We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inter-Hotel Saint-Jacques

Inter-Hotel Saint-Jacques
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Inter-Hotel Saint-Jacques to your Saves list
Inter-Hotel Saint-Jacques
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Place de la Liberte, 15100 Saint-Flour, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Saint-Flour
Canterbury Kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A warm welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We went to the St Jacques on the off-chance of a room having found nothing in the haute-ville area of St Flour. The patron couldn't have been nicer,found us a good room and sent us next door to the restaurant. This was gone 9.30 in the evening and we were losing hope of finding somewhere for the night so we were doubly pleased and relieved. The room was typically quaint old French style,the hotel interior even more so. It would have not been out of place on a 'Maigret' set! It made a great change from the sterile functional (but understandably utilitarian) style of the motorway hotels. Breakfast was plentiful and good value at 6 euros. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
15
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

St Flour is a great town to stop off overnight. Its very close to the motorway and the old town os extremely pretty.
Although the owner is not the most charismatic man, and yes the hotel is not dripping in luxury, it's a hotel that works really well as a stopover for the price. Very French, very funny, very cheap for a family

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We arrived late one night last week (close to midnight) and were so warmly welcomed. The hosts were very gracious as it appeared to be beyond their normal hours. We were given a very acceptable end room on the third floor above the street looking out toward the back - what a lovely evening. We fell asleep to a cool breeze (LOVE it when a window can be opened) and the sound of the flowing stream outdoors. Slept wonderfully and enjoyed a stroll around the old town (above) before enjoying the generous breakfast buffet at the hotel - reasonably priced, generous coffee, milk, fresh fruit, and the typical breads and yogurts. Very pleasant stay after a long day on the road in our rental car - oh and the shower was great as well.

Room Tip: Pool was not yet open for the season - a bit early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

After a long drive we didn't expect such an unpleasant welcome. The patron was less than wecoming and ushered up to the first floor with utter disdain. Well the room was old ( not quaint) and stank of stale smoke. The bedspread was also eyecatching with its array of stains that rather prevented you from turning down the bed to sleep. After much thought we decided that we couldn't stay here and collected our bags to leave. Bearing in mind that we had paid up front at the time of booking we were surprised to be ambushed with a torrent of abuse from the patron. When we finally got passed him and out of the door we breathed a huge sigh of relief and counted our blessings that we had escaped.
I would highly recommend the chateau on the main road 5 mins away which was very clean, comfortable and welcoming.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

I think we were conned into accepting a single room as a double at the same price as a single. Room was in need of decorating. Not a great place if you are a vegi.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2006

A wonderful place to stay with secure parking. I note that one review says that the staff could have been a little more friendly - trying to speak a little French works wonders - they really appreciate it and ARE friendly. The location is excellent, right net to the river and the medieval village on the mount. I will come back here every time I travel.

Peter, Spain

  • Liked — Atmosphere & Location
  • Disliked — Absolutly noting
  • Tips/Secrets — ave a meal at the restaurant just up the main road - superb
  • Stayed July 2005, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2005

My wife nad I stayed at this hotel as part of a European motorcycle tour.
The St Jacques hotel St. Flour looks quite impressive in it's position, situated as it is in the town square. However the interior isn't quite as attractive as the exterior promises. There's nothing specific that causes this impression just the fact that hotel could probably do with a bit of renovation - it's starting to look tired.
The position of our room was good however, overlooking the square. This made it a bit noisy at night when the local teenagers came into the square revving their car and motorbike engines. This didn't bother us but it some may find it a disturbance. The room itself was nothing special, and it needed a bit of paint to tidy it up.

The hotel advertises a swimming pool which looks lovely on the marketing photos, but they must have been taken some time ago as it is now suffering the effects of neglect. There were some quite unsavoury things floating in the water and laying on the bottom. The loungers around the pool were unsafe, one collapsed when a friend lay on it.

The hotel bar is a bit dingy and uninviting so we drank and ate a pavement cafe at the opposite side of the square - it was also a lot cheaper.

The hotel staff weren't over friendly, in fact they were quite dour. Whether this was due to us being bikers, English or whether it was just their way we'll never know! They did provide a garage for the bikes though which cost about 12Euros each for the 3 nights we stayed

St Flour is a nice little town, we were there during a festival which made it nice and lively. The old upper town is a must if you like wandering around old medieval streets. The surrounding area is nice especially the garrabit. It's only a 60 mile trip south to see the superb bridge over the Tarn valley at Millau...Well worth the effort

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inter-Hotel Saint-Jacques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inter-Hotel Saint-Jacques

Address: 8 Place de la Liberte, 15100 Saint-Flour, France
Location: France > Auvergne > Cantal > Saint-Flour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Saint-Flour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Inter-Hotel Saint-Jacques 2*
Number of rooms: 212
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inter-Hotel Saint-Jacques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inter-Hotel Saint-Jacques Saint-Flour, France, Europe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inter-Hotel Saint-Jacques, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.