We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach is excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plage d'Hendaye

Plage d'Hendaye
Boulevard de la Mer, Hendaye, France
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 17 Attractions in Hendaye
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beach is excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My family and I enjoyed the beach a lot. We stayed and enjoyed the beach in the afternoon, following it with dinner at one of the restaurants close to the beach and then went on a boat ride to the other side under a full moon. Quite a treat!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    85
    9
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pearl in Henday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is the best beach I ever saw!
Splendid sandy beach, very clean and comfortable, not crowded.
We had a very romantic walk with my husband at the night...

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great sandy beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Excellent beach for children. Huge expanse of sand and very gently shelving. You can walk in 100 metres and still only be up to your knees! Excellent water quality. Very popular resort and the holiday makers promenade from one end of the beach to the other - at least 3 miles! No changing facilities.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Pretty Hendaye, the beach, the bay and its castle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Hendaye is a bit like the poor cousin of Biarritz, but it's very neat, tidy and not as expensive, and you only need to walk across the bridge of the "Avenue d'Espagne", and you're in Spain! Fantastic.
The beach is well equipped, lots of kids beach clubs in summer, sadly the weather wasn't the best when we went there.
While in Hendaye, go to the tourism office and they will give you all the details to travel cheaply from Hendaye to San Sebastian (in Spain) by train. Worth every penny. Return tickets for 2 adults did cost us about 7 euros (yes, that's 3.50 each!).
Quiet little harbour with the river separating France from Spain.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plage d'Hendaye also viewed

Biarritz, Basque Country
Hendaye, Basque Country
 
Le Grau-du-Roi, Gard
Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Plage d'Hendaye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plage d'Hendaye, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.