We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feel at home in Sarlat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Trois Jardins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Trois Jardins
Save
You added Les Trois Jardins to your Saves list
Impasse des clarisses, 24200 Sarlat-la-Caneda, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Yokohama, Japan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“feel at home in Sarlat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I would recommend this B&B for those who wish to feel at home within a walking distance from the city center. The room allocated to me was large with private shower and toilette. The garden was also large. You should not expect the facilities the 5 star hotels would provide. However, warmness of the host family would make your stay at home and comfortable. You will get the value for the money you pay because the host family insisted on the importance of the fairness in life.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josephine M, Owner at Les Trois Jardins, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Keita,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Whilst we are very pleased you found our service and situation excellent, we find your scoring quite low in terms of bedding, cleanliness and quality for price and wished to address these seemingly low scores.
You were our very first customer, as we only started our Chambers d’Hotes (B&B) in June last year (2011).
Everything was newly renovated including rooms, brand new bathroom fittings, new Bergere bed and good quality mattress and bedding, cotton sheets, pillows, curtains, bath and hand towels, carpet and much of the furniture.

As for price/quality- most of our reviewers find us to be excellent value. You would have paid 55 euros per night for your room, which you booked for one night initially and then extended by one more night. 55 euros even last year was very inexpensive for the quality, central position and facilities we provide.
You also made complimentary comments kindly agreeing we could post them on our website., thank you.

We have already had many clients return a second time after their first visit last year and would welcome the opportunity to make your stay as comfortable as possible if you were to return another time.

Kind regards
Jo and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
85
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melton Mowbray
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

A stone throw away from the centre of Sarlat; this B&B is ideally located. The house is set in beautiful gardens so is very tranquil. The rooms have been recently renovated to a very high standard and were comfy and calm. We were also shown the loft on the top floor which again is beautifully decorated and has a small private terrace. The British owners Jo and Steve are lovely, very friendly, kind and accommodating. Breakfast on the patio was great and wine on the veranda overlooking the garden was even better! I can't find anything wrong to say, comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

A place which is not easy to find has always a special appeal to me. Les Trois Jardins is just such a place: not every GPS will have this B&B's address in its data base. As a result, one is rewarded by a tranquil stay in a charming abode hidden behind a wall on a tiny blind alley 7 minute leisurely walk from the center of Sarlat - a gem of the Dordogne Valley. There are only three rooms for rent (at the time of my stay only two, including mine, were occupied) so one barely ever sees the neighbours. The breakfasts are served at two tables, so your privacy is preserved even at this usually communal hour. The establishment is run by a friendly British couple. Jo's irresistible smile compliments her skills as a hostess and breakfast cook as well as an occasional adviser of sightseeing trips and restaurants in Sarlat. Steve is the man of the house who is not often seen - mostly at rarely needed repairs and while conducting unobtrusive improvements on the property. To his credit, all work is done when guests are away playing tourists. The same can be said about Jo's tidying up the rooms and changing towels and linens, as needed. The rooms have a rather eclectic look, differ in size but are invariably pleasant to inhabit. Two regular size rooms are situated adjacent one to another on the second floor (in spite of the proximity I never heard my neighbours although they were a young couple) and supposedly oversize loft above them; I did not see it myself. There is a small library in the house which I did not use as I had plenty of travel literature of my own. The premises are very picturesque with some home grown berries and vegetables. My imagination envisioned only one rather than three gardens, and I neglected to inquire about the origin of the place's name. This fact certainly did not diminish the enjoyment of my week. Two friendly dogs are polite and never overstay their welcome at the breakfast tables. All in all this was one of my better trips with a congenial combination of a terrific locale and a lovely home away from home.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castel San Pietro Terme, Emilia-Romagna, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

just two nights there, but so lovely! a beatiful place to stay, and warm people! great location close to Sarlat medieval town. Hope to be there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

This place is a MUST.

We were touring around France and had been told to visit Sarlat, a gorgeous town - lovely old buildings, cobbled streets and no shortage of places to eat! We found Les Trois Jardin by chance, and it is one of the best chambre de hote we have visited. We were in the room on the top floor (loft conversion across the whole building), well more like a suite really, so spacious with kitchen and sitting area, terrace, etc. The bed was the best we have slept in for years! As for the hosts, Jo and Steve, they were lovely, and as it happens we from the same area of UK (Devon) as myself, but I digress, truly lovely hosts. All I can say is "highly recommended", we will certainly be visiting again next year.

PS - I forgot to say, the gardens are lovely, a terrace on which to eat breakfast, and a very short walk into the town centre.

Room Tip: We were in the loft room, it was superb to relax in, I think all of their rooms looked spacious, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We just stayed with Jo and Steve in Sarlat and loved Les Trois Jardins! Their refurbished convent is just delightful....large rooms, modern bathrooms and a very peaceful setting. You wake to the birds singing and then Jo serves a fantastic breakfast on the outside deck with homemade breads and fruit, cheese and meat...too much to eat! Their recommendations for dinner in Sarlat were tasty. You can walk into the lovely walled city for shopping, markets and dinners. We plan to return! This B and B is a gem!

Room Tip: We stayed in their newest room, as yet without a name and it was excellent, a very large bed and won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Trois Jardins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Trois Jardins

Address: Impasse des clarisses, 24200 Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Also Known As:
Les Trois Jardins France/Sarlat-La-Caneda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Trois Jardins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.