We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Couleuvrine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Couleuvrine to your Saves list
La Couleuvrine
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 place de La Bouquerie, 24200 Sarlat-la-Caneda, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We spent two weeks touring Spain and France in June and July, 2014. La Couleuvrine in Sarlat-la Caneda was truly an unexpected surprise. Yes, the rooms were a tad small but for a two star hotel everything else was exceptional. First, its location is within a stones throw of the heart of the town. Second, the half board deal was outstanding. The dinner was wonderful. Third, parking was convenient and provided. Finally, Stephanie, one of the owners, could not be more delightful and helpful. Merci, merci, merci!

Room Tip: We had the terrace room for 75 euro. Small but the terrace was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isacoul, Responsable réception at La Couleuvrine, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear guest. Thanks for sharing your experience with the other travelers. Glad you enjoyed the city and the hotel. It is a satisfaction also for us to read that you have enjoyed the half board formula because we really made efforts to propose some other dishes than local ones.
See you during your next stay in Sarlat !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    106
    53
    24
    8
See reviews for
49
151
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Once again on our trip through smaller type towns in France without our iPad to guide us through Trip Advisor recommendations, we stumbled on this hotel. We wanted to stay in the old city so that we could walk around easily before and after dinner. We were given a very nice room with a large bathroom and a private little patio that overlooked a small street. The bed and bedding gave us a great night's sleep. We would stay here again!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The family run La Couleuvrine Hotel is located at 1 Place de Boucquerie at the North East former gate of the once walled medieval town of Sarlat. It is within walking distance of the centre of the old town with its many restaurants.
The hotel does not offer private car parking but municipal car parking for which an hourly charge is made is available in nearby streets. Free car parking is available in a municipal car park in Place des Cordeliers approximately a 15 minute walk from the hotel.
When we arrived at reception the desk was unattended but the barman from the adjoining hotel bar came and checked us in. The room was not ready but the barman said we could place our luggage in the room and return in 3 hours, at 3.00 pm, when it would be ready.
We were provided with a room tucked away in the attic without any lift access. Access was by a steep flight of stairs. We requested a room on a lower floor but were told the hotel was full. The next day we asked again for a room on a lower floor but were told that one was not available. As a result we checked out a day earlier than we planned to.
The room was quite small, with a sloping ceiling which was less than head height over the desk. Roof beams stretched across one end of the room. Care had to be taken to avoid bumping a head on the beams. Being in the attic the room was hot, given that the temperature outside was 310C. There was no air conditioning and the only means of attempting to cool the room down was by leaving the small attic window open.
The room was reasonably clean but sheets were not changed each day. Fresh towels were provided.
There was a flat screen TV perched on top of a wardrobe, partially obscured by the exposed beams. (See photo) There was no in-room safe or mini bar. WI fi was free but the receptionist advised that we might not get satisfactory reception in the room but could in the public areas of the hotel. She was correct.
The bathroom was not only the home to a bath tub with shower over, a toilet and basin but also had a door to a fire exit. (See photo). A supply of hair and body gel, bars of soap and a hair dryer was provided in the bathroom.
Breakfast was not included in the room rate. A continental buffet breakfast was supplied in the outside dining area for an extra charge of 9.80 Euros per person. It included a range of fresh fruit and very good cheese. The food was plentiful and tasty.
The hotel is well located but our stay was not a pleasant one given the unsatisfactory room we were given. It is possible that this hotel clings tenuously to its current star rating.

Room Tip: Avoid the attic rooms like the plague.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isacoul, Responsable réception at La Couleuvrine, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

thanks for your stay at the hotel. I thank you for all the details you wrote to describe your stay. It is a good opportunity for us to evaluate the lakes and stenghts of the hotel and above all to enhance the quality of our services. Please next time you come to visit us, don't hesitate to remind us the disappointing stay you had last time and I will personnaly make sure that yu get a much better room.
Regarding the air-conditionning it is clearly wrote that we don't provide it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We spent two very pleasant nights here in May during a walking tour of the Dordogne.

The location is perfect, right on the edge of the old city. On Saturday the markets are just around the corner.

Our room was a good size with a comfortable bed and good sized bathroom. Although the room had evidently not been redecorated for some years everything was very clean and in good order. We were in room 10, near the business centre, and had good WiFi reception in our room.

The staff were friendly, the receptionist also looking after the small bar.

Just across the road is a laundry which will not only wash, dry and fold your clothes, but also deliver them back to the hotel.

We enjoyed an excellent dinner at the hotel on both nights of our stay. Breakfast was good - plenty of choice and very fresh.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isacoul, Propriétaire at La Couleuvrine, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour et merci de partager votre vécu. Vous nous encouragez à continuer sur cette voie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This property is right next to the Medieval City. Good location for walking around. Room was small but comfortable. If you are there on Saturday be sure to go to the farmer's market. Extraordinary. If you plan to leave early the next morning (before 8AM) you may want to pay the night before.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isacoul, Responsable réception at La Couleuvrine, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Google Translation
Cher client, merci pour votre séjour dans notre hôtel et aussi pour avoir pris le temps de nous faire partager votre expérience. Effectivement le marché du samedi matin est extraordinaire à la période qui arrive car il est situé au cœur de la cité médiévale de Sarlat. On y croise des épicuriens qui flânent dans les petites ruelles, d'un marchand à un autre avant de venir se restaurer au bistrot de la Couleuvrine !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The hotel location was absolutely great. We stayed in an upgraded room 9. The carpet on the staiways and hallways was dirty. The room size was very satisfactory. The furnishings were charming, but the floor was made of cheap panelboard, totally out of character with the old building the hotel was located in and the style it was trying to project.The bathroom would be lovelly, but several tiles with large cracks, dirty grout and some sections of grout missing totally ruined the picture.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isacoul, Propriétaire at La Couleuvrine, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thanks for your comment on our hotel. Be ensure we took your advices into account. Regarding the decoration, the floor in the room is not that "cheap"...It responses to customers' inquiries in terms of hygiene. For the carpets in the hallways, it has to be changed but we didn't have time to do it this year. As a matter of fact, the hotel is open all year long and it is not that easy to do works like this at any time of the year. We have redecorated 4 rooms in 2014 and we delayed the carpet thinking is was prefarable for our guest to first sleep in a charming room rather than to walk on a nice floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We were two couples eating dinner at the La Couleuvine and we were all very disappointed in our meals. The food was tasteless and the preparation was poor. The atmosphere was fine, but unfortunately none of us were happy with our meals.

Room Tip: We ate in their dining room but the four of us had rented an apartment elsewhere for the week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isacoul, Propriétaire at La Couleuvrine, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour,

Merci d'avoir déposé votre avis. Nous sommes désolés que le repas ne vous ai pas plu. Il aurait été bien de nous en informer au moment du repas. Ainsi, nous aurions pu répondre à vos attentes.

Cordialement,

Isabelle, Propriétaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Couleuvrine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Couleuvrine

Address: 1 place de La Bouquerie, 24200 Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Couleuvrine 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Couleuvrine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Couleuvrine Sarlat Canéda
La Couleuvrine Hotel Sarlat Canéda
La Couleuvrine France/Sarlat-La-Caneda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Couleuvrine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.