We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sarlat's La Villa des Consuls a Winner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa des Consuls

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Villa des Consuls
Save
You added La Villa des Consuls to your Saves list
3 rue Jean-Jacques Rousseau, 24200 Sarlat-la-Caneda, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sarlat's La Villa des Consuls a Winner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2007

My husband and I spent a week in Sarlat at La Villa des Consuls in September. Our apartment, la Boetie, had a comfortable queen bed and a sitting room with sofa bed/kitchen/dining area. Outside was a terrace that overlooked the main street below that became pedestrian only on Saturday market days. On the terrace was another table, two lounge chairs, and a working grill that we used twice. The apartment had new appliances including a microwave. We could have paid for parking, but we were able to park on the street nearby without much trouble. We purchased some groceries in a store just down the street and stopped at a large grocery just outside of town for anything extra that we needed.
The owner/manager David was especially helpful with any of our questions and spoke excellent English. He has lived in Sarlat most of his life except when he studied in Bordeaux and abroad. He knew the best restaurants as well as the tourist places to avoid and had ideas about vineyards nearby. Although breakfast was available, we chose to eat on our terrace. Internet in the main office cost a small amount extra but was a fast connection and generally available.
For anyone visiting Sarlat, Lascaux, or any other sites in the area, we recommend this apartment without reservation.

  • Liked — Terrace and Convenience
  • Disliked — Lack of door between bedroom and sitting room.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    52
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
77
133
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2007

My Wife and I stayed at La Villa des Consuls for a total of 9 nights, 7 nights at "Le Rempart" and 2 nights at "Fenelon". these were the only accomodations available (this is booking it 5 months in advance!)

Overall both properties were very comfortable, well designed with high quality fittings throughout. Locations are excellent for Sarlat. David was as mentioned in other reviews very efficient and hepful without being intrusive.

Firstly, I would strongly, strongly advise that you take the secure parking option as Sarlat is a parking nightmare! The garage offered is easily walked to about 200m away from the properties and accessed by touch key.

Le Rempart; This is a self contained house in a medieval passage.It is on 2 floors with Bedroom and bathroom upstairs and toilet, kitchen, dining area downstairs. The stairs are narrow and tightly curved which may present difficulties for those less mobile. The house could seem a little claustrophobic as front looks out onto narrow alleyway and back is just rock / roofs. Cooking facilities are fine (4 rings, convection microwave). Not too sure how it would be if people were also staying on foldup bed in dining / living area.It had been raining very heavily before and during the first part of our stay and the accomodation had a hint of a musty smell.

Fenelon; This is an attic apartment in the main complex. The suite is more or less on one level which we preferred and has nice airy outlook. Cooking hob is only 2 rings so not as capable as "Le Rempart" As the name implies it is an attic apartment so requires stair legs! There is a friendly bar next door, which may lead to a little noise at night!

Overall very pleasant stay. Would love to have seen the other apartments!

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2007

We had a very pleasant 3 night stay at Villa Des Consuls in Sarlat. We had the Mirabeau apartment which was just superb. The apartment was large, spotless clean, and has modern fixtures throughout. The location in Sarlat is unbeatable. David helped us with excellent restaurant recommendations and with information on area attractions. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shropshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2007

My husband, daughter (aged 9) and myself stayed here over Spring bank half term. We had the Montaigne apartment which is completely separate from the main accommodation. Positive points: accommodation ideal , huge terrace with sunloungers, table and chairs and bbq. Unfortunately we couldn't use any due to rain! Apartment also had the nice touches such as supply of dishwasher tablets and also heated towel rail which came in very handy for drying clothes when we had such bad weather. Negative point: garage was not close to the apartment which I thought it would be.
I could see a problem with traffic around Sarlat in July/August when the whole of Europe goes on holiday, but it was ok when we were there. The medieval town itself is pedestrianised.
Excellent sightseeing around. Remember to book Grotte de Font de Gaume in advance as tickets are limited. Gouffre de Prommeysac is worth a trip - especially the basket down into the cave - scarey! All in all a good area to visit and the accommodation is to be recommended most highly.

  • Liked — cleanliness and location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2007

A friend and I stayed a week in the Fenelon studio at Villa des Consuls in March/April of this year. It was a great experience. The only thing I can fault is the bedspreads and curtains--the pattern is just not to my taste. A VERY minor quibble, as we loved absolutely everything else: the location, on a quiet-but-central street in the beautiful town of Sarlat; the impeccable service from David; the immaculate property; the rooftop views from our attic apartment; the excellent bathroom and comfortable beds; etc., etc. And of course the price, which we found very reasonable for the quality of the service we received.

Please keep in mind this is not a luxury property; it's an intimate little inn. See the hotel's website, which explains how things are run and which rooms are more suitable for which types of parties. We were way up three narrow flights of stairs, for example, but as we're fit and liked the peace and quiet of staying in an aerie, no problem. Also, we didn't have an issue with parking or driving into and out of Sarlat, but we were not visiting in high season. We just parked on the street.

Would I return to Villa des Consuls and Sarlat? In a heartbeat. We had a wonderful stay.


  • Liked — Character of the building, David the owner, location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing. It suited my needs to a T.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2007

This property is wonderful. The apartment was spotless, modern, and all had the amenities we needed for our week-long stay. We spent a lot of time on our private terrace, drinking the wine we purchased from him (at a very reasonable price), and happily snacking on some the decadent foie gras and fresh bread available from shops all over town. The laundry facilities in the building were also extremely convenient and very helpful.

As mentioned repeatedly in previous reviews of this property, the owner, David, makes everything happen. He seems to have thought of everything....and delivers truly excellent service in a seemingly effortless way (although we are very sure that it is NOT effortless!!) He has a very nice selection of excellent local wines, made arrangements for our car rental, and patiently answered our questions. Additionally, a taxi was waiting for us at the train station when we arrived.

The town itself is beautiful - with lots of tiny streets. The overall medieval layout of this city made it extremely interesting to explore. The local merchants are very friendly, and the restaurants are outstanding. The area outside Sarlat is also beautiful and interesting. We spent several wonderful days driving around the French countryside, exploring other medieval towns, castles, and chateaus.

If we ever find ourselves in the Dordogne Region again (and we certainly hope to), we will certainly stay here. Thanks to David for our wonderful vacation!

  • Liked — The quality of the property, and the proprietor.
  • Disliked — We liked everything!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pa.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2006

We spent 4 nights in Sarlat at La Villa des Consuls in November 2006 and loved it. Learned about it through TripAdvisor and most reviews were on target. The famous "David" was on vacation at the time of our stay but his father, Jean Claude, filled in brilliantly. Like father, like son. He helped us with restaurants, called hotels to book rooms for us, and even printed out the daily weather report from the internet. The Mirabeau suite was perfect. High ceilings, hardwood floors, refrigerator, modern bathroom, small balcony with a view of the main street, etc. Location is excellent for the city and the region. Remember, there is no room service or daily maid service. If you are able to walk, just throw the blanket on the bed, stroll down the street, buy some foie gras, a baguette, and wine, bring it back to the room and sit in the window and watch the world go by. After a long day exploring the incredible countryside, what more could you ask for? (Sorry if this sounds like a travel brochure, but it really happened!) Merci, Martin

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Villa des Consuls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa des Consuls

Address: 3 rue Jean-Jacques Rousseau, 24200 Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sarlat-la-Caneda
#2 Green Hotel in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments with private terrace and rooms in the heart of the medieval quarter. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Villa Des Consuls Hotel
La Hotel Des Consuls
La Hotel Sarlat Canéda
La Villa Des Consuls France/Sarlat-La-Caneda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa des Consuls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.