We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult to rate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Kayoc

Le Kayoc
2, allee Pierre Ortal, 33680 Lacanau-Ocean, Lacanau, France
+33 5 56 03 20 75
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 59 Restaurants in Lacanau-Ocean
Price range: $37 - $50
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Derbyshire, England
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Difficult to rate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a difficult one. The restaurant has an absolutely fantastic position and view of the beach and ocean. It also sets it's sights slightly higher than the other places to eat around the same area. The restaurant and outside seating have a kind of quality relaxed feel. It really is quite good. However, I thought that the food didn't quite live up to the expectation. 30 euros for the 3 course set menu sounds good. I had fish soup, I've had much better at other cheaper restaurants. Then Turbot, which was good, but the potatoes were luke warm. That was it for the 2nd course. Pudding, I chose Chocolate fondant, which was good with some decent Ice Cream. So, I can't really make my mind up about the food. Rest of the family's food was similar. Some courses good, some not so. service was very hit and miss too. Some staff members were very good, some didn't care one bit. I'm going to mark this one as average, but you may get a different experience. i have a feeling that if you catch this restaurant on a good day, it would be great. If you are unlucky, like I think we were, you'll be disappointed. This restaurant will always get customers due to its excellent position. Experience tells me that a restaurant down a backstreet has to work hard to get you to come back. Le Kayoc will survive if you don't. Give it a go, you may fall lucky.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    109
    58
    28
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A must”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I love the place and did not like the prices of course but i guess it is inevitable at this time of the year...everywhere is the same...

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Mans, France
2 reviews
“Sunset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Had a lovely Mediterranean salad and watched the sunset at the beach. The staff is professional and watchful. The food was quite good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This restaurant is open all year round and it is a place where quality food is served. I had lunch there a few years ago and wanted to come back as that past experience had been so good. We decided to choose the €19.50 menu which is a two course menu. Starter and main dish or main dish and dessert. The food was basic and quite simple: cuttlefish in a spicy sauce and mussels and chips. Nothing requiring great cooking skills. The mussels were OK... As we were still a bit hungry we finally chose a "café gourmand" which consists in an expresso served with a selection of 5 little desserts. That was really nice ! In the end we ended up with a bill of 35 Euros per preson with a little bottle of white wine. That's really too expensive. I suppose the food would have been much better "à la carte" but you expect something nice even if you chose the first menu. As a conclusion, I think that will certainly be my last visit at Le Kayoc.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This restaurant was doing good business when most of the place was closed down. The food was of a high standard and well presented. The staff were all very young and most pleasant.

It was close to l'Oyat. If you are a guest there it is worth mentioning that at the beginning of your meal as there is a discount that applies.

Great location on the beach front.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Kayoc also viewed

Cap-Ferret, Lege-Cap-Ferret
Andernos-les-Bains, Gironde
 
Lacanau-Ocean, Lacanau
 

Been to Le Kayoc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Kayoc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.