We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Kayoc

Le Kayoc
2, allee Pierre Ortal, 33680 Lacanau-Ocean, Lacanau, France
+33 5 56 03 20 75
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 63 Restaurants in Lacanau-Ocean
Price range: $33 - $45
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
kuala lumpur
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A must”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I love the place and did not like the prices of course but i guess it is inevitable at this time of the year...everywhere is the same...

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    122
    64
    33
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Le Mans, France
2 reviews
“Sunset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Had a lovely Mediterranean salad and watched the sunset at the beach. The staff is professional and watchful. The food was quite good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This restaurant is open all year round and it is a place where quality food is served. I had lunch there a few years ago and wanted to come back as that past experience had been so good. We decided to choose the €19.50 menu which is a two course menu. Starter and main dish or main dish and dessert. The food was basic and quite simple: cuttlefish in a spicy sauce and mussels and chips. Nothing requiring great cooking skills. The mussels were OK... As we were still a bit hungry we finally chose a "café gourmand" which consists in an expresso served with a selection of 5 little desserts. That was really nice ! In the end we ended up with a bill of 35 Euros per preson with a little bottle of white wine. That's really too expensive. I suppose the food would have been much better "à la carte" but you expect something nice even if you chose the first menu. As a conclusion, I think that will certainly be my last visit at Le Kayoc.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This restaurant was doing good business when most of the place was closed down. The food was of a high standard and well presented. The staff were all very young and most pleasant.

It was close to l'Oyat. If you are a guest there it is worth mentioning that at the beginning of your meal as there is a discount that applies.

Great location on the beach front.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great new addition to Lacanau ocean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Me and my family have been to Lacanau ocean many times and we're looking for a new restaurant to discover, since our all time favourite La Braconne seems to have lost its charm and service. We stumbled on Le Kayoc and decided to give it a try. We we're seated, by a guy who looked like he had just ran a marathon (his back was that sweaty), on the lovely terrace overlooking the splendid ocean and sunset, which is Kayoc's main attraction. All six of us ordered the €28 menu, which had a wide variety of dishes. We especially enjoyed the shrimp & mushroom risotto and the calamaris as an entree, the magret de canard and the sardines as a main, and while the last sunrays hit our faces we feasted on a jummy desert, a red fruit crumble with vanilla mousse.
In conclusion, a place we will definitely include on our Lacanau ocean list of favourites!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Kayoc also viewed

Lacanau-Ocean, Lacanau
 
Lacanau-Ocean, Lacanau
Cap-Ferret, Lege-Cap-Ferret
 

Been to Le Kayoc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Kayoc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.