfast fresh as was the coffee. The rooms overlooking the road was and can I would imagine be quite noisy with the chatter of persons returning from town in the early hours. Overall though a very pleasant stay in an idelly located hotel just 5 minutes from the ferry port. We used it on arriving at 9.30 pm and for the previous night prior to our return to save a lengthy journey.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Street can tend to be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    92
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
33
180
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

We returned here after a good experience last year and were not disappointed. It is a good stopover for the start or finish of a cycle tour if using the Plymouth ferry, as only 10 minutes cycle from ferry port and has locked garage. In quiet side street near harbour so handy for restaurants. Room small but attractive modern decor helps and bathroom well designed. Plenty of choice at breakfast. Good range of guidebooks and games in the dining room.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I've just seen everybody writes exellent comments about your hotel. I was not on the way to a ferry but on a visit to the Finisterre region in the French Bretagne. We stayed there for three days and did not hear anything from the neighbouring rooms, all the contrary, they were well isolated and extremely clean and comfortable. The Pearl Room with balcony was very pleasant. We enjoyed our stay at the hotel because it is right in the centre of Roscoff and near everything and the car park nearby allowed us to move in and out easily. Gemma, the owner, was great with us one day I did not feel well and worried and helped me a lot, which I really thank and which would not have happened in another more impersonal hotel. We will undoubtedly stay at this hotel again as soon as we have the opportunity to travel to Roscoff again.
About breakfast, among great variety, one can find everything that is healthy and necessary, good coffee, too. I do not see the reason why English breakfasts should be offered in France as i read in some critics.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The hotel was very clean and modern, but at €89 per night, the most expensive room we stayed in and definitely not worth paying extra for a balcony as the only view was of the small garden area by the road. The location was very handy for the town, but on a quiet road. The large car park close by was very convenient, and it only took 5 minutes to drive to the ferry port. We left too early to eat breakfast, but the dining room looked delightful. The fluent english speaking host was charming. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Dont bother paying extra for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Lovely clean, modern rooms with friendly multi-lingual owners who are keen to help. The bathroom was particularly beautiful!

The bed was really comfortable and every night we were there we got a good night's sleep, but only until about 6am when other guests got up, possibly to catch the early ferry. The one and only problem is that we could hear everything that was happening in the other rooms - toilets flushing, showers splashing, hairdryers whirring and people talking. At one stage I thought someone had thrown water over me, the sound of water splashing was so close!!

It's a nice hotel and definitely worth the price - I'd stay here again and get up earlier!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I only stayed in this hotel for one night and checked in late so didn’t experience the bar or restaurant, the rooms have been re-furbished as have the bathrooms. The room was clean and very modern. The breakfast was a good selection of French treats although it would have been nice to offer an English alternative even if it was just scrambled egg.

I would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Hosts are very friendly, rooms are excellent qualitiy. The hotel is very well situated in the centre of Roscoff, and we would no hesitate to stay here again. We wish we had planed a longer stay. Secure parking for our Motorcycle. Breakfast was very good, with a good selection.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Residence des Artistes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Residence des Artistes

Address: 14 rue des Johnies, 29680 Roscoff, France (Formerly Hotel La Residence)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Brittany > Finistere > Roscoff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Roscoff
#5 Romantic Hotel in Roscoff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Residence des Artistes 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Residence is situated at 2 steps from the hystorical center of Roscoff and the sea. 5 minutes from the ferry port. Close to bars and restaurants.Rooms are spacious and comfortable, and overlook the garden.There is a large public car park opposite the hotel.Hotel La Résidence is the ideal point for exploring the nice city of Roscoff and the Bay of Morlaix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel La Residence des Artistes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Residence Des Artistes Roscoff, France - Brittany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Residence des Artistes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.