We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel - Perfect Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa des Consuls

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Villa des Consuls
Save
You added La Villa des Consuls to your Saves list
3 rue Jean-Jacques Rousseau, 24200 Sarlat-la-Caneda, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel - Perfect Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

David is an accommodating host and has a welcome kit prepared upon arrival. The location is perfect, situated at the perimeter of the medieval village, only steps away from the heart of Sarlat. La Villa des Consuls was clean and comfortable and had the right modern touches while still feeling historic and quaint. It offers laundry which is AMAZING!! We would not recommend breakfast at the hotel - it's pricey for what you get and you can go down the street and pay a lot less at a cafe. If you need parking, it's available for a reasonable price (by France standards). The parking lot is a short walk away, but well worth it to know you can easily park your car each day. The walk to the and from the lot and allows for a short jaunt to outside the core of Sarlat, where you will find a Carrefour Express to pick up water, wine, whatever as well as cafes and other shops. The medieval part of Sarlat is beautiful - full of charming restaurants, bistros and shops. The town square is a great area to have lunch, dinner or just a drink and people watch. Sarlat is also a great base from which to visit The Dordogne and South Central France. We enjoyed our 6 nite stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    52
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
77
133
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Our experience here was wonderful. We were given the rampart (apartment) that had a separate living room and eating area. The manager helped us with our luggage from the parking lot which was five minutes away. Nestled up a tiny very old lane, we were two minutes away from the main street with a grocery store and bake shop. It was clean and cosy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This review pertains solely to our 2 day stay in Las Remparts, an apartment separate from the main building of Villa Des Consuls. The apartment consists of a first floor living room kitchen and bathroom with the bedroom and shower on the second floor. The unit was new and we have no complaints with it EXCEPT the rest room on the first floor required inconvenient trips. Also, the stairway was quit narrow and difficult for luggage removal. The parking connected with the apartment was also inconvenient. The room was otherwose quiet and comfortable, just not up to the standards of the rest of our trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadesconsuls, Owner at La Villa des Consuls, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review and for these informations that will be helpful for our next guests.

In "Le Rempart ", the restroom (toilets) is indeed on the first floor. This was clearly mentionned in the description of the apartment in our website and in your reservation confirmation.
The access to the second floor is through a spiral staircase as shown in the slideshow of the apartment (so maybe not recommended for people having difficulties climbing stairs but this is a medieval building with its technical constraints )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limoges, France
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

La Villa des Consuls is an oasis of calm in the heart of Sarlat. The apartment was spotlessly clean and well-equipped, and still had a hint of its historic past with soaring ceilings and a balcony overlooking town's famed Medieval buildings.

Our apartment backed onto the main street, which turns into a bustling market on Saturday morning. Thanks to double doors, we didn't hear a peek! There's a good boulangerie, pâtisserie, boucherie and épicerie within a five-minute walk, which makes self-catering is a breeze.

With a laundry, baggage collection service and public computer for Internet access, La Villa des Consuls goes out of its way to make your visit to Sarlat as simple and special as possible.

Access is a bit tricky if you are driving due to parking restrictions. We originally booked a space in the property's the garage, which is a good five minutes away, but found free parking in the same location. Make sure you have a good map of the town before you leave...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I and my brother and his wife shared the Les Consuls apartment for five days. The apartment is well located being just outside central Sarlat, a few minutes walk. The two bedrooms were quite spacious and the bathroom with toilet had to be shared but not a problem as there is a separate toilet. There is also a well equipped laundry. Kitchen well equipped as well. The whole apartment was clean and recently renovated. There is a supermarket and a patisserie/bread shop just around the corner. The only problem we had was finding a parking spot for our hire car but most of the time we found a spot reasonably close to the apartment. There is free Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Two families of four spent a wonderful weekend in Sarlat staying at La Villa des Consults.
We hired the two appartments sleeping four people; The Richelieu and The Ronsard. What a perfect set up for a family. Exceptionally clean and spacious. The Richelieu had a balcony that looked directly over the beautiful pedestrianised road. Air conditioning and double glazing was well received, especially when the Saturday morning market were setting up, we woke from an undisturbed sleep to find the market in full swing beneath our window and we hadnt heard a thing! The small courtyard was a real bonus. David was extremely professional and efficient throughout from booking to check out.
DO STAY HERE, PERFECTION.

Room Tip: Such great value it is worth paying out for the balcony and courtyard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed 4 nights over Easter in the "Talleyrand" room, which was more spacious than we expected. Lovely wooden beams, big bathroom and comfortable bed. The room was self-contained, and it was handy to buy provisions from the local stores and keep in the room. The service was great, which added much to our first stay in the Dordogne. The owner was helpful and emailed us pdf maps and suggested routes since we had hired a car to explore the area, and on the first evening, our room was kept warm until we arrived, quite late. We loved the Dordogne and will definitely revisit. Sarlat is a beautiful medieval town, and our stay at this Villa added to the quality of our visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Villa des Consuls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa des Consuls

Address: 3 rue Jean-Jacques Rousseau, 24200 Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sarlat-la-Caneda
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments with private terrace and rooms in the heart of the medieval quarter. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Villa Des Consuls Hotel
La Hotel Des Consuls
La Hotel Sarlat Canéda
La Villa Des Consuls France/Sarlat-La-Caneda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa des Consuls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.