We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Madeleine & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Plaza Madeleine & Spa to your Saves list
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 place Petite Rigaudie, 24200 Sarlat-la-Caneda, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
€10 off room rate
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Surrey
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“A lovely stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel is ideally positioned for Sarlat Old Town and all the restaurants and shops. We stayed for three nights and it was a lovely base to enjoy Sarlat and the surrounding areas. The rooms are well proportioned even though we were in the attic rooms which are the cheapest and I am sure the smallest.

A small criticism is that you need to be somewhat of a contortionist or have three hands to use the wall mounted hair dryer. Having said that the Manager produced a more portable one as soon as I asked.

The breakfast was good with lots of fresh fruit and the staff very helpful. We also enjoyed our nightcaps in the comfortable bar.

All together a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    133
    32
    12
    3
See reviews for
33
178
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Lovely lovely hotel: not too big, modern and comfortable in a terrific location. highly recommended. The hotel has a nice relaxed atosphere. the room was excellent, we felt good and wekcomed The decoration, style and overall look and feel - top rate.
Our reservation did not include breakfast so we took it once- nice and good value, but for the remaining 2 mornings we went out of the hotel for a 2 minutes walk and had coffee and delicious pasteries for a rediculous price - so keep your head open to all options ....

Room Tip: you don't need to have breakfast there if not included in your price. there are yummy cafes and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We throughly enjoyed our stay at Plaza Madeleine. The staff was courteous and helpful, the facilities were beautifully updated and the location was right next to the old town. Just walk right out the front doors and into history -- an area boasting amazing architecture and history, not to mention shopping and restaurants. The room was comfortable and well sized for a French hotel, it was quiet even though we faced a busy street a few stories down, and the bed was very comfortable. The free WiFi was great, though it can be a bit spotty at times.

Make sure and reserve car parking in advance, there is a private offsite lot that is gated where you can park for a fee. Also, be forewarned, if you arrive on a weekend you may find it impossible to find a place to park in order to check in. You do not receive the code for the parking area until AFTER you check in. There is one small parking spot in front of the hotel (that doesn't really look like a parking spot at all) that is available for checking in and checking out. It allows you a place to unload or load luggage, check in or out of the hotel, before moving your car. But you have to look for it, because we drove by the hotel several times without knowing what it was.

Overall, it was a beautiful hotel in a lovely town. We wish we could have spent more time in both!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here for 6 days. The experience was great. Probably the best location in Sarlat with the hotel being right at the edge of the old town. The old town is pedestrian only so you can not park there. They provide a private parking lot around the corner which we used since I had heard that parking was difficult in the area.

The hotel is modern, nicely styled, and the rooms are clean, up-to-date, very comfortable. We stayed in the basic room and it was spacious by european standards. Probably average by american standards.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Most speak fluent english.

The pool is lovely. It feels very private and is well taken care of. The lounge area is very nice - we spent alot of time there reading and relaxing in afternoons.The spa is also very nice.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area!

One thing to consider - if you are traveling to Sarlat on a saturday, you should call ahead and see where you can park and unload. The whole street closes down for the market. We ended up leaving on a saturday and had no issues coming from their private lot.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent two nights here and were very happy with the location, facilities and value for money. The room was a tad small but perfectly adequate. Free wifi and small pool were a plus. The hotel is within walking distance of all shops, restaurants and attractions in this lovely town. The market each Saturday takes place right outside the hotel and all along the main streets, it is one of the best markets we have been to - a mixture of food, clothes, jewellery and gifts and all of good quality. We were not told on booking that it is necessary to book car parking, so on arrival the hotel parking was full. However, we parked a five minute walk away in a large, free car park which was perfectly acceptable and saved us €30!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Situated at the start of the pedestrian quarter of Sarlat, this hotel is an excellent value for money.It has AC in the room, beds are comfy and staff friendly and helpfull.Highly recommended in this great city of Sarlat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YORKSHIRE
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Fantastic Hotel, which lives up to it's claim of being a luxury hotel. We stayed in a Prestige Room which was just pure luxury. We could not fault our view of the room and hotel ammenities. The pool and hot tub were fantastic and had we wished the steam room and sauna, but we chose not to use it, mainly because the lovely August weather kept us poolside. We have seen other reviews about the hotel and it's claim of being a spa hotel and I would agree that we were also under the impression from their website that they would have an indoor pool and full spa facilities which would normally include massage and perhaps other spa treatments.

Breakfast was very disorganised because food was laid out in different areas and some of the staff could do with a lesson in smiling !! But the quality of the food and choice was essentially very good.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Prestige Room which carried a higher tarrif especially during high season, but it tic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaza Madeleine & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Madeleine & Spa

Address: 1 place Petite Rigaudie, 24200 Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sarlat-la-Caneda
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaza Madeleine & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL PLAZA MADELEINE Hotel & Spa is an exclusive 4-star hotel in the center of the city. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of Sarlat with direct access to the medieval city with its mansions & monuments, markets, shops & restaurants, shows & events streets .... PLAZA MADELEINE Hotel & Spa is the privilege of the city center a wellness area with heated pool, jacuzzi, Hamman, sauna, solarium ... The property is fully air conditioned and offers free high-speed WiFi. The hotel also offers a garage ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Plaza Madeleine & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Madeleine Hotel
Plaza Madeleine And Spa
De La Madeleine Hotel
Plaza Madeleine & Spa France/Sarlat-La-Caneda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Madeleine & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.