We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food very slow service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Le Tourny

Restaurant Le Tourny
1 Rue Tourny, 24200 Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
05.53.29.17.80
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dorset, UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good food very slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We just had lunch there as many other restaurants are closed on Monday. Very reasonable price food including €7 children's menu. However we had to wait over 15 minutes for someone to take our order and over 30 minutes for someone to clear our plates and take our dessert order.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    86
    33
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buderim, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food, good value, charming setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We enjoyed the evening meal with the Menu de Jour of 4 courses for 14euros each. The setting on the terrace upstairs is beautiful. The waiter was friendly and very efficient. The food quality was excellent especially smooth creamy fois gras, tender magret de canard in a light citrus sauce and delicate creme caramel. There are as least 4 choices for each of the 4 courses and the quality and presentation of each is very good. It was a delightful dining experience and excellent value for money in Sarlat.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great price but the service was the highpoint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Monday night and so many restaurants in Sarlat are closed. We wanted a cheap and cheerful for our last night in this most magnificent town. Had a look at a couple of places but decided to try Le Tourny since it was ony 20 metres from our doorstep.

The weather being nice and warm, we sat outside, upstairs on the terrace. Really nice setting.

Our waiter introduced himself by saying that it was his first night in service, since he is normally the cook. I was looking for the cameras from Funniest Home Videos. Not to be.

He attended to us (and by the way so did his son) as well as any wait staff we have encountered

A bottle of Rose (12 Euro) and a basket of bread.

Each of us chose the 14 Euro offering.

Three of us. Foie gras terrine; foie gras pate and courgette terrine. All good.

Mains were coq au vin (2) and cassoulet (third night in a row for me). The others said the rooster stew (as described on the menu) was much more flavoursome than the one last night. Mopped up the gravy so that says something.

My cassoulet had plenty of duck but was scarce on pork and saucisson. Didn't matter since the flavour was wonderful and I also mopped up the juices with my bread.

We were all presented with a plate of goat cheese which was accomanied by perfectly dressed salad leaves and a scattering of walnuts. Perfect.

Our waiter brought the menu to us to look at deserts but we were too full and had to decline.

Paid the bill and as we left, the "new server" was beaming from ear to ear........some people just should be in front of the public.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“12 Euro Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This was recommended by our hotel Bon Encontre and is very good. We had the 12 Euro three courses which proved to be more than adequate.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrific Cassoulet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We had two lovely evenings at this restaurant.
I am embarrassed to admit that on both evenings we had the same thing....the cassoulet. I have never tasted a better cooked bean and although this may sound crazy, the beans are very important to the success of a cassoulet. The duck confit in it was delicious and not at all heavy tasting the way it is most often.
The escalopes de foie gras were very well prepared . They were served with a peach sauce. (My husband liked the sauce . I did not.)
Portions were generous.Staff was attentive but not overbearing.Wine appropriately priced. Very affordable.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Le Tourny also viewed

Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
 
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
 

Been to Restaurant Le Tourny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Le Tourny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.