We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant le Coquillage

Restaurant le Coquillage
Chateaux Richeux, 35260 Cancale, France
(33) 02 99 89 64 76
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 56 Restaurants in Cancale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $366
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

What can I say? Eating at the restaurant "Le Coquillage" was an experience that was so exceptional that is impossible to adequately describe. I used to consider seafood as a "so-so" meal, but now that I have eaten at "Le Coquillage," I am a convert. You must experience what I have: an imaginative menu stressing the delicacies of Cancale Bay, fresh, local ingredients, the incredible use of spices, and beautifully presented plates. Try the "By the whims of the Wind and Moon" and you will understand what I am saying. It is unbelievable. The rooms are comfortably informal and the grounds are lovely. Go! It is a special place.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    48
    17
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Our experience was so good I wonder am I even qualified to comment on it. The setting, service, views, food and wine are all outstanding. Simply the best restaurant experience I have ever had. Considering the standard, not that expensive either.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a beautiful chateau with charming atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The arrival to the Chateau was impressive. Very busy and big parking on a big garden full of species and plants. The Chateau was beautiful and very Elegant. The restaurant is owned by Olivier Roellinger, who once had a 3 michelin star restaurant but refused to it. As a starter I had dealt head fish Tartar, celtic moustard, salicornia and Single molt whisky sauce. (Excellent). As the main course Lamb from Saint Michel (2 pieces, one piece cooked at low temperature during 7 hours) with local vegetables. The food was excellent, using a great mix of herbs that made the best of it. As a dessert, I tried a combination of different desserts that I could choose from a trolly. I would recommend the millefeuille of vanilla cream. Bought the service and ambient were superb and the surroundings of the restaurant were marvellous. Definitely, an elegant place to come back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nahariya
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant ,atmosphère is great .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Location and prestige! The great fruit de mer plate was outstanding .Desserts were a real treat and we took it outside with the wonderful view of the place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Excellent meal in beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We greatly enjoyed a meal at this restaurant. The location is absolutely stunning. The meal was excellent - very fresh fish, the dessert cart was a real treat. Excellent service as well. There is also a nice bar in the pine arboretum with a beautiful view.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant le Coquillage also viewed

Cancale, Ille-et-Vilaine
Cancale, Ille-et-Vilaine
 
Cancale, Ille-et-Vilaine
Cancale, Ille-et-Vilaine
 

Been to Restaurant le Coquillage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant le Coquillage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.