We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good local food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Le Petit Mas

Auberge Le Petit Mas
63500 Issoire, France
04 73 54 45 27
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 48 Restaurants in Issoire
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Nottingham
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good local food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Convenient (we stayed in the Ace hotel and could walk to the restaurant) and reasonably priced good food. In June we ate in a large marquee.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank PeterBeziers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant with Auvergne Specialities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Short walk from the Ace Hotel, lots of outside eating space in the summer, great food with "ordinary" food as well as the spcilaities which won't be for the unadventurous, plenty of parking if you have to dirve there (best if you don't as the wine is great). Good service and a reasonable bill as well - what more could you want?

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TerryMaidstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Romney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great atmosphere and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Had an evening meal here while on an overnight stop at the Ace Hotel. Great menu and the food lived up to our expectations. We were a party of 6, including relatives who live in the Auvergne and everyone raved about the evening. The starters and main courses were delicious and the dessert which has a taster of several desserts was to die for! Including quite a few drinks, the meal cost less than 30 euros a head, which I think is excellent value. Highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandy_T_145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimbergen, Belgium
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“tons of food at a great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We choose this place becuase it was in the middle of our trip to Spain, straight of the highway and next to some hotels... and it was so good, we reserved for our trip back home.
Don't expect any fancy tables or waiters... though there is indoor seating, during summer everything happens outdoors on a big covered terrace. The srvice is simple, but the food is great, ranging for oven-baked pizzas to real authentic local food. If you're only interested in a quick small bite, don't go there: the pizzas are huges, the portions of every other meal gigantic, including the ice-cream desserts. We discovered a local cheese which was excellent and some great house wine to go with it. Just make sure you reserve before you wonna go... local people tend to enjoy this restaurant as much as tourists, so it gets filled up pretty quickly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dirk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A short stroll from our hotel....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were just stopping for one night at the Ace Hotel and they recommended the Auberge as a good place to eat.So glad they did as it was a fun evening with beautifully cooked local food and a good selection of inexpensive wines...would highly recommend you make a detour and try this place....we certainly will the next time we are travelling down that way!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank arataP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auberge Le Petit Mas also viewed

Issoire, Puy-de-Dome
Issoire, Puy-de-Dome
 
Issoire, Puy-de-Dome
 

Been to Auberge Le Petit Mas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing