We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B and the most caring B&B owners!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
51 rue des Cordeliers, 24200 Sarlat-la-Caneda, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Shanghai
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Best B&B and the most caring B&B owners!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My family of 4 stayed at Les Cordeliers in July 2012 for three nights. It was the most memorable 3 days during our 3-week long trip in France. The facility was of course perfect. What really made the difference was the owners, Chris and Amanda.

Room
For the 4 of us, we had Room No 1 on their website. The room was very spacious and beautiful, and super clean. The photos on their website are definitely not photo-shopped. Actually, the real thing looked even more warm and pleasant.
At the time of check in, Chris pointed out that the couple staying in the next room had a little baby and hence if the baby's cry bothered us, we should let him know and he would try to find an alternative (see how thoughtful he was?). It turned out that the walls of the house were thick enough. We could barely hear a thing.

Location
The B&B is right at the edge of the old town. In less than 5 mins of walk, we were in the middle of the historical center.
The best part is on the famous Saturday Market Day in Sarlat, the streets are closed up to the one right in front of the B&B. However, the main entrance of the B&B is on the side street right around the corner. Hence, you can choose to either jump into the action or come in and out of the B&B as usual on Market Days. Actually that's what we did. We spent three hours wandering through the Saturday Market (it was crowded but fantanstic!!), and then checked out of the B&B, hopped into our car (parked on the side street as usual), and drove to the next town on our trip.

Service
Chris and Amanda are very kind hearted, thoughtful, and warm, but professional at the same time.
At the time I reserved the room, I asked Amanda for advice on sights to be seen in the area. She sent me a really long list of sights with her personal take. We took her advice, extended our stay to 3 nights (was only planning on 1 night), visited the Font-de-Gaume, saw the castles, did the canoeing, and had a really good time!
The B&B has a very well stocked pantry with water, soda, tea, coffee, wine, pastries, cookies, and candies. Everything's complimentary. It was just really nice to come back everyday, make myself a cup of tea, and nibble on a piece of cookie before I went to bed. It felt like home. On the day we left, when Chris was helping us to bring the luggage downstairs, he asked my daughter to remember to take some water, soda, and candy from the pantry as we had a long drive ahead of us. It's those little things that really showed how thoughtful he was.
You need to pay extra for breakfast but for the quality of it (freshly squeezed juice, made to order eggs, plus all kinds of fruits, bread, cheese, cold meat etc.), it was worth it.

Room Tip: Room 1 is on the second floor, and looks out to the side street. If you want to face the garden in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    20
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
63
250
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Les Cordeliers is well located in Sarlat: It is just outside the old city walls, so it's reasonably quiet and driving is not too difficult, but it's close enough for easy walking within the old town. Our group had three different rooms. All were large, well furnished, and with large, well equipped bathrooms. Complimentary buffet breakfast was of high quality, and the service was gracious. Prices were very reasonable for this quality. I can't imagine a better choice in the area of Sarlat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

During our trip to France over the October half term we stayed 2 nights at this fab find right in the centre of Sarlat. Really you can't get a better location if you want to be a street away from the town centre. Customer service here is outstanding - far better than the larger hotels that this B&B is competing with. First of all, there is a room with free soft drinks, water, wine and beer, as well as snacks including nuts, crisps and chocolate. After a long 2-hour drive to get to Sarlat, what a welcome relief it was to know we didn't have to trek out straight away just to get a drink! We relaxed immediately. The rooms are basic but very clean - we stayed in room 4, which was very large, had views out onto the street and which had a shower (I had specifically requested a room with a shower when we booked). Breakfast was continental and has everything you could want. In addition, Chris will make eggs and toast on request - the scrambled eggs were delicious. There is free parking up the road a short walk away. The town itself was quiet this time of year so we didn't have trouble with parking although not sure what it is like in summer months - we heard that it can get very busy on Saturdays. Overall, brilliant stay and would return.

Room Tip: Room 4 is very spacious with a double bed and a single bed. It overlooks onto the street and has a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The owners of this lovely bed and breakfast certainly know that to make someone feel welcome, you need to take care of every little detail. So, from the lovely and comfortable decor up to smallest details at breakfast, Chris and Amanda have made their B&B a wonderful place to be and to feel well. An experience worth remembering and repeating!
M. Aguiar - Rio de Janeiro

Room Tip: We got to see 2 rooms, both were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed 2 days at this nice Bed and Breakfast in Sarlat. Chris and Amanda are accommodating hosts. We had a nice large room with a great view of the square. Bathroom was large with a stand-alone shower and also a tub. Comfortable king size bed. Location is in the city center within easy access to old city. Complimentary snacks and drinks including coffee, beer, water and wine. Amanda did our laundry without charge. Highly recommended and would stay at this B&B again.

Room Tip: Room 5 is the largest of all the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed 5 nights at this B & B in September. We had a front room on the second floor that was very large and a large bathroom with a tub, no shower. I thought the tub might be an issue for me due to some problems following back surgery, so Amanda offered to let me use the bath in the "spare" room. Our room was clean, quiet and very comfortable. The B & B has a small kitchenette with an under cabinet refrigerator, a coffee machine, some free drinks and basic dishware and utensils. We found it handy. The location is great and there is free parking up the hill in a town lot. Amanda and Chris were great hosts and gave us a lot of helpful information. Breakfast was buffet style except for the hot drinks and fresh orange juice (literally while you wait). There is no elevator and all rooms are on the second floor. Chris helps with the bags if needed. Because we stayed 5 nights Amanda did a load of laundry for us which was very helpful on a month long trip.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Loved the room size, proximity to sights, great 6 euro breakfast, nearby parking and the great host and hostess. Super accommodating! Book early and don't miss Sarlat and the great sites nearby! A car is essential! Amanda even did our laundry!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast

Address: 51 rue des Cordeliers, 24200 Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Cordeliers is a luxury bed and breakfast overlooking the beautiful memorial square in the centre of the famous medieval town of Sarlat-la-Caneda. The rooms are spacious and air conditioned with ensuite bathrooms. Two of the rooms have super king size beds. Four double bedrooms, one with private roof terrace. Three twin bed rooms , two with views over the beautiful garden square. Free tea and coffee making facilities. International breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Les Cordeliers Hotel
Les Cordeliers b&b
Les Cordeliers Bed And Breakfast France/Sarlat-La-Caneda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.