We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Pools, Quaint Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camping Sunelia L'Escale St Gilles

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benodet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping Sunelia L'Escale St Gilles
Save
You added Camping Sunelia L'Escale St Gilles to your Saves list
Corniche de la Mer, 29950 Benodet, France (Formerly Camping De La Pointe St Gilles)   |  
Hotel amenities
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic Pools, Quaint Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had a wonderful 6 night stay in the caravan booked through Eurocamp. The caravan was very well equipped and clean. The block-out binds were useful for the sleep-ins after the late nights. The rooms were rather cosy, but still adequate. There was not a lot of space for our suitcases. The park itself was perfect! The hydroslides, triple slide and lazy river were fantastic and enjoyed by all ages. As mentioned in previous reviews, the loungers were in high demand; it was disappointing to see whole families saving so many when they should be shared around amongst other families. The supermarket was well stocked and we found it quite reasonable. Tasty croissants etc freshly baked in the mornings! We did visit Carrefour for other items, particularly fruit, vegetables and soya milk etc. (just a short walk from town). Eurocamp organised some great activities for the children and families. They were run by very enthusiastic leaders who did a great job at organising the events. Sunelia also organised some great events and the evening entertainment was enjoyed by the children. We did not eat at the restaurants/bar as we enjoyed eating out under the stars on the balcony. Benodet is a pleasant walk from the campsite. We also used the train a few times; there are reduced adult rates after the first ride. The corniche was lovely to run along in the mornings! We had a wonderful relaxing family holiday and will definitely look at using Eurocamp in another location, another time! Perfect for families!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    94
    44
    18
    13
See reviews for
181
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a eurocamp caravan for 6 nights. It had enough beds and just enough space but that's caravans for you. It had been cleaned and had cutlery an crockery. Campsite was clean and the pool was fantastic. Pistols at dawn if you want a sun lounger. snack bar is expensive as is the camp shop (find a carrifore supermarket). Didn't go to the bar but all drinks in france seem on the pricey side. The beaches are beautiful. Some have corse sand, others more child friendly. Lots of rock pools. Benodet is a picture postcard seaside town, although the choice of eateries is a little limited. if you want fine dining and you are a little uptight when it comes to cleanliness don't go caravaning? But this is a nice camp site in a nice place. I'd go back.#ifthesunsshining.. J chalmers. X

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We spend a week here following 2 weeks in the Vendee - a family of 2 adults and 3 children, ranging in ages from 2.5 to 8. We had been at this site in 2012 for 2 weeks so we were very familiar with the site.
We had booked a 3 bed Villagrand with Keycamp and, as usual, the mobile was clean and tidy. There was a very big pitch with decent decking. The site is well maintained and clean. We didn't see much of the couriers (even though we were met when we arrived) but that was fine as we were familiar with the site.
The pool complex is undoubtedly the highlight of this site - it is superb, and as the weather was excellent, the indoor area had been fully opened up. There is a nice little beach directly opposite the site entrance - it is very safe for bathing and the rocks at either edge are perfect for rock fishing. Benodet is a short walk / cycle away and its a lovely little town with its own beach. We were there the time of Bastille Day and sat out with until 12 midnight on the beach with hundreds of others watching the firework display. The site is ideal for exploring this part of Brittany - Concarneau, Pont Aven, Quimper etc are within easy reach.
The bar and take-away on site are good - the only slight quiblle is that the evening entertainment is only fair. The take-away is good value and the food is decent. We didn't eat at the site restaurant. The shop is better stocked than at first glance - even though the opening hours are limited all it takes is a bit of organisation to make sure you are stocked up (supermarkets are also only 10 mins away)
The keycamp kids clubs are very good -they really look after the kids very well and organise a show every second Thursday.
All in all its a great site and we'd seriously think about going back a third time. And Brittany is great as well

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The best part about this site is the location. The beach and town are great places to visit. The pitch the give you for a touring Caravan, awning and your car is very tight. Also the pitches are not fully serviced as they would lead you to believe. Most have electricity but none have water or waste connections. The swimming pool is great if you have kids but not much use if all you want to do is have a swim. They really need to address the situation with sun loungers. If you go to the pool an hour after it opens on a sunny day there is hardly anyone there but every sunlounger is covered with a towel with some of the people who have done this not arrive to afternoon. If you move any of these towels you are not given any support from the staff if the people arrive three hours later and argue you have taken their space. The food from the take away is pretty awful and the entertainment on offer not much better. The price of drink is shocking and we witnessed many people either buying one drink then re filling their glass from bottles in their bag or on many occasions walking in with full glasses and not buying anything at all. Pity as this really lets the place down.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EscaleStGilles, Responsable commercial at Camping Sunelia L'Escale St Gilles, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
We thank you for choosing L’Escale Saint-Gilles and also would like to apologize if we haven’t met your expectation. We have taken good notes of your comments and are constantly working on improving the quality of our services, please find below our answers:
Touring pitch: all of our touring pitches are suitable for a caravan, a vehicle and awning. However for larger vans we do offer the widest pitches if notified at the time of the booking. All of our pitches are equipped with electricity, water is available at the end of each allée, the waste disposal is only located in certain points for the environment.
Swimming pool: for younger children (slides, paddling areas…), but also caters for the older ones as you can swim in our lazy river (50m long) or our indoor or outdoor pools (1.5m deep). Please note that the dome is UV proof to protect your skin. We are well aware of the sunloungers issue; we are working on procedures and staff training to minimize that problem and avoid people covering them with a towel.
The take away: we will pass on your comments regarding quality and service times to our new food & beverage manager.
Entertainment: most of our families do have younger children, which do influence our entertainment program, however we still have plenty for everyone (magic show, karaoke, quiz, bingo, concerts, disco, sports: zumba, aquafit, football, waterpolo…)
Bar: drink prices are dearer in all of the French bars compare to the UK or Ireland, our bar manager is looking into put in place daily offers, specials and new products.
Again we would like to thank you for taking time to comment on our tripadvisor page, and stay at your disposal if you wish to discuss this matter any further.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derry
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here the first two weeks in July and traveled with Kelair. It was our first time going on such a holiday and we have 4 children ranging from 2 up to 10. we also had 10 days of glorious sunshine and heat in the 30's. we sailed with Irish Ferries from Rosslare to Roscoff, which is a two hour drive from the campsite.

The camp is set up for and ready to entertain young families. The pool area and nightly entertainment and aimed at the 4-10 age group in particular. However, its very well run and organised and our children had an absolute ball. Its about 15 mins walk outside of Benodet, which is a lovely town and the surrounding towns offer plenty to explore should the weather not be so good.

The public areas are modern and clean and the staff working there friendly and very efficient. The bin area is in the car park across from the main entrance which means a 100 meter walk, that said it was well maintained and i'd prefer it there than in the middle of campsite.

Bikes can be hired for €30 per week and if you have very young ones you can keep them occupied for hours with the kids trailers that you can pull them along in.

The food in the chipper is average, although all we got from there is chips from time to time. The shop is well stocked, but a little expensive. The supermarket in Benodet itself, whilst very busy is not good value so shop a little bit outside in the Super U for better prices.

There is a small beach opposite the campsite which is fine and a large beach in Benodet itself. The sand, however, on the Benodet Beach is very course and, whilst it looks beautiful, is impossible to make sandcastles with, if you have small ones. there are numerous beautiful beaches all within 10 minute drives that do not have this problem.

Both the campsite and Benodet are very popular with French people, especially at the weekend, which we took as a good sign. There was a great mixture of all nationalities staying and our children made some great friends over the two weeks we were there.

To sum up. if you are taking this type of holiday for the first time and if you have a young family you will not be disappointed with this campsite.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EscaleStGilles, Responsable relations clients at Camping Sunelia L'Escale St Gilles, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
The team wants to thank you for your comment, we would be glad to receive you and your 4 children soon at L'Escale Saint Gilles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Just back from 8 nights here with our 5 & 4 year old. This was our first campsite holiday so we didn't have huge expectations of luxury but overall we were pleased. Don't disagree with some of the negatives mentioned by others about food shop opening hours etc. but these really weren't big issues for us. We preferred to eat in Benodet where there are plenty nice restaurants and found the local Carrefour good for groceries. Campsite shop really only for emergencies. Accomodation was fine. Pitches definitely bit small but kids made great friends. Pool is probably the big selling point for us -perfect for kids our age. Area is a bit slippy at times - need to make sure kids don't run but plenty areas to entertain them. Weather was fab when we were there so can't comment on what it would be like if rainy. Sunloungers were hard to come and we were surprised at pool opening hours (11 to 7) but overall we really enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Reading some of the reviews I wonder if I was at the same place ! Just returned from 5 days at Pointe St.Gilles and had a lovely time . We were staying in a 3 bed mobile home booked through Sunelia quite close to the back of the pool area. Slightly strange internal layout of the caravan as the toilet was one end of the mobile and the shower room was the other end . There was enough room really to have 2 bathrooms which would have been better especially if there are 6 staying in it .
We arrived at the beginning of the heatwave and our main priority was keeping our 2 y.o. grand daughter amused . Because of the brilliant weather she loved the pool area , shame it didn't open until nearly 11 am . There were no lifeguards but I did see Sunelia staff wandering around the pool
area quite frequently . Not being a great swimmer the various shallow pools suited me and the grand daughter loved the variety of water slides and fountains. I appreciate keen swimmers might
miss a proper full length pool with a 2 metre deep end.
Certain things seemed expensive . Wifi cost us 6 euros for 7 hours usage and even though we were close to the entertainment area , could hardly ever get any coverage in the mobile home. Even sitting in the bar area , speed was either very slow or non existant , quite frustrating . There was a "train" that regularly ran from the site into the town but at 6 euros a time seemed exhorbitant especially if there are a number of you . Surprisingly for quite an upmarket town there didn't seem to be any parking restrictions and no charges either (if you could find a space ).

Sunelia didnt have any kids clubs for under 4 year olds in July which was a shame , though Keycamp seemed to run one for their clients .

The take away food kiosk was hit and miss . I had a perfectly good pizza but my son thought his burger not very nice , as though the whole thing was cooked from frozen, roll and all . I thought the campsite shop was fairly typical and provided basic milk and bread and croissants plus a few sweets for the kids when needed . There is a Carrefour on the Quimper road about 5 mins by car for a larger variety but even here , things seemed expensive compared to the UK.

I went from Roscoff and its quite a pleasant 2 hour drive but my son was travelling from Calais and its a tortuous 8 hour drive from there and he elected to have a stopover near Honfleur to break up the journey .

All in all we found the staff very pleasant and the great weather certainly helped but we really enjoyed our stay there

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camping Sunelia L'Escale St Gilles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Sunelia L'Escale St Gilles

Address: Corniche de la Mer, 29950 Benodet, France (Formerly Camping De La Pointe St Gilles)
Location: France > Brittany > Finistere > Benodet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Benodet
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Benodet (Southern Brittany), facing the Glenan Islands and close to the river Odet, our 5-star campsite has something for everyone! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camping De La Pointe St Gilles Hotel Benodet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camping Sunelia L'Escale St Gilles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.