We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is a gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Trois Jardins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Trois Jardins
Save
You added Les Trois Jardins to your Saves list
Impasse des clarisses, 24200 Sarlat-la-Caneda, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle
1 review
“This place is a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We just got back from a month of traveling in France. Without a doubt the best place we stayed was Le Trois Jardins in Sarlat. It is a beautiful guest house and the Brit couple that owns it are two of the loveliest people ever. I wish we lived closer as I would love to get to know Steve and Jo as friends. The house and grounds are just beautiful. They have two very friendly and well behaved dogs who lounge away their days in the sunny gardens. They seem to be an essential ingredient in making it all feel so homey. Everything is spotless and clean. There is gated parking. The breakfast was superb. The house is a two block walk from the medieval city center. The area surrounding Sarlat is full of things to do and see and was a surprise for us. We hadn't planned to come here as we had been cycling through Provence and were in transit north to cycle the Loire Valley. We ended up here by accident and we just fell in love with this place and with Jo and Steve. One of the highlights of our trip. Thanks Jo and Steve for making it so.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
87
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had a fantastic time here. Jo and Steve spoiled us. We did not want to leave. They are very charming and helpful. The breakfasts were yummy and the place was very clean, spotless and very nicely decorated. We were very comfortable in the Monet room, very quiet, great location and within walking distance to town. Jo and Steve are very customer oriented and very friendly. We really enjoyed our stay here and was one of the best accommodations in France for us. We would highly recommend this place. We cannot wait to go back

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed four days at Les Trois Jardins and had a lovely time. We stayed in the Bonheur room, which was charming. It had a large, ensuite bathroom that was very bright. Jo and Steve are very welcoming and accommodating. I awoke the first morning to the aroma of baking brioche, what a pleasure. We had breakfast twice, both were perfect. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I were lucky enough to stay in this wonderful B&B to nights in mid May 2013. Jo and Steve made us feel so incredibly welcome! We stayed in the Monet suite, which was clean and spacious. Jo made us two amazing breakfasts, one that she even packed "to go" for us as we were in a rush to leave one morning to get tickets for the nearby cave paintings. The location of this B&B is perfect; it is a very short walk to the town center and parking is easy. Jo and Steve also provided us with excellent dining recommendations and helped make reservations for us. We felt so spoiled! We hope to go back to Sarlat someday and we definitely know where we'll be staying. Thanks, Jo and Steve!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Great stay in this beautiful nineteenth century house in a quiet, rather lovely side street a very easy two minute walk to the centre of Sarlat.The house has been lovingly restored. Steve and Jo were friendly without being in any way obtrusive & clearly keen that their guests get the most out of their stay. We ended up staying two nights in one room and one night in the Picasso suite which had a separate entrance and loads of space - it would even be perfect for a family with young children. The other room was also lovely, with a huge walk-in shower. Breakfasts are slightly different each day & imaginative as well as delicious. All in all, a very good place to stay in Sarlat. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

What a find....within a 5 min walk to the medeival centre and a great local bakery this is far more than just a b and b. Our room....the picasso is the whole upstairs loft space....with a lounge and kitchen area and what could be curtained off as two bedrooms....could suit 2 couples travelling together. There is also your own private deck with table and chairs. We stayed for a week...a perfect base to explore from.....30 mins to so many top sites or simply to relax. Jo and steve are so welcomung and helpful with the personal touches of a wine together on the deck....she even brought my washung in when rain threatened. Fantastic all round.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband and I spent two wonderful nights in the Kiwi cottage at Les Trois Jardins. The cottage was perfect. It had a mini kitchenette with small fridge. On the last night, it was raining so we brought back food and ate inside the cottage.

The place had everything we needed and more. The bathroom automatically heats up in the morning which heated our towels. The owners put a lot of effort into the details of the place. The bedroom was nicely decorated and it felt very inviting and cozy. It was a short 5 minute walk into downtown Sarlat and great home bases for our adventures during the day. We had a car and were able to visit the prehistoric caves and other towns nearby.

We had a delicious breakfast one morning with Jo & Steve (smoked salmon pastry, delicious treats, and a fruit compote). Our only regret is we wished we could have stayed longer. Jo & Steve were the perfects hosts and were very helpful. If we find ourselves in Sarlat again, we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Trois Jardins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Trois Jardins

Address: Impasse des clarisses, 24200 Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Also Known As:
Les Trois Jardins France/Sarlat-La-Caneda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Trois Jardins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.