We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A first rate apartment in a lovely central location in this great town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Porche de Sarlat

Save Saved
You added Le Porche de Sarlat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Porche de Sarlat
6, cour des fontaines, 24200 Sarlat-la-Caneda, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A first rate apartment in a lovely central location in this great town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We are a family of four with 2 teens. We spent a week here in one of the four apartments and it was brilliant. Alex was very welcoming and helpful, meeting us when we arrived and showing us everything down to the last detail of the beautifully specced apartment. Wifi, all mod cons, done to a high standard - even music in the shower! You can open the windows and let in the sounds (and heat) from the bustling square below or shut the windows and turn the aircon on to cool down and be quieter. Also, dipping in and out of this busy town whenever you wanted to, without going and fetching the car was a joy. Alex showed us a free car park 24/7 a couple of minutes walk away and so that was a bonus too. A great stay overall.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here in July of 2013. The place is situated right at the center of old Sarlat; it was a little hard to find at first, but once we were there, it's really the best location possible. The apartments are tucked in a square behind the church (there is actually a passage way next to the apartment to the church) so even though it's right in the middle of the busiest part of town, it is quiet and peaceful. Rooms are very new and thoughtfully arranged (we enjoyed the shower and surround sound speakers!). Owner was very helpful also. Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

had no previous experience of holidaying in this region, we feel very lucky to have chosen le porche! a gorgeous studio apartment in possibly the prettiest square in sarlat. alex was as helpful as necessary, he kindly arranged a table at the michelin restaurant le grand bleu, and could not have been more hospitable. the apartment is brand new with high spec fittings, a very sweet courtyard garden overlooking the magnificent cathedral. a joy to sit out early pm and listen to the music emanating from there, whilst earlier in the day a cellist played under the main apartment window in the sunshine,, wonderful. for a couple looking to immerse in the beauty of sarlat this really is a gem.

Room Tip: nice to be able to sit out in the garden,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were so impressed with our studio apartment - ultra modern and efficient in a gorgeous centuries old buliding. I loved the exposed stone walls,my husband loved the super shower.Alex ,the owner is very helpful about things like supermarket etc. Staying inside the old part of Sarlat was delightful and it was flat!(quite important after weeks of steep villages) We had a rental car but left it in a public parking area about 150 metres from the apartment -about 4 euros a day at the pay as you park machine.There is a closer parking area but it was expensive.

Room Tip: Private courtyard on ground floor was a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Staying in this apartment hotel was an awesome experience - we had a private garden looking into the side of the huge cathedral and could hear the bells every morning (but not too loudly - the double paned window and French doors worked well!). I have never seen more efficient use of space - for a tiny apartment, there was a well-stocked small kitchen (even a dishwasher and microwave), an all-tiled modern bathroom with work-in shower (also including a washer/dryer combination), and a king-sized bed on a platform two steps up from the living room area. The living room had French doors opening onto the garden. A modern flat screen TV mounted on the wall, tiny dining area, two comfortable chairs, plus lounge chairs and a table in the garden - we were totally comfortable for four nights in lovely Sarlat, where we could walk into the old city area just around the corner from the hotel. The hotel is in a quiet court with some small restaurants that didn't stay open late, so we were able to sleep with the window open at night. The only drawback was the difficulty in finding the hotel - small signage, and the side street and court itself are not well marked. However, the tourist information office is just around the corner so it was easy to get directions. I'd highly recommend this property (singles or couples only - sleeping for 2 maximum).

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the garden! We felt comfortable leaving the door open on a warm night, totall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Porche de Sarlat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Porche de Sarlat

Address: 6, cour des fontaines, 24200 Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 Specialty lodging in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16Th century building completely renovated in a contemporary way, providing all the comforts of upscale apartments: full kitchen, king size bed, bed linen and bath linen from Lin Vosges, wifi and possibility to listen to its own music in the bedroom and bathroom. Apartments located in the heart of the medieval town, bathed in light, overlooking a courtyard, and Sarlat Cathedral and offering a quiet and rejuvenating moment. A unique place to Sarlat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Le Porche de Sarlat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Porche De Sarlat France/Sarlat-La-Caneda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Porche de Sarlat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.