We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Madeleine & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Plaza Madeleine & Spa to your Saves list
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 place Petite Rigaudie, 24200 Sarlat-la-Caneda, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

On first impressions this place is good. Well located on the edge of the old part of town, attractive building on a pretty square, and obviously recently refurbished with smart, contemporary public areas and room. What let the place down for us was firstly the noise in our room from some kind of machinery installed on the roof above our room. We were in a club room which short of their suites is their top grade room so in addition to the inconvenience of the noise, we were suprised they'd place any kind of room let alone one of their most expensive in such a rubbish location. The second issue was the haughty and unhelpful gentlemen we dealt with at reception when in need of some advice to help deal with a minor medical issue. His attitude was appalling. Good luck if you're ever taken really ill while at this place. To be fair, the young woman on reception for most of the stay was always polite and helpful. The spa was not open and the pool area looked nice but has about 6 beds and we couldnt get a space. The pub/restaurant off the lobby is decked out very well in terms of appearance and has good but not great meals and ok service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    136
    33
    9
    3
See reviews for
32
181
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed in this hotel several years ago and didn't have a particularly good experience. It has been entirely renovated fairly recently (early 2010, I think) and it is now a place that I would recommend. Its location is perfect, right at the entrance of the old city center which is very convenient.
Our room was spacious ('Executive' type) and well decorated, contemporary style; big flat LCD TV, wi-fi, etc. But the bathroom was a bit small compared to the room The pool/spa is very nice-looking but we didn't use it as it was too chilly outside, and we didn't use the hammam/sauna facilities. The staff was professional and helpful.
The hotel restaurant is of the 'Brasserie' type with an atmosphere of English pub; the food is good but nothing special and not of the Perigord style. Breakfast is served in a special room with character; nice buffet.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, NJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

My family and I stayed at the hotel Madeleine for 2 days in June 2011. This is an excellent hotel, ideally situtated in the historic part of Sarlat. It has been recently renovated with taste. Beds are also very comfortable, and we had a charming view on one of the main squares of Sarlat. It was great to have a swimming pool in the hotel on these hot June days. Employees were all very nice and helpful.
It is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

As part of a Minnesota Alumni tour, we stayed in this hotel for nearly a week, and we enjoyed it very much. The room was more than adequate and very quiet. There was an excellent pool and deck area with an interesting spa (steam, sauna, etc.). The food was good but not as good as some of the places we ate in the town, still good by any definition. Our rooms were part of a package deal, so I can't really speak to the value of the room; but it was up-to-date and the whole place looked like it had just been remodeled.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be good, but some were small
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

This hotel is situated right in the heart of Sarlat. It is a hotel and a small spa that really only functions in the Spring Summer. The welcome was very friendly and helpful given this was pre-christmas and relatively little was open but they found us a nice restaurant. The bar and dining room are well laid out in a traditional style and breakfast (buffet) was very good. Rooms was recentky decorated to a good finish but was called a junior suite when in reality it was an ordinary double bedroom.

You come to this hotel because this marvellous historic is right outside your door and for a couple of days stay it is a perfect place to discover the local area on foor.

One slight blemish. We left a samll plastic file at the front desk on departure (by accident) and they insisted on €25 to be paid in advance for them to send it to us...in France!

Room Tip: Bargain out of season for upgrades and 25% discoun
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Don't arrive or leave on Saturday because the hotel is located in the center of the Saturday market and roads are closed. It's a pain. The hotel was nice. My room had a great view of the park. Parking is a minor inconvenience. The front desk lady was a female dog but that's expected. No early check-in. Don't even bother asking. I had to eat lunch in my car. Worth a visit though because of the area. Better than Perigueux for cave visits. Suggestion? Drive over to Rocamadour. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

I stayed at the Hotel de la Madeleine for 6 nights and found it to be a perfect place tfrom which to explore the Dordogne region by car. Day trips can be taken to the gardens of Maqueyssac, to Beynac, Rocamadour, Carennac, Les Eyzies, the caves, and the incredible village of La Roque Gagneac. It's location in Sarlat is in the heart of oldtown and there are many restaurants and shops within an easy walk. The Saturday outdoor market is right in front of the hotel. The hotel offers two internet computers free of charge for its guests. Breakfast was quite acceptable, but I would not recommend eating dinner there. There are far better restaurants in town. Had some difficulty ordering room service - my order was "lost", but when I contacted them again after an hour, my meal came very promptly. Some people complained of noisy rooms in the front, but my room on the side with no view was generally quiet except for trashmen who did their jobs quite early in the morning. I would absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaza Madeleine & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Madeleine & Spa

Address: 1 place Petite Rigaudie, 24200 Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sarlat-la-Caneda
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaza Madeleine & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL PLAZA MADELEINE Hotel & Spa is an exclusive 4-star hotel in the center of the city. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of Sarlat with direct access to the medieval city with its mansions & monuments, markets, shops & restaurants, shows & events streets .... PLAZA MADELEINE Hotel & Spa is the privilege of the city center a wellness area with heated pool, jacuzzi, Hamman, sauna, solarium ... The property is fully air conditioned and offers free high-speed WiFi. The hotel also offers a garage ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, T4B and Hotels.com so you can book your Plaza Madeleine & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Madeleine Hotel
Plaza Madeleine And Spa
De La Madeleine Hotel
Plaza Madeleine & Spa France/Sarlat-La-Caneda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Madeleine & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.