We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Brittany

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Brittany to your Saves list
Hotel Le Brittany
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard Sainte Barbe, 29681 Roscoff, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Roscoff
Somerset
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A touch of luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had booked this hotel for the night before a ferry crossing from Roscoff to Plymouth. Our rom was at the back and was quite small but very comfortable. It is a pity about the monstrous building that overlooks the back of the hotel - how anyone could give permission for this really ugly set of apartments is a mystery. The rest of the hotel makes up for it. The service was excellent and the facilities were very good. We enjoyed the views from the dining room. The food was very good indeed. We chose from the a la carte menu and whilst our meal was not cheap, it was special and we shall remember it for some time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    63
    29
    6
    4
See reviews for
39
241
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Hotel Le Brittany is a well appointed hotel 15 minutes from central Roscoff. it has wonderful views from the restaurant and a nice bar. the hotel view is one of the best I have seen.

The hotel is clean and well maintained and the staff are friendly and helpful. the breakfast is excellent and taken in the main dining room.

The restaurant is also available in the evening. The food is very good and the service excellent. However, travellers should note that this is primarily a fish restaurant with little scope for vegetarians. if you do not like Nouvelle Cuisine you may also find this aspect a little off-putting. the meal was very good but quite pricey but the views are stunning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

A top class hotel in a lovely part of Roscoff. We stayed here for one night prior to a ferry crossing. Our room, 106, was small but well fitted and very clean. There was a good sized bed that was very comfortable. The bathroom was small too but well appointed; personally I would have sacrificed the small bath/shower for one decent sized shower but that is simply my preference.

Dinner was very good indeed, not cheap but worthy. The dining room, whilst well presented and with lovely views, was a little somber. My feeling is that this hotel is a very good choice for older guests who enjoy good food of the Michelin style but perhaps not so good if you have children; I am sure there are much better hotel choices in Roscoff for little ones where they would feel considerably more relaxed.

For us, mind you, it was a perfect choice and truly enjoyed.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, U.K.
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Located a 15 minute walk into Roscoff this is a very good hotel with its own heated swimming pool and delightful restaurant overlooking the bay. In good weather one can eat outside. The meal deal is 75 euros to include wines, coffee, and water and was worth it. friendly staff, but no air-conditioning which may be a problem in high Summer. Many rooms have patios which are enclosed and make excellent sun traps.

Room Tip: Room 500 is the disabled room, but has a larger bathroom and a great patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We chose this hotel because it is a Relais & Chateaux, and we spent 4 nights there, using it as a base to discover upper Brittany. Not only is the hotel beautiful and in a lovely location, it is very well-maintained and the staff is committed to providing good service. Great beds, excellent bathrooms and very, very quiet. Dinner in the restaurant was very good, and the breakfast buffet was lavish. The service level of the staff is extraordinary. It was obvious that they were concerned about providing an excellent experience to guests. The manager greeted us by name each morning at breakfast. In-room dining, directions.....all handled with aplomb. While I did not use the spa services, I enjoyed several nice swims in the pool, which, while not huge, is adequate and nice and toasty warm. As we were on an extended trip we used their laundry service. All of our clothes were done perfectly; a super job. I would definitely return to this hotel, and recommend it. Great hotel; great service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel before as part of an inclusive deal with Brittany Ferries so had no hesitation in opting to stay here again for a two-night break.

It's an independently owned hotel, part of the Relais & Chateaux organisation. The staff are excellent: courteous, friendly, efficient & helpful and everyone we encountered on both our visits speaks good English. We couldn't fault the service.

The bedrooms are nicely furnished, with comfortable beds, and spotlessly clean. There's free parking, secure at night, and free wi-fi access. The breakfasts are generous, including a wide selection of quality local produce. The hotel is extremely conveniently located no more than half a mile from the Britanny Ferries terminal and it looks right out over the Roscoff bay.

Is there a downside? Well, the bar and restaurant prices are not for the faint-hearted. However, the hotel is a pleasant 15 minute stroll along the seafront from the centre of Roscoff where there is a wide range of restaurants and bars to suit most tastes and all pockets.

There is a small but pleasant indoor pool which we used last time but not on this visit. Spa treatments are available but we haven't sampled those; they are not cheap and, anyway, we'd rather be out exploring.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We booked this superb hotel as part of an inclusive deal with Plymouth to Roscoff Brittany ferry included..
When we arrived we could hardly believe what we saw, this lovely old Manoir has been tastefully enhanced into a very fine Hotel,
The building is very good , the Service is beyond reproach, the friendly, professional staff ,
gave one confidence that any request would be quickly delivered.
Our room was spacious with an immaculate bathroom ensuite.
French doors opened onto a sunny , sheltered, courtyard with patio furniture ideal for sun worshippers.

The breakfast buffet truly magnificent, this spread had something for every taste.

WE were sad to have to leave this wonderland and will hope to return very soon

Room Tip: This is not an inexpensive hotel, but well worth the prices normally charged, however if booked in c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Brittany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Brittany

Address: Boulevard Sainte Barbe, 29681 Roscoff, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Brittany > Finistere > Roscoff
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roscoff
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Roscoff
#2 Family Hotel in Roscoff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Brittany 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Le Brittany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Brittany Hotel
Le Brittany Roscoff
Hotel Le Brittany Roscoff, France

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Brittany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.