We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B in Sarlat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Lanterne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Lanterne
Save
You added La Lanterne to your Saves list
9 bis Rue Montaigne, 24200 Sarlat-la-Caneda, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B in Sarlat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband I recently stayed with the Bowen's at their lovely La Lanterne. Terri had been very helpful when we were planning our trip, and both she and Roy were great with helping us decide on our various activities in this beautiful corner of France. Richard serves a lovely breakfast and was also very attentive. Terri and her assistant (sorry! lost the name) were so nice and did our laundry for us. SO NICE. This is a special place in a beautiful area, and we so enjoyed it- from the lively breakfasts with the Aussies, to our canoe trip, to the great meals we had in town. We shall return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    17
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
45
307
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We have not long returned to Australia after a week's hospitality from the Bowens at La Lanterne. Our experience in their Bed and Breakfast was faultless and perhaps we were lucky that the tripadvisor's #1 rated place was full - who kindly referred us to the Bowens.

The location is the best in town, on a gentle hill overlooking the cathedral grounds with no passing traffic. The walk to the town square is literally a minute or two away, restaurants abound and free parking is located only a short walk away.

The accommodation is rustic but homely with modern bathrooms, we were in the loft which I could imagine getting warm in summer; they provided us with a fan and cooler so not a problem.

The dining room lounge is open to everyone and very comfortable. Breakfast is first class and reasonably priced with good coffee (thank you Richard). The Bowens have two small dogs which our 11 year old daughter fell in love with; fibi and frodo. They didnt make a sound and added to our live in experience.

Terri and Roy are only too happy to share a glass of wine in the courtyard and their experiences in and around Sarlat - one of the most amazing places to stay; quite central in the region and the best place to stay to explore. Everything is so close. They happily made reservations (even tho Roy is not a travel agent), and in 8 years have obviously built up knowledge of the restaurants and cafes form their guests reviews.

We look forward to returning - the memories are still indelible. Sorry Richard for the racing car drive back to La Lanterne and squeezing down some of those narrow streets when you helped us load our baggage.

Room Tip: There are stairs, perhaps the lower levels are preferable if you have a gammy leg
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

During our 3 night stay we experienced a very warm and relaxing atmosphere in a wonderful medieval house, which has been lovingly restored in the traditional manner (or should that be "manor"). Nothing was a problem for "Team Bowen" (our gracious hosts), whose helpfulness both prior to and during our stay was greatly appreciated. Our lovely room (The Courtyard Room) was very comfortable and the breakfasts (served by Richard) were excellent. The location is ideal - so handy to everything. Terri and Roy are the perfect hosts and we thoroughly recommend "La Lanterne" to anyone wishing to stay in the Sarlat-La-Caneda area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We arrived at La Lanterne after a long drive & immediately felt at home. The hosts are very friendly and made our stay perfect. In fact we wanted to change our plans and stay longer but unfortunately they were full. The tapestry room was not very big but beautiful and comfortable. Breakfast was superb and sitting in the courtyard with a glass of wine in the evening was a pleasure and a good way of meeting other guests.The location could not be better a 2 minute walk and you are in the centre of Sarlat with an abundance of restaurants. Our hosts were on hand to answer any questions about the area and advised us about some lovely places to visit. Terri and Roy did not even complain when we had forgotten our key and came back late. Terri let us in with a smile. They are genuinely nice people and very accommodating. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

From our first communications with Terri via email we knew we were in good hands. She was very helpful and accommodating. On our arrival, which was on Sat. (market day), Richard walked across town with my husband to fetch the car and take him to the convenient off site parking.
Our upstairs room was spacious with characteristic beams, exposed brick and had a view of the court yard and church across the way. Bathroom was on the small side but modern & shower had very good water pressure.
Honor bar & lounge area was a nice way to meet other guests if you wished, but large enough if you just wanted to read or write. Roy was on hand each night to lend his expertise on the local history and attractions, with recommendations on dining and things to do.
Sarlat is a great location for visiting the area. Yes, it's crowded during the day and has lots of "tourist" shops but at night it was just right and the lighting after dark is magical. We only wish the weather had been better so we could have enjoyed the courtyard. Would definitely stay at La Lantern again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed at La Lanterne for 2 nights in June 2013. As others have commented, the Bowens are extremely welcoming, helpful, and pleasant hosts. Terri personally met us in the adjacent parking area and helped us carry our bags to our room.

And their dog Frodo sings along to Puccini on the stereo.

The location is ideal, the breakfast is excellent, and the other guests were also pleasant and fun to meet. Roy and Terri have an honor bar where beer, wine, water and soft drinks are just 1 euro each, which is very convenient and a nice touch.

Our room was more than adequate by B&B standards -- remember, this is not a chain hotel with a reception desk and room service so don't go in expecting that. We wish we could have stayed for a few more days, but our schedule did not allow it. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My my wife, my friends and I totally enjoyed La Lanterne. The hosts were gracious, the rooms comfortable and the breakfasts most satisfying. We particularly enjoyed sitting in the small courtyard each evening where we socialized with the other guests.

The La Lanterne is in the old town and just a short walk from the town square where there are a number of restaurants and where they hold a weekly farmers market.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Lanterne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Lanterne

Address: 9 bis Rue Montaigne, 24200 Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Lanterne, the most centrally located B&B in Medieval Sarlat, offers comfort and a warm welcome. Four well appointed en-suite bedrooms, tastefully decorated reflecting the history of this beautiful home dating from 1503. A peaceful oasis with its flower-filled Courtyard and beamed Guest Lounge. Complimentary toiletries, welcome drinks, free WiFi, In-room Tea/Coffee. Literally in the heart of the town's historic centre, La Lanterne could not be better situated to discover and enjoy the wonders and delights of Medieval Sarlat. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Lanterne Hotel
La Lanterne France/Sarlat-La-Caneda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Lanterne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.