We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better choices available for seafood” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bistrot de la Mer

Le Bistrot de la Mer
4 rue Amiral Reveillere | Les Chardons Bleus, 29680 Roscoff, France
+33 (0)2 98 69 72 03
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 37 Restaurants in Roscoff
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Hope Island, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Better choices available for seafood”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We each chose a live lobster from the restaurant window. Maybe the chef had gone home and there was a last minute fill-in? A beautiful, live lobster deserved a simple grilling: what could be more straightfoward? Unfortunately the result for each of us was dry, over-grilled and disappointing. Does this restaurant rely on a captive market of ferry passengers choosing a meal before they depart? We left a large part of the meal uneaten and remarked at our disappointment. No account was taken of this for the bill. Indeed we found the bill expensive.
As regular visitors to Roscoff, along with many of our friends, we expect better of a restaurant in France. This was not the case on this day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    21
    6
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fresh fish very popular with locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

You would expect excellent fresh fish in a port like this and in this restaurant you get it!
Quite small inside and very popular, even with locals, and a little cramped and crowded. But good atmosphere and excellent menu compensates.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbury-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“The family party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Not ours -but the restaurant owner's family.The restaurant manager was nervous to provide service and we felt that we did not receive the whole of his attention.

the atmosphere was almost rude enough to be similar to an Italin experience - where you can often expect such treatment.

Having said that - the food was excellent and well presented.

For thos seeking a relaxed atmosphere for dinner we think that on this occasion at least -this was not the place.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Spent a night in the hotel on the way back to Plymouth and the natural thing was to eat at the restaurant. We were not disappointed and would go every time when passing as the food and the service were of a first class. They do know how to cook and serve fish, crabs and mussels. If compared to Cornwall in Britain, the only place you "might" get the same delicious food is at Rick Stain's restaurant in Padstow but at double the price and not so relax and informal atmosphere..... Lovely place, highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Medium”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Too expensive for what it offers. The set menu sounded good but the main course did not stand up to the same one we had there last year.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistrot de la Mer also viewed

Roscoff, Finistere
 
Roscoff, Finistere
 

Been to Le Bistrot de la Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bistrot de la Mer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.