We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very popular choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mere Champlain

La Mere Champlain
1 quai Administrateur Thomas, 35260 Cancale, France
+33 (0)2 99 89 60 04
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 53 Restaurants in Cancale
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Wales UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A very popular choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We wanted a simple moules/ frites at lunch time, and , early for us, at 12.10 we were seated at the window overlooking the bay of Mt St Michel, the ebbing tide, and the tractors and trailers trundling up to the pier to load the oysters and mussels.
By 12.30 the restaurant was 6 tables deep, full of chattering French families, and this on a Monday lunch time. An excellent recommendation in itself.
Our meal was simple, as we were to eat out "more seriously" that evening, but the mussels and chips were copious, also the bread, and we had an enjoyable amusee bouche before the meal started. From the range of the sea food dishes which others were enjoying, this place appeared to have a loyal following.
Cancale is full of sea food restaurants touting for business, but La mere champlain is edging towards the end of the village, and away from the car parks , so there is no restriction on view of the wide bay.
A window seat will definitely add to the experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    143
    34
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Always first class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We love returning to this restaurant. The staff are always friendly and efficient and menus are wide-ranging in price and choice. The food is excellent, with obvious emphasis on fish and shellfish. It's great location is a real plus too - go for the window seats on a sunny day and watch the oyster tractors and tourists on the seafront.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Central Cancale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Busy bustling restaurant with a range of prices. Good friendly service - good range of prices and food

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A total surprise....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We returned to Cancale several times during our trip, eating at other restaurants and usually ending up at the end of the beach at the pier where oysters are sold on the street, extremely cheap. (if you do this, remember to bring a chilled bottle of muscat :).

We had received recommendations on this restaurant from our B&B host and encountered signs along the way. We had also read the reviews on TripAdvisor and had seen negative reviews on the service. (this is a hotel as well)

After having 2 dozen oysters on the street as an appetizer , we walked by and my wife wanted to go in. I was skeptical --- and did not want to go to a turistic place that was packed full and that had received some negative reviews.

Well, let me say that it was probably one of the best meals in our trip. They have several prix fixe to select from --- at different price levels, 15- 24 30 something euro levels.

We had the 24 euro prix fixe, it was a great value with very well prepared food. You kind of MUST like seafood to eat here. My appetizer, the sea food platter was great and the sea snails that I had never had before were fantastic.(see picture). My wife had the foie gras which was paired with caramelized onions, honey and some other items that I cannot recall, made flavor stand out. The main course was a white fish very nicely done and I had the scallops the Normand way..... served with bacon on top of mash potatoes..... very nice.

If you consider that a crew of waiters focused on providing efficient, timely and professional service, in a big and full restaurant, and that do not spend a lot of time with you to chit chat about the weather are rude.... then this is not the place for you. They were patient with us, gave us a menu in English after asking for it, and were always available when needed. I actually took some time to observe and admire there efficiency .... with plates, glasses and bottles...., coming and going. It was incredible.

We were greeted with complementary small glass of there fish soup with some crusty bread while we looked at the menu.

I would return with no hesitation. Great value, excellent food and a total surprise of maintaining a high standard while being so popular.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is a busy bustling restaurant with a good choice of menus and very efficient staff. Ate here twice and had a good meal both times. Fish is the main thing and there are nice touches like an amuse bouche while you wait

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mere Champlain also viewed

Cancale, Ille-et-Vilaine
Cancale, Ille-et-Vilaine
 
Cancale, Ille-et-Vilaine
 

Been to La Mere Champlain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mere Champlain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.