We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ibaia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ibaia to your Saves list
Hotel Ibaia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   76 avenue des Mimosas, 64700 Hendaye, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Hendaye
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Only stayed two nights but found everything about the hotel excellent. Spacious clean room with ac, super view, comfy bed and very helpful friendly staff.
I would definitely recommend booking car parking place as parking in the area is difficult as it is so popular. Also check out cost if you are staying a while and have an animal as our dog cost 15€ a night while usually he costs up to 5€.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    11
    15
    9
    7
See reviews for
10
21
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Maine
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We spent a night at the Hotel Ibaia and found it to be perfectly acceptable. Somewhat confusingly, it is one of two hotels on the same block that share the "Serge Blanco" name, so I suspect the reason this property hasn't been reviewed in so long is because people are putting their reviews to the other property. Hotel Ibaia is not directly on the beach, but we had marina views from our balcony and the beach is just around the corner. The hotel is also convenient to a large number of restaurants and shops. The area is pretty quiet and more relaxed than the beach side, despite being just around the corner. The public areas of the hotel were clean and well-maintained, and the staff we encountered were friendly. The room was reasonably spacious, clean, and comfortable. The free wi-fi and air conditioning were both appreciated. The pool area is attractive, and the pool itself seemed to be well-maintained. We had half-board and found the dinner to be simple but pleasant. Breakfast was the usual, basic European fare, but I'd call it a half-step above what we had at most other hotels we stayed at in the same region. If you're arriving by train expect to pay 10 to 15 euros for a cab ride to the hotel, depending on if you arrive in Irun or Hendaye.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Maine
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Be careful if booking this hotel since there is a second one nearby that also carries the Serge Blanco name. Located close to the oceanside promenade and beach. Our room had a nice balcony overlooking the pool and marina. The room was clean and comfortable. The pool area was pretty, but I didn't see that they stocked it with any beach towels. The restaurant was just average; our appetizers were good, but the entree and dessert were just so-so. I would stay here again, but just plan to eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saito97453
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2006

Stay in the hotel IBIA 4 stars Serge Blanco to Hendaye of July 26th to 2 aout on 2006

I left with my friend in this hotel with 4 stars to spend holidays.

I clarify at once that I stay regularly in hotels of luxury abroad (hilton, sheraton, westin)

Hardly arrived, big disappointment,The room(chamber) is tiny (between 10 and 15m2) and it what in itself inadmissible for one 4 stars.

Staff are pleasant(kind) hotel, without more.

The big blackhead it is the swimming pool. In the reality the temperature of the water between 21 and 24.

And the customers of the 4 stars Hotel share the swimming pool with those of the residence vacancy serge blanco.
As a result, it is horrible to see the swimming pool squatted by kids who run, roar and play all day long around it ! As customer of the hotel, certain days I was not able to bathe nor read around the swimmig pool because there was no place to seat.


Other problem: the bar of the hotel is pitiful, it was necessary to call a waiter(server) to have a barman. The waiter(server) did not know how to prepare a pina colada !!!!! And there was no olive or a cacahuete nothing! And I do not speak about persons who cross the bar (situated inside of the hotel) dripping with water and in swimsuit: great class!


The breakfast is more than means, but costs only 12 €.

Only positive point if you are in half pension, the food is excellent, but composed in 90 % of fish and the menu is imposed ( no choice).



In brief a hotel to forget at once!!!!

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2006

THe city is great, the hotel is a 3* but not a 4*. I think prices are a little bit high for this hotel. Around the hotel, several places also owned by Serge Blanco... I had the rooms with marina view, with a terrace. the rooms are pleasant. THe only "not positive point" is the price which is to my opinion too high for the value.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ibaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibaia

Address: 76 avenue des Mimosas, 64700 Hendaye, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Hendaye
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Hendaye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibaia 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ibaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibaia Hotel Hendaye

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ibaia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.