We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amphitryon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Amphitryon to your Saves list
Amphitryon
23, Place St Pierre, 64400 Oloron-Sainte-Marie, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My road biking partner and I stayed here in September as the first overnight stop on our cost to cost road biking trip and I cant recommend the place enough. Its set in the beautiful old part of town and the property itself is lovely, with the most charming rooms and the comunal areas and dining room are beautiful and very welcoming. We stayed in a twin room at the very top of the peoperty which was lovely with really comfortable beds, great shower and a beautiful view of the little square.

As for the hosts, you could not have asked more more charming, welcoming and helpful people and we spent the evening in their company as they prepared an amazing 5-6 course meal for us. The food was generous and very tasty and all served with generous helpings of the local wine. For breakfast we were fed a prober bikers breakfast that would keep us going for hours and also given some chocolate treats for the journey.

All in all we had a great stay at the the Amphitryon and would love to come back there, so much so that I would even consider traversing the Pyrenees on a bike again just to justify going back for another stay.

Very highly recomended.

Gunilla & Andy- September 2012

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    20
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
51
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This was the one stop on our trip that we were somewhat unsure about, and it ended up being the most memorable. The accommodations were incredibly clean. The rooms were great size (more than enough room to sleep three guys), and the property was in a great location for exploring the city. Patrick and Corinne were extremely accommodating. The total combined French vocabulary of our group was probably limited to less than 10 words, and they made us feel extremely comfortable with their impeccable English, and friendly attitudes. The home made traditional French meal (prepared with all local food/ingredients) was fantastic, and is a must. They take the time to explain the relevance of each item to the area. The morning of our departure, we were headed to Pamplona, Spain. Patrick spent at least 30 minutes noting on a map for us, the most scenic route to take, including must see hikes and towns. We could not have asked for a more pleasant place to stay. Thank you Patrick and Corinne for a having such a wonderful bed and breakfast! I look forward to my return.

Room Tip: Accept the offer for the home made dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The perfect base for rides into the Pyrenees on our motorbike and walks into Oloron-Sainte-Marie. Our room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. Relaxing evenings, beginning with aperitifs in the garden, were shared with other guests and our hosts, Corinne and Patrick, who prepared delicious meals between them. Corinne and Patrick made everyone very welcome and we would certainly recommend the Amphitryon to anybody visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Excellent in every way. Clean,comfortable accommodation with lovely evening meal shared with hosts Corinne & Patrick.Would be fine for lone travellers too as hosts are so welcoming & take care all guests are included in conversation at the table.Wonderful location for touring with motorbike. Would definately return to the area & to Amphitryon particularly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STOKE MANDEVILLE
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Great location, easy access to the mountains and Spain.Then after a hard days touring to return to an evening with Patrick, Corinne and guests is so relaxing. Try speaking some French, or not as the hosts speak perfect English, but do join in at least once on your stay.
Patrick cooks the mains and Corinne specialises in the desserts. Good French cuisine.

We would like to return just to stay with Patrick and Corinne again let alone to revisit the stunning scenery in the area.
Merci beaucoup Patrick et Corinne, pour un sejour agreable.
Gary and viv

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

(stayed late April 2012)
Patrick and Corine - a lovely couple who cares for their guests well. Great advice is provided also for sightseeing around town and driving routes. They were sweet to accommodate our early morning (breakfast from before the usual 0800 hour) as we need to head to golf in Pau (about 30 minutes' drive from Oloron St Marie.)

We had a communication breakdown as PC broke down at their side in the last finalisation stage of arrangement but glad that the Oloron tourism office also helped with confirming our mails correspondences and put us back on track. They waited for us upon arrival - French election day.

We enjoyed the homely atmosphere, meeting with other guests during dinner time - couples from Italy, other French towns and a pilgrim gentleman on his way to Santiago de Comspostella. The area is a very quiet area. There is a grocery shop 'across' the street for water, fruits and other basic needs, if needed to.

Location: Great area to be in to explore Vallee d'Aspe and other routes towards Peyrenees
Amenities: hair dryer, hand soap, towels
Room: cleaned every 2 days, warm, homely with nice design
Meals: Magnificently homely and organic, not to mention, above all delicious. Dinner time begins from 2030 hour. Brief introduction to local cheese and wines are also. Juracon wines are good.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

すごく優しいなご夫婦です。 食事は家庭ふうで、とても美味しい、健康です。 夕飯は夜の8時半からです。 一匹猫と一匹犬もいます。すごくおとなしいです。 できたら、9月ごろのほうが もっといい観光の月です。

Room Tip: We stayed at Patrimoine room - spacious room, overlooking garden. This can accommodate another in he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Whilst researching Oloron-Saint-Marie, we came across l'Amphitryon Chambers & Table d'Hotes on the web. Whilst all the reviews of the property we could find were in French we decided after consulting our French/English dictionary, to take a chance on the opportunity to stay somewhere we could also enjoy local cuisine with the host/s. We booked for Saturday 14 Jan 2012. Well, what a find!! we are still talking about our stay now we are back in Australia - it is one of the stand out memories and evening meal of our month in France. Patrick and Corrine are exceptional hosts. Full of information and very easy to ask questions of and both are fantastic cooks. The meal of brushetta type entree, pan fried canard and seasonal vegetables and local style pie accompanied by regional wines and finished with a wonderful sheep's cheese. We went to bed feeling satisfied but not full. We will surely be back next time we are in France and Patrick will probably have to put up with our presence for a week!

Room Tip: I would suggest that all rooms would be as good as the two we had. The one at the front overlooked t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amphitryon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphitryon

Address: 23, Place St Pierre, 64400 Oloron-Sainte-Marie, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Bearn-Basque Country > Bearn > Oloron-Sainte-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Oloron-Sainte-Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house is an ancient presbytery situated in the medieval quarter of OLORON STE MARIE. Possibility to relax in the parish priest'garden and to savour the fresh organic food ! Five rooms hight confort for a nice stay ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Amphitryon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amphitryon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.